We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accomodation in good location”
other travellers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheila e
crewe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely accomodation in good location”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Saltings is an ideal little cottage to stay near Bath and visit the surrounding area.

The Saltings has been thoughtfully renovated to provide good quality and very comfortable accommodation.

We found the owner/housekeepers to be very friendly and helpful and there was a lovely welcome pack waiting.
We would definitaly recommend The Saltings - it is a little gem and good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great base to explore from. Very clean and comfortable with nice touches
Liked least: No outside seating area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for the review - glad to hear you would recommend us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClairolBe...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cottage with original features - very easy to book too.
Provided with a starter pack of bits when we arrived, including bread, butter, eggs, milk and a bottle of wine!
The rooms were clean and the fittings well cared for over the years. Bed was very comfy and the shower was great. Do beware of the spiral staircase - it's pretty difficult to navigate up as it's tight and narrow.
5-10min walk to Bathampton Mill which is a lovely pub by the river. From here you can also get the river boats into the centre of Bath - definitely recommended!

The only addition that could be added is a fan for the bedroom. We rented the cottage during the July heatwave and had to have the windows wide open but there still wasn't much of a breeze coming in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thanks very much for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. As you probably realised, the spiral staircase was the only option given the size of the Saltings. but we find most manage it quite well. We have some fans which we keep in stock, but we will get a smaller one to stay in the Saltings for the infrequent times when we have a heat wave :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjames4
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it ”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved it here - the cottage honestly had anything you needed and we loved the fact you get milk, butter, eggs, bread and wine! We have never received such a personal touch. The location is perfect, we walked down by the lake to a lovely pub for a drink. Tesco express is about a 5 minute drive and it wasn't much further to go to the centre of bath. We also visited Bristol one day, great shops and a little further out. The only downside is the narrow spiral staircase. Not great if you are unsteady on your feet or on the larger side - don't bring a big/heavy bag!! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
"Love" is the ultimate, so we are extremely happy you enjoyed it here as much as you did. We often get questions about our location from prospective guests, so comments such as yours should tell them everything. As you probably realised, the spiral staircase was the only option given the space limitations in the Saltings. Like you, we find people adapt to it quite quickly once they are used to it. Thanks for the recommendations :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bec214
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I were looking at hotels in Bath to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, when we found The Saltings. So glad we did, the pictures and reviews can't do it justice. Booking and communication was so quick and easy. The accommodation itself was spotless and finished to a very high standard, everything about it was perfect.
We were left Wine, butter, eggs, crumpets...whivh were wonderful, and an information folder was so thorough it gave us a real insight of where to start our visit. Great touches which made all the difference to our stay.
The bus stop is right outside the gate, buses run throughout the day and meant we could travel in and out of Bath without worrying over parking etc.
We had a fantastic short break and will be booking again, as well as recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
It's fantastic for us when guests take the trouble to write such comprehensive and appreciative reviews, so thank you very much indeed. You can't imagine how important it is to us. Glad you appreciated the guide as John spends hours writing them - he likes writing, so enjoys doing it, but it takes a lot of time to get it right. The aim is to give a real insight into the area from our own subjective point of view. It's a also a good excuse to try all the latest eating places so we can report on them :-)
We have stayed in many places where there is virtually no information or it is very out of date, so we do our best to be the opposite of that. This year alone John has updated the Saltings guide around a dozen times.

Hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was exactly as photos
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
We are tingling reading your review. :-) It makes us feel very happy that we made your honeymoon so special and the Saltings suited you so well.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 14
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing