We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Family Villa”
Review of Carme Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carme Villas
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was a first holiday in August since I was a child and now that my eldest is in full time school we took the plunge in peek season, something I have avoided for various reasons. Having left it late to book, rendering much accommodation fully booked, I soldiered on and eventually came across the Carme Villas. The vibrant colours, lush setting and facilities immediately stood out. Holidays these days are a case of finding something that suits all, adults and children alike. The Carme Villas seemed just right for the first week of our trip.

After exchanging a few emails with the very helpful Katerina we had made a reservation. Katerina also recommended a car hire company that I eventually booked with. The drive from Heraklion was fairly straight forward and after about an hour of easy driving we arrived mid afternoon. We were welcomed by Katerina and her husband who kindly escorted us to our Villa. We were very lucky to have Villa Taygete. This was perfect in respect that the pool area had sun all day yet the patio was shaded, perfect with a 5 and 2 year old. When entering the villas you find a modern, clean environment with all the facilities you will need for your stay. The downstairs had a fully functional kitchen, dining area and seating areas too. There was also a downstairs toilet with shower that saved going upstairs all the time. There was a Satellite TV but I found this poor as you either had no signal or poor reception. Not a massive issue but with kids it is sometimes nice to keep them occupied.

The upstairs was perfect for our needs. The main bedroom leads on to the balcony with stunning views. The second room was excellent for our children as it was secure (only a window) and had interconnecting sliding doors that we could use if needed. The main bathroom with toiletries provided was also on this floor.

The pool area was excellent; self contained, clean, private and perfect for my kids who loved jumping in straight from breakfast! This was the most appealing aspect for me when booking as I like peace and quiet with minimum crowds. I was really surprised by how peaceful the villas were, even in the height of the school holidays. They really were tranquil and with stunning views across the olive groves and towards the sea this was the perfect balance. The grounds of the villa are well kept and again offered something different. The seating area was nice to have a drink at and watch the children having fun in the playground. You can buy drinks from the reception bar but the outside seating area, that some images make it look like a cafe area, is not functional. Alternatively just take drinks from you villa and enjoy the view.

The location of the villa was great, only a few minutes drive to the centre of Adelianos Kampos. I guess you could walk to the centre but it is not the easiest and with buggies, bags and with the sun beaming down a car would be better. We tended to drive down, park up and enjoy the beach, bars, restaurants and play areas. There are plenty of eateries and places to drink, all good quality and reasonably priced. The beach is nice, sandy and lots of room to enjoy. The beach bars where you could rent loungers and umbrellas were quite cheap at 5 Euros in total with the added advantage of being able to order food and drinks straight to you from the friendly staff. Rethymnon was only a short drive away and if you didn’t want to take the car then the buses were frequent and really cheap. We had a taxi back one night and it only cost us 10 Euros. Well worth a trip too.

We had a lovely stay at the Carme Villas and thank Katerina and her team for the warmest of welcomes. The Villas are a perfect mix for family dynamics, plenty on offer for children with the open grounds, play area and pool, and a peaceful setting for adults to relax and enjoy the beautiful Greek sea and countryside views. It is a good location from either of the main airports and a good pivot to explore other parts of the island. Our next part of the trip was staying in Plakias and was another easy trip from here. I definitely recommend the villas and if I were to return I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The villas either side of Taygete Villa (the Blue ones) were perfect for sun and a little shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

upon arrival we were told that "there's been a mistake" and our villa was not in the main estate (with every facility included), but a 3 km apart. Every morning it would take us 10 minutes to reach the main building to have breakfast ( distance was 5 km actually, through the beautiful cretan country roads....)The manager was ready to offer us a complimentary dinner for the 3 of us just to make up for the mistake
breakfast was nice varied and with a different cooked cretan specialities every day. The manager was kind and helpfull. we were asked for cash payment... and a kind refusal of my amex card..

Room Tip: single villa private pool, 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Carme Villas. There are two bedrooms on the first floor of each villa and 2 bathrooms as well as a fully equipped kitchen and fridge in the downstairs living area. Double doors lead out to the private patio and pool which is about 15 ft square but certainly enough for a plunge and a short swim. Katarina are her staff were incredibly helpful and hospitable. We had a car but it was only a 10-15 minute walk to one of many local beaches. Rethymno town is about 20 minutes drive and we had dinner there on two occasions in the old part of town which is very lively and full of excellent tavernas as well as the sprawling ancient 16th century citadel.
Carme Villas is indeed very relaxing and a superb base from which to explore this part of Crete without being surrounded by heaving numbers of tourists. The local town is a strip of restaurants, shops and other recreational outlets along the beach road. Nearby are the amazing monastery of arkadi and also the Archaeological site of Elutherna which is still revealing its Archaic secrets from 900 BCE. These places are well worth visiting to appreciate the history and culture of this magnificent Island. We stayed at carme villas in mid September. it was absolutely fabulous weather in the mid 80s.

Everyone was extremely friendly and if I have to have a bit of advice it would be that the breakfasts could do with a little more variety of fresh produce such as fruit cheeses and fresh bakery items. There were a number of cooked items and cakes which changed from day to day.

The Villas are very modern and quiet with stunning views towards the sea and we were delighted with our stay overall. Happy to come back here and recommend. Crete is generally not that expensive for food but extremely pricey when it comes to good hotels. Carme Villas was quite reasonably priced for what it offered. Lots of space, cleanliness and privacy. thank you

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank siobhancrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

At carme villas you get the best of both worlds: a private two-bedroom house with (small) pool and the service of a 4/5 star hotel. The house and rooms are cleaned daily and guests can have a wonderful breakfast for just €5 per person. The quiet surroundings are very green and well maintained. The owners of the place personally welcome you in the most friendly manner and are happy to assist when help is needed or in case of problems. Definitely a place to go when you're trying to stay away from the big, animated hotels.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CharMarLec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Most of this hotel is very good, there are some minor flaws though but dont let that hold you back of going there.

The good:
- Very clean
- Located in a very nice and very quiet area, though close enough to town
- Upscale
- Enough parking space, even close to your own villa where you can park your mandatory car.
- All staff is very friendly and is working very hard to make sure you are taken care of
- Greek breakfast, lots of sweets and proper coffee
- It is everything you may expect from a place like this. We loved it!

The bad:
- Wifi is dreadfull. You will be spending more time reconnecting and logging in then actually using the internet. Seems a bit better in the evenings though. The hotel is aware of this problem.
- Childrens noise and adults talking (shouting) on mobiles. By design of the hotel you can hear the conversations of your neighbours like they are sitting next to you. People have children. You can only ask for a villa without children as direct neighbours (as we did), but it is no guaranty you will get that (as we did not get it, though i even emailed weeks ahead we liked a quiet room). We do understand though that this can be worse in another 'normal' hotel. For us its a huge discomfort and irritating, for others its no problem.
- We pointed out the sink in the bathroom would not hold the water. The staff told us how the sinked worked. I'm a technical guy. I know how they work, and also know why it didn't work. After 3 days i was fedup and repaired it myself. It probably was a language thing.

Small discomforts:
- First time hard to find
- Bathroom a little small
- Beds might be a bit to hard for some. To me it was no problem, my wife had trouble. We like hard beds, this was a bit to much.
- Easy to fix isseus are not adressed. like shelfs hanging from wall, TV cables a complete mess, lights hanging of the wall, frontdoor hard to lock, bugscreen ripped.

Dont get us wrong about the issues and the negative comments. Most of them are easy to adress and where just a small discomfort and to most people no issue at all.
Going to a hotel down at the seaside will give you a complete different experience so if we will be going to Rethymon again, Carme Villas will be without doubt the place we will go to.

*Our review is based on what i may expect from a 5 star hotel and the price we payed to our travelagency*

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelianos Kampos
1.1 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.1 km away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,345 reviews
79.2 km away
Nana Princess
Nana Princess
#97 of 184 in Hersonissos
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
71.6 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
76.1 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carme Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carme Villas

Address: | Rethymno, Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range: ₹ 10,443 - ₹ 20,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carme Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star ***** recently constructed villas Carme are built in a verdurous and particularly quiet environment in an olive grove of 12.000 Sq.Metres at the village Adele. They are situated 800m from the sea and they are only in a distance of 10 min. By car from the centre of the town of Rethymno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carme Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carme Villas Crete/Adelianos Kampos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing