We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
3
3
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We booked 4 rooms for 3 nights through booking.com. When we arrived, the hotel staff said they thought we were not coming and our rooms were released to other walk-in guests. Reason being we had not paid for the rooms but prepayment was not a requirement when we made the bookings. In any case, we provided our credit card details during booking so they could still charge us in case of cancellation or no-show. They could have also contacted us if they needed us to make prepayment. Instead they gave all sorts of excuses (e.g., they don't accept credit cards, they didn't know how they got listed on booking.com, they don't use emails to contact guests etc).

They were not apologetic at all. No assistance was offered to find alternative accommodation. Luckily we managed to find another nearby hotel despite the peak travel season (end October 2014) but we ended up paying double the rates of what we originally booked for. This is probably the real reason why Manjianghong Resort Hotel released our rooms to other guests...they wanted to take advantage of the peak season rates.

The next day, we received a notification from booking.com, saying that we did not show up at Manjianghong Resort Hotel. This is plain dishonesty and unprofessionalism...Manjianghong still want to charge us after dishonouring our booking! We have explained our situation to booking.com and this is now under investigation. I hope everyone (especially international travellers) will take note of the "tricks" used by this hotel and stay away from them!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank YL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

First of all, location isn't great. It was so hard to find. And we had to drag our luggage up this massive staircase to get to the hotel from the street.

Then, they told us that they have given our rooms to the other people. That was 7 of us because booking.com doesn't require payment to hold the room. They didn't even bother to contact us prior for payment and confirmation. "We don't send email," so they said, "we don't even know how our hotel got onto booking.com. We are not responsible for your bookings, we can cancel anytime cos we need to safeguard our profit."

We had to find our own accommodations after a long day of journey and ended up paying almost double. It was peak season in Jiu Zhai Gou.

And then they had the face to tell to booking.com that we didn't show up, wanting to earn the cancellation fees. (So much for saying the credit card details we provided were useless to them). And because they marked us as no show, we can't even warn the other travelers who checks booking.com.

Nothing is worse than a irresponsible hotel!

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We made the booking for this hotel at booking.com and provided credit card details. On our arrival, the reception told us there are no rooms for 7 of us. The reason? We did not make the payment so they cancelled our booking. They said they couldn't charge to the credit card. And they did not bother to contact us even though email address was provided in the booking. Worst thing is there is no apology and no solution has been sought out to settle us down. They are just irresponsible bunch of people and just want to earn more money by canceling our booking with cheap prices.

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

We went during end Oct 14, booked 3 rooms through booking.com four months ago. When we arrived, we were told that all the rooms were released to other guests who walked it.

We had to scramble to get accommodation for 6 people and it ended up more expensive.

Never again will I book with them if I were to visit Jiu Zhai Gou. Don't say I didn't warn you prior.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank RonaldSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews