We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael m

Average

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2024
We booked a family stay for the weekend with a party of 8 taking 6 rooms. Arrival was no problem. We all got directed to our rooms and we needed to make one change because of distance from dining facilities.

Wine cellar was suitable stocked with some nice wines and the bar was stocked with premium and stock liquor. Check the prices for some of the premium liquor before ordering if money is a thing.

The main reason for booking Cleopatra was the chef. Two of our party had dietary needs, lacto vegetarian and gluten free. There needs were not satisfied. In the booking it was mentioned and every meal it had to be repeated and food sent back at times. Part of the meal was on there plate with parts missing. Meal plan for the vegetarian was non existent. I do think if you have dietary needs this place is not for you. My food was not to standard of a top chef as described in the write ups and other reviews read.

Rooms were dated and my bed was lumpy. Also smelt a bit damp.

Overall not going back.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Check that your dietary needs are covered
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom 3 in Forest Cottage
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
    34.2 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      ₹19,817
    • Booking.com
    4.2 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
    Free parking
    Pool
    Guinea Fowl Cottage room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      ₹6,857
    • Priceline
    28.6 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
    Free parking
    No fees just great deals
      30.4 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      1.5 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      35.1 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      • Trip.com
      28.3 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      43.9 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free parking
      Room service
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      41.3 km from Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Elandskop
      Reviews (406)
      Filter reviews
      406 results
      Traveller rating
      261
      91
      38
      10
      6
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      261
      91
      38
      10
      6
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews wine cellar small lake two courses wonderful setting the main house south africa standard room comfortable rooms amazing views cleopatra foodie fireplace mountains walks potholes hiking amen
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 406 reviews
      Reviewed 4 January 2024

      First off - what a phenomenal stay we had over NYE. Faultless all round - food, ambience, rooms, staff, grounds .... everything was just fantastic. It was our second visit, and although this time we only saw Richard once, his influence can be seen and felt everywhere.

      The staff could not be any better if they tried - they are willing to engage in conversation, they are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

      If you happen to want one of their speciality rums or gins I suggest you ask the price, unless price is no object. A double tot of one of the rums we tried cost more than a bottle of our normal preference!

      The spa is definitely worth a visit - best facial ever!

      A little comment on the "recommended" route and duration of travel. If you are coming from Johannesburg reckon on around 4.5 hours to Mooi River (timing taken from Sandton). The entire route up to that point is under surveillance by 'average speed' cameras, and the entire FS section has a speed limit of 100 kph. We took the recommended route, via Nottingham Road, and it took us just over 1 hour on bad roads (from Nottingham Road to Cleopatra), a lot of which was dirt, and if you are not familiar with the road a lot of care is needed in order to spot the potholes, of which there are plenty. Travelling back we took the not recommended tar road to Rosetta. Travel time was 40 minutes and although you may sometimes think that the potholes will never end, it really is very manageable and a large part is absolutely perfect.

      By the way, the pastry is to die for - if I could have bundled the pastry chefs up and taken them home with me I would have done so!

      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Monica S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 May 2023

      Very pictueque location the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great place to visit for hiking or to relax. The staff were all friendly and helpful and Brian was even took me for a walk around the hills. The food is excellent with a 5 course evening meal included in the price.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank aceadviser
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

      We absolutely loved our stay at Cleopatra’s! Such a warm and genuine welcome from each and every member of staff, they could not do enough to make our stay as special as possible. Bags carried by Amen to our warm and inviting room where everything was perfect in its own rustic way. The rooms are external to the main house but absolutely charming. Bed so comfy, snacks and drinks, lovely sitting area, fire ready laid. Great turn down service whilst we were having our evening meal and umbrellas helpfully provided (the rain was biblical!).

      The food is mentioned by most of the reviews… and rightly so, it was so good! I was given the most delicious vegetarian options, for dinner and breakfast which was impressive as they had no prior notice (my diet requirements had not been passed on by the agents). The atmosphere was delightful and the visit to the wine cellar to choose wines for our meal was a delight.

      Peace and quiet. Wonderful walks from the farmhouse. Canoeing on the small lake. All make our stay one of the best on our South African travels. The roads to reach the farmhouse were sometimes a bit rugged but worth every bump and pothole! Would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again in heartbeat… but would stay for longer if we came again!

      Room tip: Stay for a minimum of 2 nights to make the most of your stay and to justify the bumpy roads to get there. We wish we had!
      Date of stay: February 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 633kayp
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 February 2023

      We visited Cleopatras Farmhouse several years ago and enjoyed it so much that we decided to visit again. We arrived on a rainy day and had a minor problem on the gravel road which is the last 5km to the farmhouse. I rang the farmhouse and they immediately sent a couple of men to assist us. Problem solved! The room was very comfortable with thoughful touches : fire lit whilst we were at dinner, bed warmed and some complimentary port. The food was great : this is definitely a reason to visit, but then so is the amazing scenery. There is also a spa where I enjoyed a massage.

      Date of stay: January 2023
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Caroline H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 25 August 2022

      We'd booked this lovely place back in January 2021, for November 2022. But 2 days ago the hotel has cancelled our booking because they have taken a booking for a larger group that wants a 'covid secure' environment. So our booking (in place since January 2021) has been cancelled to make way for the group that wants no other guests there. Our tour operator is trying to find an alternative but most other nearby places are now fully booked. It appears that we have been "dumped".

      So I cannot comment on the accommodation or the food. But the business ethics are disappointing. South Africa deserves much better ambassadors than this.

      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ianJanet
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews