We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Open Plan kitchen/Dining New Garden Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Open Plan kitchen/Dining
New Garden Hot tub
Kitchen with feature exposed brick
Sofa can also open up as a bed for extra bed space
Dining & Seating for 6
Views of the lovely countryside
Bedroom 3 made up as a twin room
Bedroom 3 made up as a twin room
Bathroom for Bedroom 2 & 3 ( Bedroom 1 has an ensuite)
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 made up as a superking
Bedroom 1 made up as a superking
The Barn has a seperate entrance at the rear of the B&B
Lots of parking for visiting friends and familly
Swings; double tandem and single
New 2013, little playhouse below Jungle gym
Trampoline in the summer only, parental supervision please!
Plenty of space for kids to play, some ride on toys and balls etc on request.
Hens out the back
Bedrooom 3 Made up as a Superking can also be a twin 2 x single beds
2015  Lisburn City Business Awards Best Tourism Amenity.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarahbell...
1 review
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a find this place was! The barn was a very well decorated and comfy place to stay! The staff were all so friendly and helpful! Location is great, very peaceful!
Would definitely recommend the barn the all my family & friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review! Delighted you had a nice time and hope you stay again, Lynne x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
1 review
“Perfect Hen Party Location”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was the ideal location for a large group of 17 of us! We had our own space in the barn that we were able to decorate how we wanted and Lynne was more then happy to let us work away with no hassle but also got us sorted with nearby places to eat, taxis etc. The hot tub was great even in the snow!!! All of the rooms were beautiful and breakfast was delicious! I have already recommended it to many family and friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
That you so much it was a delight to have you all choose us for your special celebration. Wishing you all a fun day at the wedding and the best wishes to the bride , Lynne x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kblair201...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommended”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and the other half were looking to get away from it all...and we couldn't have picked a better retreat. We stayed in the Garden Room, which had everything we could have needed. And access to the hot tub, Lynn brought us robes and flip flops.
We stayed bed and breakfast...the homemade breakfast was plentiful, you get to choose and order the previous night.
The country house is close to Hillsborough, where you have plenty of restaurants to choose from for evening meals.
This is a family run business but do not let that put you off, Lynn and her family are very welcoming, and honestly could not have done more for us, the smaller children are be heard running about but this did not have any impact on our stay, and again, they are more than mannerly and polite
I can not recommend this enough for couples looking to get away from it all and reconnect, I know that we will definitely be back x x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your review, I do indeed hope you stay again, Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoodaboo
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location - great value”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed at The Barn for a week and thought it was excellent. It is on the first (top) floor and so is nice and quiet.
It consists of three bedrooms, with two bathrooms(one on suite) plus a large living room/kitchen. All are very clean, and fresh linen and towels are provided.
All the rooms are fitted out to a high standard. Each bedroom and the main room has a tv, and there is also use of a hot tub. It also has good wifi.
Its located close to Belfast (about 20 to 40 minutes to most of the tourist spots) but has views over rolling hills. It is also just off one of the main roads to Dublin.
Lynne and Jonathan - the owners are very helpful, and they provide a great full Irish breakfast if you can't be bothered to make your own! A great place to stay and we will definitely use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, and separate rooms for the kids!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie O
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and setting”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in The Barn for 5 nights and it was perfect for our stay. We had 4 small children with us and they loved their bedrooms which had TV's in them to keep them occupied when we wanted a bit of peace! Great location as it is only 15 minutes from Belfast and 10 minutes from Lisburn. It had everything we needed for a great stay and I would recommend it to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Hi Valerie we are delighted you enjoyed you stay, hope you visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing