We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull workshop and wonderfull people!”
Review of Elleni's Workshop

Elleni's Workshop
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Eftalou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Ellenis workshop. Olive wood crafts. Our workshop, home and small store are located in a tranquil olive grove just outside the town of Molyvos in a place called Eftalou. Call in and visit, enjoy the garden, have a cuppa, watch the artist at work, shop, or just relax.
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My boyfriend and I have been here a few times in the two weeks we were at Lesvos. I've done two workshops (view the pics!) and both were great! I've made my own disign out of olive wood and I've learned a lot about how to work with wood and tools!! But it's not just that, the owners of the workshop are very friendly and hospitable! When you are in Molivos or Eftalou, go there to see the (work)shop, and if you're not nearby; it's definately worth a detour!

1  Thank jantien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the main road"
in 2 reviews
"olive wood"
in 5 reviews
"eric"
in 11 reviews
"workshop"
in 7 reviews
"lesvos"
in 6 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We came to Lesvos in 2011 for the first time and visited the shop several times. We were so excited about Lesvos and especially Molivos & Eftalou that we decided to come back last year in July 2012.
Eric, Philippa & Elleni are such nice people, we felt welcome at once without feeling pushed to buy anything at all (unlike in other shops we visited). We ended up buying necklaces, combs and other small things, most of them for ourselves but also as a gift for our nieces and sister, and none of them were disappointed as they felt they got a unique gift (everything is handmade and even custommade if you want to).
I am stll wearing the first necklace I bought in July 2011, the wooden comb is part of my daily routine.
We are so sorry we cannot go to Lesvos this year, but we recommend anyone who can to SURELY visit Elleni's shop, you will not be disappointed.

1  Thank IngridHallaarBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Why shop in a boring shop when you can visit the workshop, see products being made and buy them directly from such friendly and talented hosts?

We've loved every item we've got from Elleni's workshop, and now they are located at Eftalou it's even better as you can while away some time in the peace of their gardens before selecting your purchase. Eftalou itself is simple and really pretty and only a short hop from Molyvos. It's nice to be somewhere flat for a change, and the beach is far more peaceful. So adding a trip to the workshop makes a lovely excursion - even if you don't fancy trying out the thermal baths!

There's a lot of choice in the shop from simple wooden buttons and bowls, to beautifully designed jewelry, to more artistic sculptures and pictures, and even lace and other woven products. The wooden products are hand designed and crafted, and so well made they last a long time.

It's not your normal run of the mill place as you get a chance to meet and get to know Eric and Philippa, which makes the products more special than buying things from the other shops in Molyvos.

We'll be back to visit Ellenis Workshop next time we're in Lesvos and are already thinking about what products we might be on the look out for when we're there.

1  Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were made very welcome as soon as we arrived at the gate , directed straight to a comfortable chair and offered refreshments.
Situated 100m or so off the main road by the last bus stop in Eftalou , the Olivewood Workshop {Elleni's Workshop} is run by Eric and Philippa Kempson , Eric is the artist while Philippa runs the shop .
Everything was done at our own leisurely pace , just as well in the temperatures we were having at the time .
A tour of the workshop and shop allowed us to see the remarkable creations Eric produces from locally sourced materials .
Amazing hand made jewelery and carved ornaments were on display everywhere and we felt under no pressure at all to buy . And we were lucky enough to be entertained by their talented teenage daughter on her guitar .
BTW , We did buy two beautifully made necklaces , but it was worth the trip just for the experience of seeing their idyllic way of life .
We will definitely be back again on our next trip to Lesvos.
Visited June 2012 .

1  Thank lekistyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elleni's Workshop also viewed

 

Been to Elleni's Workshop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing