We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Having been aware of the reputation of the Boars Head for some time, we decided to visit for a family birthday meal; we booked for the bistro but were seated in the bar.
Unfortunately we were disappointed in the quantity and quality of the food served and of the level of service.
The starters on the whole were tasty and promised an enjoyable meal ahead, but when the main courses arrived sadly the promise was not fulfilled.
The Kilnsey trout on crushed potatoes turned out to be a half (if that) trout fillet on mashed potato with skins in, the red snapper was tasteless and the gammon was too tough to cut, much less eat. The chips came ready salted and the side order of spinach didn’t arrive. The portions of vegetables looked small for one let alone to share between two. I assume they were for two to share as we had three tiny bowls between six of us. On the plus side the sausages were lovely!
We didn’t bother with desert ... good money after bad!
On the whole the service was inoffensive but somewhat slow and forgetful. We complained about the gammon but heard nothing further.
Generally the experience wasn’t what we had expected – I hope it was a bad day. We won’t bother to return, although we live locally.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us following your recent visit.
Your description of the dishes you had suggests to us that you visited on the first day of our new menu.On the first day of any new menu there can sometimes unfortunately be one or two teething problems,so I am sorry that you seemed to be have been on the recieving end of one or two of these.
That is not just an excuse to say its ok to get things wrong on the first day of a new menu, but invariably from time to time it happens.
I would like to invite you back to give us another try with the assurance that you will most certainly not be on the end of any teething problems.
We have taken on board your comments and made some changes to how some things are done as a result .
I do hope that you will reconsider your decision to not bother returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    185
    64
    37
    14
See reviews for
85
404
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skirlaugh near Hull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have had Sunday Lunch at the Boar's Head before, and enjoyed it, so decided to try it again on 4th March. However, this time we were particularly disappointed by the casual attitude of staff (drinks took a long time to arrive, and a request for horse radish sauce also took 5 minutes), and the miserly amount of vegetables. The Roast Beef was good, but it was accompanied by 3 small roast potatoes on the plate, and a tiny bowl of veg consisting of 7 runner beans, 5 mange tout, and two miniature carrots to share between two of us!! No other potatoes were provided. We are not big eaters, and do not like the current tendency to stack the plates high, but this was going to the other extreme! Rather than filling up with a dessert, which we suspected may be the same, we moved on, having paid £11-95 for not very much. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirlaughtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I am dissapointed to read that your recent visit did not live upto your previous posititive visit.
The service you were given is not how we have gained our reputation so please accept my apologies for the slow service.
We have just started including a selection of garden vegetables with main courses so to read that you were served such a meager amount of vegetables proves that we need to look at and adjust the amount of vegetables we serve.
You say that you will not be coming back ,but I ask that you reconsider your decision and give us another chance to prove ourselves to you and re-instate ourselves in a more positive light in your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stumbled across this hotel and what a lovely find. I was only able to book a small double room. What a surprise! It was a standard double room compared to most hotel. It this was a small room, a standard at this hotel must be huge! Everything was fresh and clean. Lovely walk-in wardrobe and good size bathroom. The staff were helpful at all times.A lovely weekend in North Yorkshire for all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belmont_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.Hopefully you will be able to enjoy one of our superior rooms on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The decision was made to stay at The Boar's Head after reading the excellent reviews. Ripley is a small village and we arrived at lunchtime on Sunday to find the place heaving with cars and people. The hotel was packed with people who had travelled to have their Sunday lunch there, that says everything about the standard of meals. The hotel is located on the edge of the castle grounds and as a character building can never offer the sterile, modern hotel accommodation easily found everywhere. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. It was quiet the evening we stayed and we were offered a free upgrade to a large, clean well appointed room that had a separate bathroom. There was even sherry in the room for us with chocolate boars on the pillows. We dined in and had a very good meal from the extensive menu at reasonable prices. Lovely and quiet with a good nights sleep left us ready for our Yorkshire breakfast that didn't disappoint. Fantastic night at an excellent hotel which means we will be returning soon and recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevem0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
As you pointed out we are a very popular Sunday Lunch venue and we are very pleased to be busy for lunches and dinners during the week also.
The sherry and the chocolate Boar's you mentioned are just a few of the little extras that so many of our guests enjoy.
We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to hear that, not only do you plan to return,but you will also be telling lots of your friends what a great time you had with us, so they can come and experience all that The Boar's Head has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We chose The Boars Head from the website "Great Inns of Britain"...." a collection of independent, historic, stylish inns"
Having already stayed at three of them....Grassington House (excellent), The Pheasant (very good) and The Inn at Whitewell (not reviewed, but excellent) they are in very good company.
Easy parking on arrival, opposite the front door. Impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. We had booked one night in a superior room...."White".....and the room size, bathroom, toiletries, robes, chocolate boars on the pillows (!) were all fine. The room is very traditional with a view to the front...but some of the furniture is looking very tired. We had a pre-dinner drink in the bar (bistro) which was buzzing with early diners....unfortunately most of the hand pulled beers were off. Dinner in the restaurant (brasserie) was very relaxed, food and service were very good, but the well worn laminated menu just did not look right. Back to the bar, which by now was quiet, for a couple of nightcaps....but a bit off-putting to have the staff close all of the tables around us at 10pm. Never mind, breakfast was very good and the included tickets for Ripley Castle are a real plus....there are only five rooms open, but the guide was so informative and funny.
Overall, a very good performance by all at the Boar's Head, thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, General Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thanks for posting a review .
It sounds like you may be part way round a tour of all of The Great Inns of Britain. What a Great idea !!
We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay ,giving comments like "great " & " impressed ",but we must also take some of your other comments and act upon them.
Our exciting new seasonal menu was introduced this week so our apologies that you got a well used copy of our previous menu during your stay,we will make sure that we discard any of the new ones before they start to look tired.
We are constantly maintaining all areas of The Inn and will continue to do so.
Fantastic to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Castle Tour.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as part of your continued tour around The Great Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
8.8 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
11.1 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.8 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
6.0 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.3 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,751 - ₹ 11,985
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing