We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Catalani by Diamond Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eremo(Soriano nel Cimino)
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bastia Hotel & Resort(Soriano nel Cimino)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 74
US$ 68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balletti Park Hotel(San Martino al Cimino)
US$ 145
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viterbo Inn(Viterbo)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
263
83
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
83
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond resortson sitecar parkthe bustop floorin townchef robertocooking classpastasteep hillwalk uplocal restaurantsyour luggageday tripno liftthe main squaregelato
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

For sure the best Hotel in Soriano. Me and my boyfriend visited Soriano twice and we have been at Palazzo Catalani both times.
The club suites are so comfortable, heating is perfect (even too warm in winter), clean and roomy. The use of kitchen and all accessories is possible. The hotel staff at the front desk is so friendly and helpful (Sara in particular). Looking forward to come back to Palazzo Catalani in February!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cristina crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Positives: Very comfortable beds, located in the middle of the main tourist attractions in Italy (Rome and Florence), grocery service is provided by the resort, the resort is from the medieval period so it’s unique. The front desk staff was helpful, and we were particularly grateful to Matteo for helping us when our rental car died on us. Also, when the hot water stopped working in our room at the resort, they moved us to another room.
Negatives: It’s out of the way and adds at least 10 minutes to every excursion on narrow, curvy, rural roads, it’s extremely hard to find and signage is poor, driving and parking in Soriano was a nightmare, the where-is-it-and-where-the-heck-do-I-park issue made checking in highly stressful after a long drive from Rome, you have to remember to move your car on Thursday night to a lower lot due to market on Fridays, during the off season there weren’t any scheduled activities offered because we didn’t meet the minimum number of people required (it was all on our own), you must pay for WiFi, you cannot request a particular room or view (we did in advance to celebrate our anniversary – in the low season and the place was virtually empty – but we didn’t get the castle view nevertheless), there’s no water pressure so expect to be cold and disappointed when you shower, the local stores are only open 9 am-1 pm and 4-7 pm so there’s no afternoon shopping for those who lounge at the resort in the morning. We lost hot water in our unit (117) and didn’t realize until about 9 pm when we tried to shower. The front desk person told us there’s “no maintenance service at night” and “you can shower in the other building at the spa.” The next day, we were allowed to change rooms and finally got the room we had originally wanted.
Note: Room 117 was a one-room studio room on the top floor and looked out over the town, but there weren’t fresco paintings or anything special about it like you see on the website. When we were moved due to the hot water issue, we were right off the reception area, with no steps to climb, in a beautiful one bedroom suite with gorgeous wall and ceiling paintings like you see in their website photos and an amazing view of Castle Orsini and the town. Unfortunately, we only got to enjoy it for one night after the hot water incident because we were heading to Rome the next day.
My overall assessment is this: I wouldn’t do it again. What I paid for timeshare exchange fees could’ve been spent on a more convenient place in the low season of January when rates are dirt cheap. I would stay just outside of the big city near a train station if I were to go back.

Neutral: Be aware that you must be very physically fit to stay in this resort as it is at the top of a steep incline and there isn’t an elevator in Palazzo Catalani so you climb a lot of stairs.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Itsallabouttheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Palazzo Catalani by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for your detailed review from your recent stay here at Palazzo Catalani. We are are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. Please be advised that all special requests are considered prior to guest arrival but are never guaranteed. We were sorry to hear you were not happy with your apartment and that you had a hot water issue in your accommodation. We are glad however that our team were able to assist and offer an alternative apartment for remainder of your stay. Please accept our apology for any disappointments experienced, and we do sincerely hope that you may decide to visit Palazzo Catalani again in the future. Kind regards.
Antonella Alegrini
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I would return again and again! I am in love with Soriano Nel Cimino and would only stay at Palazzo Catalani! Everything, from the hotel restaurant, to the views, to the comfortable rooms, and even the lovely little cafe outside make this a magical stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devorah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

This is a quiet modern hotel in a beautiful little town in the hills near Rome. Soriano nel Cimino is close to Viterbo, Lake Bolsena and many other interesting attractions. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile


The price of our stay is hard to beat. Considering we were in the new part of the hotel, everything is beautiful. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful.

Everybody mentions hike up to here, but I honestly don’t think is any different than any other place in the way we have been to. This entire country has steps going every which way. In this town is no different

The locals drive up here, they just don’t want tourists coming up the narrow crisscrossing streets. And they do have a scooter they run down with your luggage. You’re basically walking up a steep hill, not 100 steps

As others have said the parking lot is free up top and a dollar down below. Also keep in mind that there’s a huge market set up Friday mornings on the top deck. So you must park Thursday night underground.
After you park, do not walk up the ramp you drove down. Take the stairs, up the left side as you’re walking up the hill. This will put you closer to the hotel.

We stayed in the new building. It is all masonry with not much to absorb sound, so we can hear footsteps everywhere, and even the baby screaming across the hall from us. We could even hear him screaming as we exit the elevator down the hall. As another reviewer have said I do not think this is the place to bring a child because there’s not much here for them to do. We asked the front desk to do something about the noise, and I’m not sure what they did. But we finally had to go knock on their door at 11 PM and tell them to please put the child to bed. Not sure if they understood our language but I think they could tell by the tired sad look on our faces that we just want to sleep.

The water in the shower did not drain properly and we were standing in a puddle the first night. It was promptly fixed after we complained

Cell phone signal is spotty, and they charge you for the Wi-Fi, but the price of the room is so cheap it doesn’t really matter.

There is no free breakfast, but again the price of the room outweighs this. They also deliver food to your room so you can cook it, and they have a restaurant downstairs where you can eat a proper breakfast. We chose to walk down the road and eat at the café.

There is a nice little downtown area a few steps away at the bottom of the hill. They have several restaurants, a couple cafés. Pharmacy, tourist information, and a post office. It’s a neat little town to walk around and get lost in




Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews