We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice, but stressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau la Caniere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau la Caniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thuret
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, but stressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is an impressive property. First room we were showed but a bit off-putting -- someone may have smoked -- but the staff immediately gave us a larger, nicer room. Very nice. Must be the largest TVs in France. Dinner was the only disappointment. You got the impression that they were running heavy on guests and the quality of the food, given the price, was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapertonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
65
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here September 15th and 16th 2011. We decided to stop somewhere near the middle of our drive between Provence and the Loire Valley and experience an area not often visited and also to just relax. The chateau was wonderful, the staff could not have been more helpful. The restaurant was wonderful.
Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The chateau has a beautiful breakfast room as well as library. We explored two small towns nearby as well as Vichy, which was unexpectedly nice. The grounds and pool are lovely, the area is basically farmland. Coming from NYC we found it charming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardbkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked one superior room with dinner and breakfast included. It wasn't really cheap, but the hotel & the room were very nice and clean. The reception at the front desk was really welcoming. I didn't noticed any of the negative behaviour that was reported here, even when we arrived in full tourist gear so it was easy to start acting snobby ;)

The restaurant is very close to the hotel and the food was quite OK, even the waiters were doing there best, but the whole is not up to the level they want you to think it is.

Breakfast was OK too, but I'm not sure it would be good value if you had to pay the extra 18 euro. For that it is pretty basic (no 'warm' section).

all in all I loved it very much for one night. I think you might get bored, however, after 3 or 4 nights as it is literally in the middle of the field.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had a one night stay at this hotel on our trip to Lyon coming from the Loire area. The hotel is an absolute gem in the middle of nowhere, not far from Vichy. Very nice chateau with up-to-date clean rooms at reasonable prices. The restaurant is located just in front of the hotel in a seperate building (with babyphone receive). We expected a bit more given the beautiful setting/interior of the restaurant; it was okay but not stunning. Breakfast was served in the chateau and was okay as well. The whole package was absoluty worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

A wonderful haven of a place off the beaten track in the beautiful Auvergne region. We booked it as a convenient night stop en route from Barcelona to Paris by road...it's close to the main motorway through central France.

A beautifully restored French chateau, it includes a range of individually designed rooms. Our's were amongst the smallest, but still tasteful, elegant and relaxing. The hotel lies in its own grounds complete with a new outdoor swimming pool.

The restaurant is also well worth a try. We arrived too late for dinner but lunch the next day was well above scratch.

Recommended for romantic breaks or a relaxing stay in a really nice part of France. But stay for longer than one night....its well worth it.

And not too expensive either. In our case, around 500 euros for two rooms, including our bar bill, a couple of movies for the kids and Sunday lunch before we departed.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thuret
27.8 km away
Hotel Princesse Flore
24.1 km away
Chateau De Codignat
Chateau De Codignat
#1 of 1 in Bort-l'Etang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
21.0 km away
Vichy Celestins Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Saturnin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel le Thermalia
Hotel le Thermalia
#1 of 20 in Chatel-Guyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
21.5 km away
Arverna Citotel Vichy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau la Caniere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau la Caniere

Property: Chateau la Caniere
Address: Rue De La Croix Blanche, 63260 Thuret, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Thuret
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thuret
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,271 - ₹ 42,790
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau la Caniere 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the beautiful plains of Limagne, between Bourbon countryside and the Chain of volcanoes, Le Château la Canière welcomes you in one of the most elegant hotels of Auvergne. This treasure from the XIX century, surrounded by a park of 8 ha, receives your personal and private stays.A majestic driveway leads the guests inside this jewel of greenery to discover this castle of character built in golden stones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chateau la Caniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing