We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spacious Room...”
Review of The Krystal Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Krystal Suites
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Spacious Room...”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The room was very spacious, huge living area and dining hall but a bit old already. They do provide free internet but make sure to bring your own cable otherwise they won't provide. The area is just 10 minutes drive to the shopping mall (Queensbay), about 15 minutes drive to Airport and about 10 minutes to the bus terminal. Taxi is a challenge in this area. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneHastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    25
    45
    12
    28
See reviews for
33
6
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I travel to Penang twice a month for business and what I need is a basic room, with easy access to public transportation to important locations (airport, shopping complexes, etc). This hotel perfectly suit my needs. The room is huge, clean with basic amenities (kitchenette, etc).

The gym is fantastic! I didn't expect a 3 star hotel with this kind of gym facilities (lots of equipment). The pool look nice but I haven't got the chance to try it.

One advice regarding public transportation. Try avoid the taxi, they are extremely overpriced. I rarely take a taxi in Penang or anywhere in Malaysia, but the taxi driver here never use the pricing meter. If you still want to the cab, negotiate the price first, otherwise you will be very surprise with how much they charge you. It happens to me about a month ago when I took a cab to the nearby shopping mall (Queensbay). It should take somewhere between 15 - 20 minutes walk but since it is raining I decided to wait for the bus. After 10 minutes and no bus, I ask the hotel staff to get me a taxi. Once arrived the taxi drove me to the mall and charge me RM25.00. What the!!!!! and I'm local... Just imagine how much they will charge the foreign tourist. The next time I took the bus and guess what... It's only RM1.40 for the same 5 minutes journey.

Besides than this unpleasant experience (not the hotel faults btw) Krystal Suites is very good hotel for a short break especially for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I always feel a bit guilty about giving apparthotels poor reviews, after all you are not paying for sevice but rather convenience. The Krystal Suites have a good location near to Queensbay Mall and not too far from the airport. Adequate parking space too. You do need a car here as getting a cab can be a pain in this area unless you are going to Queensbay (which is also where the buses are).

There is no service to speak of (do grumpy reception staff and a daily cleaner really count?); but that aside, the service was ok. Facilities include a nice little open air pool and a well equipped, if small, gym. The beds were comfortable - which is more than can be said for some of the more expensive places I've stayed and the room rate very affordable for 4 adults sharing a 2 bedroom appartment.

Some nice restaurants and pubs nearby if you can't be bothered to trek into Georgetown every day. The Thai restaurant (the name escapes me) which is at the end of the block containing the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firdaus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is about 10 mins from the airport by taxi - about 25 Ringitts = £5. The rooms are huge with AC, TV and kitchenette. There is an outside swimming pool for guests with access to the gym. The hotel does not serve breakfast but you can get food at the local Seven-Eleven close by, or come prepared and bring your own. Hotel represents good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The main attraction of this place, for us, was that it is close to the Penang airport and we had an early flight to Singapore. To stay at my brother-in-law’s house in Tanjung Bungah was a bit risky with Penang traffic, and no way was I going to try and get the family up at the crack of dawn to drive from Kedah!

This is a very typical Malaysian hotel in many ways. It was another place that had seen better days. The public areas were a bit dirty, the reception was slightly understaffed, and the room was not well stocked with crockery and cutlery (or in fact even towels on the day we turned up). The chairs, couches, and other furniture were a bit grubby looking too. However, the compensations were that it was cheap and the rooms were very large. The pool looked good but we left it too late to go for a swim, but it was well patronised so must have been okay.

It is close to Queensbay Mall, but well away from the key attractions on Penang like Georgetown and Penang Hill. A good place to stay for those with connecting flights, although there is no restaurant so you will have to arrange something else for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
1.0 km away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
286 reviews
1.7 km away
Century Bay Private Residence
2.2 km away
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
540 reviews
1.0 km away
Eastin Hotel Penang
Eastin Hotel Penang
#4 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
608 reviews
2.3 km away
U Hotel Penang
U Hotel Penang
#6 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Krystal Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Krystal Suites

Property: The Krystal Suites
Address: Jalan Tun Dr Awang | Ground Floor Lobby, Krystal Point Corporate Park, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Hotel Class:3 star — The Krystal Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Krystal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Krystal Hotel Bayan Lepas
The Krystal Suites Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing