We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
110
21
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
21
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool few minutes drive fully equipped kitchen spacious villa lovely family rethymno town olive groves crete privacy accommodation sea holiday
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

At carme villas you get the best of both worlds: a private two-bedroom house with (small) pool and the service of a 4/5 star hotel. The house and rooms are cleaned daily and guests can have a wonderful breakfast for just €5 per person. The quiet surroundings are very green and well maintained. The owners of the place personally welcome you in the most friendly manner and are happy to assist when help is needed or in case of problems. Definitely a place to go when you're trying to stay away from the big, animated hotels.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CharMarLec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Most of this hotel is very good, there are some minor flaws though but dont let that hold you back of going there.

The good:
- Very clean
- Located in a very nice and very quiet area, though close enough to town
- Upscale
- Enough parking space, even close to your own villa where you can park your mandatory car.
- All staff is very friendly and is working very hard to make sure you are taken care of
- Greek breakfast, lots of sweets and proper coffee
- It is everything you may expect from a place like this. We loved it!

The bad:
- Wifi is dreadfull. You will be spending more time reconnecting and logging in then actually using the internet. Seems a bit better in the evenings though. The hotel is aware of this problem.
- Childrens noise and adults talking (shouting) on mobiles. By design of the hotel you can hear the conversations of your neighbours like they are sitting next to you. People have children. You can only ask for a villa without children as direct neighbours (as we did), but it is no guaranty you will get that (as we did not get it, though i even emailed weeks ahead we liked a quiet room). We do understand though that this can be worse in another 'normal' hotel. For us its a huge discomfort and irritating, for others its no problem.
- We pointed out the sink in the bathroom would not hold the water. The staff told us how the sinked worked. I'm a technical guy. I know how they work, and also know why it didn't work. After 3 days i was fedup and repaired it myself. It probably was a language thing.

Small discomforts:
- First time hard to find
- Bathroom a little small
- Beds might be a bit to hard for some. To me it was no problem, my wife had trouble. We like hard beds, this was a bit to much.
- Easy to fix isseus are not adressed. like shelfs hanging from wall, TV cables a complete mess, lights hanging of the wall, frontdoor hard to lock, bugscreen ripped.

Dont get us wrong about the issues and the negative comments. Most of them are easy to adress and where just a small discomfort and to most people no issue at all.
Going to a hotel down at the seaside will give you a complete different experience so if we will be going to Rethymon again, Carme Villas will be without doubt the place we will go to.

*Our review is based on what i may expect from a 5 star hotel and the price we payed to our travelagency*

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Great place for families. Wonderful private mini villa, with a private pool and terrace. It is completely isolated with surrounding plantations of olives and vines, located high to allow a magnificent view and a great breeze. The host is lovely and facilities are well kept, well equipped and clean. We will definitely recommend it to our friends!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ofirsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This was our fourth year in Carme Villas and we loved our Holiday as usual.
Perfect location for families, with all the comfort a family can imagine and an outstanding view on the sea from the middle of an olive grove.
Very friendly and customer-oriented family staff.
We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: If you have very Young children would be better to ask for a ground floor villa.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We had two great weeks at Carme Villas near Rethymnon and can recommend this place. The family that runs Carme Villas is very nice and does everything to make vacation unique. Our two daughters (10 and 12 years old) were every day for hours in the private pool. Morning buffet was very good as well. We will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAPST_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews