We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
12
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
12
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Great location in front of the Cuiaba river, basic but clean and comfortable accommodation (with AC, minibar, WiFi), great food and the best wildlife viewing experienced ever in South America (where I have travelled some ten times).
We saw 10 jaguars and plenty of other wildlife during our three night stay. Elias, our guide, was extremely helpful and went out of his way to show us the jungle and its inhabitants. Pablo, the manager, does a great job as well.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lacubita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diego R, Gerente geral at Pousada Porto Jofre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

ola
Boa tarde
Agradecemos pela preferencia

Obrigado
Diego Rondon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

It is a very rustic place. You only have eletricity in the night and for lunch. That is when you have wifi. There is no cell signal. There is no city nearby. You are in the middle of Pantanal, very far away from civilization. A lot of mosquitoes, take care in the night. Use lots of sun protector. It is very good to see aligators, capivaras, birds and jaguars. Very, very good. You spend eight hours a day in a boat, going to places where you can spot a jaguar. There is no TV in the rooms. Air conditioning is good. Pablo is a very good person there and Pit is a very good boat rider

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tzanoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diego R, Proprietário at Pousada Porto Jofre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017
Google Translation

obrigado
Pela sua avaliação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I had gone there for the sole purpose of Jaguar sightings and if possible other wildlife. In 7 days i had 22 sightings of the Jaguar and the icing was a mother and 2 cubs for 2 hours and a Jaguar hunt a cayman. (Photo uploaded) The place itself is simple. Marco and his family and team were good hosts and took good care of my stay and safaris.
One tip is that, while they do have good trackers and boatmen, it is advisable to stay close to boats of other properties or companies since the other companies have radios and they communicate when there is a sighting, so the possibility of Jaguar sightings are very good.

Thanks
Durga

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VaraPrasad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Note that there are several places with "Porto Jofre" in their name, i.e. Hotel Porto Jofre. This place, Pousada Porto Jofre, is pretty basic. There is no sign so it was not even clear we were at the right place. No reception area, we had to wander around to find someone to help us. Luckily, one of the group spoke a bit of Portugese or we'd have had issues right from the start. We stayed in a room in a concrete building, they also ohad some wood cabins. One of the beds in our room was broken. overall the room was clean. The shower had its own heating unit, but if anyone else in a nearby room also turned their on there was not enough pressure to activate the heater. Buffet meals were average. The main reason to visit here is to see jaguars on the river, and during our 2 days we did see 4 jaguars so they deliver on that. Again, without having someone to interpret, I am not sure how we'd arrange the boat trips even. They were expanding their small dining area - not a restaurant - so the place appears to be a work in progress. One of our rooms was missing a key. And you pay a lot to stay here too. I expect our agent planned to put us in another place and was confused by the similar names - don't make the same mistake.

Stayed: July 2016
7  Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We booked a stay in June for 2 nights including all tours. We did get a confirmation email. According to them you agree to their reserve policy, terms and conditions. These things were not included in the email or present at their website. We arrived in June at their construction site. There is no such thing as a reception. So we start to ask the construction workers if this was the right place. Finally a lady showed up from the restaurant. She didn't speak any other language than Portugese. So any conversation was not possible. We payed € 850 for 2 nights including all tours. But their wasn't any tour during the day. The room was very basic and noisy (because of the construction). The place is surrounded by mosquito's. We could not believe the amount we payed for this service. We had a conversation on whatsapp with management (that's what we think). We said we want to leave and cancel the booking with full refund. They agreed so we left. TIll now we have not received our money back and they ignore our messages. So be careful if you book this place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews