We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Carpenters at Chateau Rochebonne”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
The pool, as seen from the top floor
outdoor dining (more tables and chairs available)
plenty of space, all secure
large grounds
Entrance hall
delightful farmhouse kitchen
dining area
twin bedroom
library
there is 1 bathroom and 3 shower rooms, 5 WCs
Top floor bedroom
chill area on the top floor
part of a bedroom
twin room with antique beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Carpenters at Chateau Rochebonne”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Chateau was a fantastic venue for our family group holiday during the school half term period. We were extremely lucky with the weather in February, allowing us to travel into several of the regional villages and towns for the local history and to experience some of the marvellous local seafood restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and chateau were spectacular.
Liked least: The additional associated costs of renting the property and long list of don'ts.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
We are so happy you had a good week at the Chateau and that you enjoyed good weather. Thank you very much for this nice review, it is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing and interesting stay at the "Logis". It is definitely worth a visit and somewhere we would absolutely return to. A typical french venue for a true feel of a beautiful country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for this nice review. I see you have booked again for next year and we are delighted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming period French residence”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This château is packed with historical, predominantly French, artefacts which lends it a quaint ambience. There is a child friendliness the in that the artefacts that are within the grasp of a toddler are sufficiently robust. Some steep staircases may give problems to the very elderly and infirm. It is a good place to visit the charming La Rochelle and Rochefort as well as a good local zoo and some beautiful beaches. I found the owners flexible and obliging. Overall a good experience that I would recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for this nice review. Apparently the upper staircase was once part of a tower, though my husband tells me that is architecturally impossible - who knows ? I am so glad you had a good holiday and that you liked the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve p
Radlett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great place to enjoy the company of a larger group of friends and/or family.”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We much enjoyed our weeks stay at Chateau Rochebonne, the property has all the quirkyness and history you expect to find in a property that is 160 years old, yet is big enough to loose yourself in a quiet corner when you need a break from the crowd. We cooked in the country kitchen most nights, eating together in front of a log fire in the kitchen's open fire place. We'd follow dinner with quiz nights and games (just like we do over the Christmas holiday period), It was really good friend and family time, much enjoyed by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great venue for enjoying time with family and friends
Liked least: not much in terms of bars and restaurants within walking distance
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for this nice review. I am glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobCski
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dirty, and disappointing”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
8
people found this review helpful

This property is badly in need of renovation and updating. Everything about it is tired, dilapidated and in need of serious money. It is situated on a busy road so it is not a peaceful place. The rooms are large and well proportioned but everything else is below current day standards. When we arrived all the rooms on the 2 upper floors (bedrooms and bathrooms) were covered with dead flies - why had they not been hoovered up in readiness for our arrival? The carpets were threadbare and badly fitted. Towels, for which we paid extra (!) were small, worn out, and hard. There were cheap and nasty chiffon type curtains on both sides of the glass panels on the bathroom doors which looked and felt dirty. The showers were old and inadequate and toilet seats in need of repair and refitting. In the middle of October we needed the central heating as it was cold in the evenings and at night. We were assured it was on and not to touch the controls (there were notices everywhere all containing the words "do not"). After 2 nights of cold we investigated further and found the boiler was not on and no obvious way of turning it on. Eventually we found a concealed wooden panel behind which was the electric supply for the boiler - it was disconnected! The owners give the impression that they do not want to spend any money (they even said that they would check the electricity meter half-way through our stay to make sure we were not using too much!!!) We had to pay extra for towels and bedding, logs, & cleaning, even though it was not clean for our arrival.
The kitchen is totally inadequate for a property of this capacity having just a corner L-shape set of units and very little work surface. There is a useful larder with 2 fridges, both old of course, - one of which the freezer section didn't work and the fridge section was too cold!
The large sitting room and dining room had a laminate wood flooring - not at all in keeping with the property. There was seating for 8 people maximum in very uncomfortable chairs, and the fireplace in the sitting room was boarded up.
The best part of the property was the open fireplace at the end of the kitchen and the large kitchen table. As it was so cold in the other rooms we spent most of our evenings in there.
The swimming pool was cold, and the decking around it old and dangerous with protruding boards. The water had not been skimmed and had leaves in it (admittedly it was autumn).
Needless to say none of our party of 10 adults would ever return.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
So much of this review is simply untrue and you are pretending to be the person who booked. You seem really unpleasant. Regardless of anything, step one in a rental, when something is amiss, is to report it to one of the several contact numbers provided rather than wait till your holiday was over (if you were actually there!) and then moan about it. When you consider that I donated the rent of this week to the charity of "your" choice, I find it extraordinary that you behave in this way. Please never contact us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing