We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a good start, but then excellent”
Review of Agreco Farm

Agreco Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Delving deep into Cretan tradition, Agreco, a fairytale traditional farm, has revived centuries-old organic farming practices in a unique expression of Greek 'philoxenia', or hospitality. This privately owned 40,000-sq estate is an innovative display of environmentally friendly methods for traditional and modern cultivation and breeding. On a hill near Rethymnon with vine yards and olive trees overlooking the infinite sea, don't miss a culinary experience, tasting diverse seasonal dishes based on the fruits of the land and the legendary nutritional Cretan cuisine. In the Agreco Taverna you will taste the very best of traditional Cretan cuisine. Only fresh, organic farm produce is used in the menu and the preparation is done entirely in the farm kitchens.
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We came here for a vegetarian dinner for two and staff was very friendly.
In the beginning it all worked a little north-west European commercialized and for Crete the prices for dinner are steep, but soon it all calmed down and the Greek atmosphere dawned, but never 100%. Realize that in this location it is a bit unusual to eat from a carte menu, but merely all guests eat the same and the dishes are brought around all at the same time. As the menu has a very large number of courses, this may cause that the food, to your liking, is presented in too quick pace to really enjoy it. Also, I think, nobody has ever managed to really eat all the food presented. Some reviews here speak about the waste of great food, and indeed when eating, it creates a sense of guilt to waste so much.
Staff is super friendly and take all time to explain the dishes and we had interesting learning moment about how food is prepared.
We are vegetarians and the meat platters others received were replaced by veggie platters for us. Real good !
I do not often give 4 stars, but this place fully deserves it !

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018

We went here for the taverna but it turned out to be so much more. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of wine and then taken on a tour of the farm and vineyards. Very imformative with great insight into Cretes agricultural roots. after the tour we were seated and served a large multicourse meal followed by traditional Cretian folk dancing and singing. A truly wonderful night. 4-1/2 to 5 hours.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WFaust2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We first visited Agrecco in 2016 and we left with the opinion that it was one of the best evenings and meals which we had ever had.

Our 2018 trip to Crete didn't feel complete without a visit here and upon arrival everything seemed as we remembered.

During our first visit we felt like we were being looked after by the family as if we had been invited over for dinner. This time it had a much more commercial feel, like a restaurant. Previously wine was served in jugs and we were invited to have as much as we wanted (and raki too), this year we paid by the bottle for both. The bill was also an extra 20 euros per person.

Food wise, it did not have the freshness of our first visit, with particularly dry and tough meat included.

We asked what had happened and were told that it has changed since our last visit. We certainly did not get the value for money we had last time.

I am sure if we had not visited before we would have been more impressed, it just seems a shame because it pails in comparison to what this was. Genuine greek, organic passion commercialised.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

This is a working farm and with farm to table excellence. You tour the farm first with some nice old fashion examples of how wine, bread etc were made. The restaurant is mostly outdoors under cover and very charming. You have a great view to the sea as you are on a slightly elevated plot. We had two types of lamb - with potatoes (truly outstanding) and with beans (plus a tomato sauce and cinnamon).
We went at lunch (no need for reservation) and were the only ones there. Likely this was since they were hosting a wedding - which we were able to witness. All of this made our visit a true glimpse into a Cretan experience

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MicSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Recently visited Agreco farm for a wedding. The entire occasion was perfect.
The setting was so picturesque and like a scene from mamma mia!
All of the food was so fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank benjeapes201290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agreco Farm also viewed

Maroulas, Rethymnon
 
Adelianos Kampos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Adelianos Kampos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Adelianos Kampos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Adelianos Kampos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Agreco Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing