We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday - cosy, clean chalet with stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view. Bright cosy lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view.
Bright cosy lounge.
The well equipped kitchen area.
Wake up every day to a view of the ocean!
Comfortable double room, continuing the coastal theme.
Second bedroom also coastal themed.
Driftwood mirror in chalet.
One of the driftwood wall art pieces decorating the chalet.
More driftwood wall decor.
And another!
Coastal themed decor.
You could wake up to this every morning!  What you see is just a snapshot of the 180 deg  panorama!
Driftwood chalet in attractive setting with uninterrupted sea view beyond.
The picturesque location of Driftwood.
Large play area and Crazy Golf.
Clubhouse where you can relax on the terrace while keeping an eye on the children in the play area.
A quiet moment in the indoor pool.
The beautiful woods, on the edge of the Park.  Great walks can begin here.
Looking across the estuary to Appledore from Instow beach, just 20 mins away.
Wonderful 2 mile long beach at Westward Ho! Just 20 mins away. Great for surfing and rock pooling.
You can walk along the coast path from the chalet to this picturesque harbour at Clovelly.
Another stunning beach at Croyde.
The nearest beach at Bucks Mills, just a 3/4km walk through beautiful woods on the edge of the site.
A lovely comment from one happy guest.
Another happy customer!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bucks Cross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne C
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family holiday - cosy, clean chalet with stunning views”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely weeks holiday at Driftwood. Very clean, cosy and a lovely welcome pack including wine, cream tea and more. A great place to stay and would recommend it. My son loved the pool table at the clubhouse and there were lots of places to visit such as Bideford, Instow, Appledore (we did crabbing there), Bude and Ilfracombe. A great holiday and communication from Pat Wray was excellent.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
I'm so pleased your that you had a lovely holiday despite the awful weather. Thank you for your kind and helpful comments which are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calm4Engl...
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home - well equipped, sea view, great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 10 days in June and can definitely recommend Driftwood. It was clean, tidy and so well-equipped. There was everything you could need and a welcome pack of food basics (and a cream tea!) waiting for us. The chalet has a balcony/terrace with a sea view and is located in a quiet part of the holiday park but only a couple of minutes walk to the main facilities. There are two excellent swimming pools and a good play area with swings etc which my three year old loved.
There is lots to do on site but also good attractions, such as the Big Sheep, beaches at Instow & Appledore only a short drive away.
Pat the owner was very helpful throughout the booking process and when I couldn't turn the oven on (it worked fine - I just hadn't read the handbook!) she replied to my text within minutes.
We recommend Driftwood and will probably try to book it again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped. Good on-site facilities and lots to do locally
Liked least: EE phone network is terrible there! Couldn't get signal/internet most of the time
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
What a lovely review! I really appreciate it when guests like you, take the trouble to do it, which helps others book with confidence. Thank you so much. I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Driftwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirabelUk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a great view - Driftwood is lovely.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Driftwood which is in the Bideford Bay holiday park, Bucks Cross. The chalet is super and perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. It is clean, and well looked after, and packed full of little treats left by the owner, Pat. The DVD is great as are the films that are already there, the books and the games and the lovely decorations around the chalet.

This is a great base to search the Devon coast from - I would recommend this chalet within the park. Great value for money. It's also near the main play area, shop and the swimming pool (if you choose to use them). But far enough away that we did not hear any late night noise.

Super place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the park and the feel of the chalet.
Liked least: Curtains could be darker, but we put up a blanket.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you for leaving a concise and helpful review of your stay at Driftwood. I do appreciate it. I look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loobyloub...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely clean, fresh base for North Devon”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Driftwood is a lovely fresh clean chalet based on Bideford Bay Holiday Park. The view of the sea from the chalet is amazing and I could gaze at it all day. Pat provides so many essentials that make the stay more of a home from home than a stay in a normal holiday park property. The park itself is clean and small but has a lovely indoor and outdoor pool and a nice park for the kids. The site is hilly so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for those lovely comments, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
007MP
1 review
“Perfect little haven!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family had such a lovely stay. We were impressed at how well equiped and clean the chalet was. The kids loved all of the morning wildlife around the park and i couldn't get enough of the stunning view!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review. I'm so glad it felt like a "perfect little haven", and even I still can't get enough of the stunning view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;