We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
24
30
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
30
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel bar isthe ground floortwo weekswifishowerfridgeeuroscrete
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We have been visiting this hotel & family since it was built in the early 80's. This family run establishment offers you good value, location & extremely good service run by all its staff. For a base this hotel is ideally situated, on the beach, only 2 floors so no lifts to worry about. Rooms basic but clean & tidy, all with balcony & air con.
meals times is buffet style so eat what & when you want, always a variety on offer.
Entertainment is limited usually once a week so no noise to worry about. though if you want entertainment you don't have to go far as there are bars & restaurants which ever direction you head.

Room Tip: the best rooms are those above the restaurant right at the front facing the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geoff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed joining our family who where staying already. We were treated by Maria who was very helpful and supportive. Our designated room was good and larger than expected. We had a small bath and shower and the beds were comfortable. The hotel facilities are all nice and not over the top. We had B&B and I couldn't find anything wrong with the offerings they had. The pool area is very relaxing and not over populated with sun beds. We spent most of the day on the beach and was more than happy to pay 5€ for our sun beds. At night the hotel bar is very quiet even though the hotel was full people tended to relax in their rooms as the majority of people staying simply don't get the English process of having a leisurely relaxing large drink at night. Yes prices are steep but the raki flows and is mostly free. Sitting the my parents and all their friends plus the owner at night was very enjoyable. Both my wife and I commented on what people do come back year after year

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Nice, friendly Hotel, staf so nice, kitchen perfect. Delisius food , Every day difeerent 2-3 meal , cooker No.1 :-) Everybody could chose something. We had half board. :-) Only internet conection is problem...only in receprtionm and bar :-( too wery slowly . Beach is with smaal sand. Sometimes so windly and we have in wather fun :-) When is windly no smaal child to the see. There is to swimingpool with sweet wather. Recomend to rent a car...oposit is company - one day 60€
Marek from Slovakia

Room Tip: next to reception is in room wifi internet , far from receprion NO
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubosbrtko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed in a family room overlooking the beach & sea front. We have been here a number of times before with my wife celebrating her 30th & 50th birthdays. This family run hotel gives you a warm welcome, & the staff are just so friendly.
Buffet style breakfast & evening meal. Always something on an evening that you would like, so good choice. Since the last visit we think the food has improved on an evening.
Entertainment is usually one night a week, either a disco or Greek dancing & music. So a nice quiet hotel to relax & enjoy a typical Cretan welcome & mood.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view as the buildings are set at an angle.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I visited Kathrin Beach for the second time in July 2016. However, my partners family have been going for 37 years!! I can't express how lovely the family are who run the hotel and how brilliant every single member of the staff are. The service is honestly exceptional and they go out of their way to do everything they can for you. The hotel is brilliant value for money and I cannot believe that breakfast and evening meal are included in this price - bargain! The food is very tasty and a great selection is offered. The lunch menu is also delicious so we opted to stay here often. The drinks served are priced well and are of a very good quality. The location of the hotel is very good - you are surrounded by restaurants/cafes, bars, tavernas, beach bars and shops. I would highly recommend getting a bus/taxi or walking along the beach to Rethymno (around a 1 hour walk but it is very scenic and there are lots of places to stop along the way) - there is so much to see and do here that we ended up going 4 times over the space of 9 days.
The rooms at Katherin beach are clean and spacious with lovely sea views. Hotel is directly on the beach and the cost of sunbeds on the beach is only 2.50 euros for a whole day. It was nice to spend some days at the beach and some around the pool where sunbeds obviously don't cost. The hotel has a family run shop/supermarket on site where you can buy everything you need at a great price. Highly recommended and the family are just wonderful. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahthompson1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews