We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
134
101
64
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
101
64
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room ana maria pool bar sausage rolls great holiday sister hotel bar staff were very girl who works lovely hotel with great staff well cooked and tasty bus stop outside the hotel change of scenery the local bus service air con all inclusive drinks cleaning staff bar opens
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Stayed here for 2 weeks. When we arrived there was a problem with the room so we had to stay at the sister hotel 5 minutes away. Was not a problem as it was late. Returned the following day the problem was fixed. The hotel was full off mixed nationalitys. Lovely atmosphere. The staff are very welcoming. The hotel was spotless in all areas apart from the pool could off done with a clean at the edges. The food was lovely not repetitive at all. Always very hot lots to choice. Maria the waitress was amazing such a lovely young girl. Not forgetting George the bar man he worked his socks off bless him but always had a smile for you. There is not much around the hotel only a few tavernas and shops. The beach is directly opposite Blue Sky you have to pay £6 euros for 2 sun beds but you get a bottle of water free. Was well worth it lovely lady who runs it always went into her bar for a couple off beers she gave us free tapas all the time. The bus runs every half an hour either way. Lots off other places are on hand which you can do by bus which is cheap. Would definatley go back to this hotel as you can not fault anything.

Room Tip: Get a superior room facing the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolimarDias, Διευθυντής at Solimar Dias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Solimar Dias and found the amenities, the team and the food to be extremely satisfactory

It was such a nice pleasure to have you here with us. Thank you so much for your 5* review, our aim is to make our guests feel like home and to see that we have managed this with you, motivates us to continue doing our best for all our guests.
Is a big honour for us to receive such kind words from you and we wish to have the chance to offer you another 5* experience soon.

Thank you very much for choosing Solimar Dias, and we hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Best regards
Stavros Patras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We travelled as a family of 5 using 2 rooms. We arrived at lunchtime and the receptionist took us to the restaurant for lunch before checking in. After lunch we were shown our rooms. The rooms were spotlessly clean if a little small, my only complaint was there were a lack of draws in the room. There were slippers and bathrobes as well as flowers and water in the fridge. We did have a problem in the room which was dealt with within 5 minutes excellent service. The swimming pool area was again spotlessly clean and the bar was well run, never had to queue for a drink and always served with a smile, great service. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and helpful always checking if we needed drinks, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was really good, always hot. In my opinion because this is not a large hotel the food is not mass produced. There was always a good choice, even our 5 year old grandaughter loved it. Our rooms were kept spotless by our maid Maria, what a lovely lady she always took time to say hello and made such a fuss of our grandaughter. We had a great week and were very well looked after by all the hotel staff. We found because it was a smaller hotel the service was more personal. Yes we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolimarDias, Διευθυντής at Solimar Dias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review concerning your recent stay at the Solimar Dias hotel.

We are glad to have you as our guests at the Solimar Dias hotel and it is a delight to know that we succeeded in providing you a holiday that left you truly satisfied.

It is nice to note that the service provided by our staff members had a very positive impact during your stay and I am sure that the team will be absolutely pleased to hear of this. Your words continue to give credence to the hard work and effort, motivating us to keep striving for the best in what we do.

We wish you well and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel on your next visit to Crete.

Best regards
Stavros Patras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Just back after 2 weeks in Crete where we stayed at the Solimar Dias hotel. We chose the hotel through Jet2 and on paper it looked good. We a family of four arrived around 10.30pm after an hour transfer and approached the reception to check in.
The receptionist instantly offered us all food and drinks in the by now closed restaurant which she had opened up for us. In all my years of travel, I have never been so well treated on arrival. The receptionist then completed the paperwork and directed us to our rooms.
I had booked a superior room for ourselves and was really happy with it. It had cold bottled water left in our fridge and fresh flowers on the side board along with tea and coffee with kettle ready for our first day and every day forward. The superior room was two rooms and a bathroom along with two balconies overlooking the White Mountains. In one room was a sofa with a coffee table along with a good sized flat screen TV. The TV did show some American films, but we rarely used it, instead we preferred to take our wine out and sit out watching the night skies and life pass us by below. Opposite our bathroom was a good sized fitted wardrobe. On the bed lay two dressing gowns and slippers, this was above our expectations and showed that this hotel could deliver a holiday we dreamed of, first impressions last! The picture of the mountains is one from our bedroom, this was a view we got most mornings as the sun rose.
The air-conditioning in our room was brand new and very effective against temps of mid 90’s up to the 100’s and 80s at night. One night, we accidently left it going full whack and in the Morning we could see our breath on the air like a winter’s morning in the UK, very effective!!
I had a minor point to make towards reception on our third day and the problem was dealt with within 10 minutes, so total satisfaction.
The Chefs turned out a fantastic array of hot food with cold meats along with a vast amount of salads. We also had some seven or eight puddings to choose from as well. People who say this hotel’s food is repetitive are clearly losing the point and maybe don’t open their minds to try the local dishes of Crete. On my last day, I personally asked to go to the kitchens and thanked these unseen hard working people and they appreciated my comments, which were translated by an English speaking waitress.
At the outside Cochili bar in the day was the hard working Maria who was quick to serve and always with a smile. She kept the bar and tables spotlessly clean along with collecting all the empty drinks cups. At night the wonderful George took over with a smile and often stayed later than his allotted time at 11pm.
Our room cleaner was a lovely lady also called Maria; she often took time to chat to us and kept our room absolutely spotless. She mopped all the floors daily and changed our bed sheets about every 3 days or so.
In the restaurant all the staff members were very attentive and keeping everything in order was I think Eva or Ava (always had her hair in a ponytail) whose eye for the finer detail was spot on. I am sorry, but you all deserve a medal for excellent service, but could not remember all your names.
The grounds of the hotel have well-kept gardens full of flowers when we were there. The pool area some say is small, but we found it totally adequate in size for the boutique hotel and never crowded. Sun beds were in plentiful supply when we stayed, with some favourite spots under the trees coming in very handy during the hot days.
The area is nice and fairly quiet, which suited us. Down the road are Taverna’s and quite a few shop outlets which are staffed with helpful friendly locals. One or two of the larger shops are a bit pushy for sales, but we just ignored them.
The beach is 5 minutes over the road and is lovely by my books, long and sandy with some fantastic Greek sunsets that will take your breath away. Definitely worth spending a few minutes at night to watch the sun going down. I had a good time snorkelling on the rocks nearby as well.
I will make some points from a constructive point of view and these points must not be seen as complaints.
The pool developed some minor tide marks at water surface level and we felt this could and should have been addressed by cleaning around the top. The pool attendant had started as we left and it looked so much better.
In this day and age WIFI should be free all over the hotel and not just the foyer. The WIFI charges are way too high. I think the hotel may already be addressing this as some cable workmen were busy putting leads in on the floor landings.
There were a few feral cats around the hotel and pool area and the hotel are doing a good job in discouraging guests from feeding them, but they still get fed by quite a lot of people!!
Although for ourselves as a family with grown up children the meals provided had an excellent choice, we felt that the hotel could have catered for younger children at lunch and evening meals. We saw a few children during our stay who were not always happy with what was on offer. Pizza, chicken nuggets and chips were available most days for afternoon snacks around 2.30pm at the pool bar, but not everyone seemed to be aware of this.
We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel courtesy of Jet2.com and would defiantly return and that is down to the excellent staff members and clearly good hotel management.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolimarDias, Διευθυντής at Solimar Dias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time.

I am delighted to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our aim at the Solimar Dias Hotel is to ensure that you experience a wonderful stay and it is a great pleasure to be provided with such positive feedback in respect to our facilities and the service we provide.

We sincerely hope to have the joy to host you again in the near future.

Best regards
Stavros Patras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Came for two weeks in June and despite a couple of teething problems (nothing is perfect all the time) my husband a myself could not have asked for a better holiday, the hotel is spotless, food is authentic and delicious, location is good - quiet but just five minutes walk to more tavernas and shops, short bus ride into the town, hotel staff are always pleasant and cannot be more helpful, we enjoyed it so much we've already booked to go back next year, fingers crossed we get another good room.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Lynne021071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolimarDias, Διευθυντής at Solimar Dias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for such review! The team and I were truly glad to hear about your extreme satisfaction regarding the high standards of service provided to you.

It's always encouraging to read such brilliant feedback, rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words and comments with the whole of the team. Moreover, the fact that you have already booked our hotel for next year makes us exceptionally proud as it is our prime goal to create a truly memorable holiday for our guests, and in this case it seems we have succeded in more than one ways.

We are truly looking forward to welcome you again next year, and contribute once again to an exceptional holiday.

Best regards
Stavros Patras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

It might have a basic name for a dish but Real Greek food and never the same menu twice. Very helpful and cheerful staff . A buss stop outside and a taxi base fifty yards away. The beach is just across the road with two excellent beach front bars if you want the sea rather than the hotel pool

Room Tip: Room overlooking the hotel pool and the mountains can be a little noisy at the front but bar closes at eleven so no real problem
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
7  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolimarDias, Διευθυντής at Solimar Dias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review concerning your recent stay at the Solimar Dias hotel.

Firstly let me tell you that it was our pleasure to host you and I am thrilled to know that we fulfilled your needs and that we met your expectations.Furthermore, it is always great to know that our hard work is appreciated and rest assured that your kind comments will be passed on to the staff.

Our goal is to deliver high quality services and we feel exceptionally proud when our guests leave with the best impressions and intend to visit us again in the future. We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Solimar Dias hotel.

Best regards
Stavros Patras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews