We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect quiet Santorini retreat for a large group”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Winery Estate

Pool and pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating
Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Main house
The pool
Dining table for 12 on Main terrace
Pool taken from seating under pergola
Begonia suite terrace
Seating area on Roof terrace
Roof terrace with dining area, loungers, seating area and hammock
Sunrise from the terrace
Sea view from the house
Living room with dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bath in master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with 2 single beds (can also be made as a double)
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom 3 with king size bed
Main bathroom
Bedroom 4, private, enclosed mezzanine with 2 single beds and 1 double
Bergonia suite with kitchenette, en-suite and jacuzzi
Bergonia suite with king size bed
Jacuzzi in Bergonia suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Megalochori, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HolidayEd...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet Santorini retreat for a large group”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A unique, large and comfortable villa that's stylish and full of character with great attention to detail. Highly recommended, it worked well and was priced fairly.

We were two families of four, our children early teens, our friends with daughter and boyfriend in their 20's. Every single one of us loved The Winery Estate, the location, the comfort, the space and that each of us could relax together or find a spot on our own. The photos of the property are accurate, everything in the property was in very good condition. The pool was serviced regularly and the property cleaned halfway through the week. Again all good. We had exceptional service and advice from the owner prior to booking, the local person who met us at the airport and organised return back was also helpful. Easy, no problems.

Practical advice: We didn't hire a car, 5-10 minute walks to the village are easy for everyday items, going for a coffee, there's a good bakery, shop for beer and wine etc. The locals were friendly and everyone spoke English. We enjoyed a number of restaurants there too, all reasonably priced, eating outside, all great but it didn't feel touristy which we liked. Local buses are frequent and cheap to the beaches or bigger towns if you want to be swamped by tourists but mostly we just hung around the pool, wandered to the village and got merry on beer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F
1 review
“More like a small castle than a villa... Amazing !”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The pictures on the web site, do not do this fantastic villa justice. On arrival you look up at a beautiful and imposing structure. It took 10mins for us (10 in our party) to tour all the different areas (terrace, 2 seating areas, BBQ, pool terrace and all the stunning rooms). Some lovely details, all over the villa, particularly the deep winery holes that are lit up and covered with glass.
The villa was spotless on arrival and a cleaner came mid week too. Kim the villa manager was most helpful, and arranged taxi's and restaurant bookings.
A short walk took you into the beautiful town of megalochori, with its cobbled little streets and local restaurants.
The villa was also a good central location for trips to Perissa Beach and Fira.
A great stay in well recommended (from someone who has high standards!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size and Character
Liked least: An unfinished property opposite
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thef1nn
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 10 visiting Santorini for a wedding so rather than a hotel we decide to book a villa rather than staying in a hotel and we were all glad we did. First off we were greeted at the airport by an included Taxi that the Sarah / Kimberly had organised for us to take us to the villa which is much better than the hassle of trying to find a cab for 10 when you first land. Then when we got to the villa Kimberly was waiting for us to show us round the house and give us hints and tips for the local area, she even booked us a table at a restaurant that we wanted to visit while we were there as she knew the owner.

There were four couples in our group plus a couple of singles that shared the bedroom above the kitchen and I think all the rooms had air con. As we were all adults I requested that that all of the singles bed be pushed together to make doubles which was already done when we arrived. Some of the room are larger than the others which is to be expected and three of them have en-suite with the room above the kitchen and one other sharing, but none of the group had any issues with any of the rooms just some of us drew longer straws than the others.

The villa has been done up to a very high standard with lots of the original features and character but with all the mod cons you will need. Plus the suite had a Jacuzzi bath and kitchenette which was a nice touch, if you are lucky enough to get this room!

The villa has almost everything you will need for your stay such as iron / board, washing machine, all kitchen equipment, tools / first load of coals for the bbq and there were also some other nice touches like spare UK socket adaptors and the odd phone charger in case you forget. Plus there was also loads of dvd’s to watch if you have time and the odd board game, there was even hair dryer and straightens in the suite.

The pool area had enough space and beds / chairs for the 10 adults that were in our party without feeling crammed in and we also used the other seating areas around the sit when we wanted a change of scenery or a glass of wine and a chat or to sit round the outside table when we had the bbq going. The roof terrace is huge and was a little hot in the day for us as there was a heat wave at the time of our stay, but we still used is to lay on the roof at night to watch for shooting stars which were saw every night as there was little light pollution!

The town is a 5/10 minute walk away depending on how much local wine you have drunk which has a couple of convince shops, 5 or 6 restaurants (maybe more) and lots of nick knack shops to look at. It is a very picturesque old town and a nice walk, but girls take some flat shoes as it’s cobbled and hilly but this just adds to the ambiance of the town. There is also a lovely bakery 5 mins from the villa which sells the best cakes, bread, pastry, baklava, biscuits and you can sit outside and have a coffee as well.

Kimberly also organise a hire car for me, all I had to do was give her a call and the next day it was dropped off at the villa then picked up when I finished with it, perfect and easy!

If I could say there were any improvements that could be made they would be very very minor as the place is beautiful and well equipped, but some of the ladies in our group suggested that some of the rooms would benefit from a full length mirror but that is it and when Sarah reads this I think these might be added to the rooms. Also we never found the main light switch for the suite so had to use the other lights in the room which wasn’t a problem, but Kimberly if you know where it is can you point this out on your walk round.

To finish off we didn’t want to leave and could have stayed longer but when we had too Kimberly was there again as so was the transfer back to the airport.

Thank you the villa is lovely and made our stay in Santorini!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
I am very pleased that your party had such a fantastic time at the villa and enjoyed your holiday. It is very important to me that we get the the villa and service "right" as i understand how precious holiday time is.
Thank you for this very informative review, it is greatly appreciated as it gives future guests a idea of what to expect if they book The Winery Estate.
Also, you are correct, i will look at putting extra full length mirrors in the bedrooms, in addition to the 2 full length mirrors which are already at the villa (one in the master bedroom and one in the living room)
Hope to see you again (i will make sure you get the suite!)
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt F
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa ”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited our friends at this villa most days - the location is private yet 2 mins walk into lovely village and restaurants - a bakery and supermarket also 2mins
Each room is large and very done up lovely - there is loads of space around for parties / bbq and kids playing
Perissa and thira are short drives as is most of the island.
The owners are kind and helpful
And for the price ( as it was a large wedding group) the guys in this villa def had the bargain - most wanted to head to this villa out of the rest all rented.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csmilly
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villa”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this villa last week and had the perfect week. Our group consisted of 8 people ranging from 11 years to late 50s! The villa accommodated for all of us. The location is very much rural, sitting next to 2 local homes with a few horses/mules surrounding, which makes the villa super private with very little noise. The main house is so well decorated, keeping the winery elements and beautiful visible beams etc. It's nice and cool with a kitchen enough to cater for your meals. My boyfriend and I stayed in the little annex room by the pool which was so dreamy. We had our own space and a jacuzzi! There are two terraces which is great to swap view/enviroment and enough space for the 8 of us. The local village of Melochlori has everything you need for quiet and authentic local nights, however, for more buzz and bars then its a 15 minute bus ride to Fira. The hosts had a very helpful and charming team who really looked after us from airport pick to the minute we left. I would really recommend this villa for a family who are looking for a relaxed private location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire villa
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing