We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,948)
Filter reviews
1,948 results
Traveller rating
554
717
372
169
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
717
372
169
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschagres rivermonkey bartour deskaerial trampanama canalswim up barcaravan tourhammock on the balconygift shopall inclusive packagenight tourorchid gardenfree nightrainy seasonriver viewembera indian villagenature lovers
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 1,948 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here; very nice room with a hammock on the balcony and view of the beautiful swimming pool area and neatly landscaped area down to the river. We used this location as a stepping off point for the Monkey Island Tour, the Embera Village Tour, and a tour of the Orchid Nursery, Reptile House, and Butterfly House on the grounds. We missed the arial tram tour. We found the food to be quite satisfactory. As for the staff, they are reserved, as many cultures are, but were helpful to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this resort as part of a group and while the travel group made our experience in Panama fun, this resort is a miss. The service is terrible for Americans, as very little english is spoken or understood. The buffet food is just ok but not at those prices. Our room was moldy smelling and two days in a row we had to request the room be cleaned, because it not been by 4:00 pm in the afternoon. The pool has very limited lounge chairs, so it was a fight to get any seating after 10am in the morning. The "free Wi-fi" only works in the main lobby bar.
Considering staying in Panama City next time.

Room Tip: Stay very high in the resort. Get the 6th or 7th floors to get a breeze and less moldy smell.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadstar9220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is just horrible, we were first given a room close to the pool which was extremely noisy because the aircon was broken and making a strange sound. We were then given another room but it had a wooden door that connected the room to the room of the neighbours. We could hear our neighboors all night long. The hotel is Disneyland in the middle of nature, full of American tourgroups (busloads). The rooms are outdated. You had to eat the buffet three times a day or spend USD 50 to get to Panama City. The buffet was disgusting. You had the possibility to get spaghetti which was prepared in front of you, the guy who did this dropped the spaghetti and just put it back in the wok. Also he used cooking utensils that were very dirty. The buffets really were a nightmare. I would never go here again in my life.

The cayak tour was great and worth your money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The view from our room was terrific and we enjoyed our stay at Gamboa immensely. The food is ok (but not excellent) but over-priced. This marred an otherwise perfect stay. The free wildlife tours around the grounds are well worth doing - it was on one of these that we say capybara for the first time. I also recommend Barro Colorado as an excellent day trip - one of the highlights of our two weeks in Panama.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the resort for two days prior to cruising in the Caribbean. Nice location and OK experience at the check in. Rooms were musty and smelly.
The excursions were overpriced and very difficult to book as the staff hardly spoke any English.
The food did not meet the expectations at all, especially not for a supposedly 5star resort. We were also food poisoned and when trying to explain and complain about this the hotel manager suggested that we we allergic to shellfish; hardly... We all had the same starter and we all got sick, the same night.... This is really not worth the money, even if it's a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millagiske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews