We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Fantastic waterfront views from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic waterfront views from the living room
Amazing view Chill on the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Fantastic waterfront views from the living room
Amazing view
Chill on the balcony
Newly renovated house
Master bedroom
Lovely interior
Living room
Dining room
Brand new oversized bathroom
sunbath on the large terrace overlooking your own waterfront views
Entertain and enjoy lunch or dinner on the large terrace
Kastelli Blu
Breathtaking sunsets
Kalymnos is World famous for Rock Climbing
Crystal clear waters
Fantastic clear blue Aegean Sea
Porthia (The main Port) on Kalymnos Island
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Massouri, Kalymnos, Dodecanese, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila521
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you wish to escape the rat race, visit Kastelli Blu. Spend your evenings bathed in the rays of the sinking sun on the magnificent balcony. It was a privilege to spend our holiday in this boutique styled house. Kalymnos is a lovely little island, very Greek, very friendly, very welcoming. One tip, take plenty of books and sink into a very slow paced way of life - brilliant! Ah! unless you drive around Porthia - hold onto your hat, close your eyes and drive!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey Ma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Day at Kastelli Blu”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a perfect wedding and honeymoon we had at Kastelli Blu!We felt as though we were dreaming the entire time of our stay. From the beautifully accented decor to the panoramic views that draw you out to the balcony every morning and evening, we couldn't have asked for a more lovely place to have our wedding ceremony. My new husband and I sought out a simple yet breathtaking and serene place to hold our small wedding ceremony. After looking at several different places on the island, we chose the terrace of Kastelli Blu. It was the first wedding ceremony there, and we were honored to start a tradition of hopefully, many weddings to be had there. The homeowner, John, has become a friend through the process of planning our wedding. He helped us find a photographer, John Miniotis, and a makeup artist, Anna Chatz. He ensured that the garden and balcony were manicured to perfection for our wedding day. John also went the extra mile to help us find a minister to marry us. He went above and beyond for us, but the only regret is that we have yet to meet him in person to tell him our many thanks face to face. Liana, the property manager, was just as hospitable and wonderful as John. She met us at the airport and drove us through the villages on our way to Kastelli. She was available whenever we needed her or had a question. She came to clean the day before our wedding to make sure everything was tidy and in order. Not only did we have a memorable wedding day, we couldn't have had a better climbing trip! The house sits right under the climbing sectors, Odyssey, Olympic and Sea Breeze. You are just a 4 minute drive into town by way of scooter which is perfect for a quiet getaway but close enough to feel a part of the "city" life. Our stay at Kastelli Blu was worth every penny and it is evident in all of our wedding photos! Thank you to John and Liana and everyone who made our stay absolutely perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonle
australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing view, amazing place and close to climbing crags!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All I can say is WOW.

My partner and I stayed here for about 10days and were here to climb. The location of Kastelli Blu is absolutely ideal as you can see the crag from the house, close drive to other crags- and a very short drive to Massouri the closest town. Adding to that, the place is amazing! I cannot rave enough about the detail of the house, and John and Liana! Oh my gosh, the hospitality was beyond what I had expected.

When arriving into Kalymnos (we took a plane from Athens to Kaylmnos - its propellor plane too!) , we were greeted by Johns friend who took us to his car shop while we organised a rent car and waited for John. John made us feel at ease straight away! He insisted on taking us to the grocery market to purchase supplies while he waited in his car for us, and then drove us to places he recommended for food! If you are hungry and love a great Greek meal, then head to IL Posto, my partner and I ate there EVERY NIGHT! Staff were so lovely too! It seems to be a trait on the island where everyone is so friendly. Oh and we even came back one evening to some baklava, bread and fruit. Could it get any better?
Do yourself a favour and ask John where this baklava place is. I haven't been able to find baklava that is even close to what I had in Greece. I'm not kidding.

Know, let me talk about the house. WOW. The views were just WOW. The interior design of the place was incredible. Everything so detailed. I loved the white and blue colours scheme, and L'occitane products in the bathroom? Talk about spoiling us John and Liana! More so, as a climber there was a Petzl harness bag reused to store the extra toilet papers - i found that to be really cute :) Lets add in the speakers where you can plug up your music, wifi to play some spotify, and all the utensils needed in the kitchen! (even some Jamie Oliver cutlery!) Oh, and you can wash your clothes in the washing machine and a clothes hanger and pegs all provided!

Only downside, if you plan on going climbing in March - its cold. House is cold. But that is all! Put on some thermals and you'll be okay. Even in the freezing weather, my partner and I still had all the doors open so we could watch the sun rise and listen to the sound of the waves. Also you get a lot of visits from the goats.

If you are going to Kalymnos to climb and want to go home to a nice comfy place, then book here. John and Liana will look after you. Although we didn't meet Liana, she did leave us a 'hello' note on a piece of paper for us. I think small things like this from both John and Liana made Kastelli Blu such a wonderful place.

I will be back for sure!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thanks so much for your review Jackie - you were wonderful guests and left the house in perfect nick. Appreciate your comments regarding the cold. We had one of the coldest and wettest winter's on record for the island and being right on the water certainly would have amplified it. We will add more heating to the main room for this coming winter in addition to the air con and exiting heater to ensure that our guests enjoy a warm and toasty home. Looking forward to welcoming you both again! Thanks again for the valuable feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyM260
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little haven of luxury and escapism”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We wanted to thank you so much for all that you did in making our week in Kalymnos, a wonderfully enjoyable one. No hitches, everything was as it had been stated, everyone was where they said they would be, what more could you ask for. Oh yes, the view from Kastelli Bleu! Sitting on the magnificent veranda on wonderful blue and white striped beach towels on comfortable rattan chairs could not have been rivalled elsewhere. The villa is wonderfully situated, in fact spectacularly situated, for one of the best views of the sunset as it is located just past Talendos island (you miss the best part of the sunset from the village). The villa has a fabulous waterfront situation with a path down to the rocks and waters edge for a dip in the Aegean.

We adored the villa – a little haven of luxury and escapism. It had a boutique feel, so well furnished, yet simple and so comfortable. Never been we been to such a hideaway where, apart from a refresh of clothes, we needn’t have brought anything else with us! Wow! WiFi was available, all sorts of toiletries were already in situ, plus ‘the most’ adorable local baklava from the best bakery on the island welcomed us upon our arrival coupled with a bottle of local and very palatable wine. Maps of the island plus immensely detailed and informative guidebooks are on the table – we took most of your suggestions and were not disappointed by any of them. And the suggested walks were amazing. A docking station too, plus coffee making facilities and air conditioning if you really want to spoil the fact that you are in a hot place! It’s wonderfully secluded and an ideal place to rest, so if you are looking for ready made party life on your doorstep, this is not the place for you! The peace is interrupted daily by the bells attached to the local goats, a small sacrifice..

Hiring a car was a fabulous idea, we roamed all over the island and went back to our favourite beach a couple of times, which was Emporio, up north. And simply adored Palionissos for lunch and swim. There are so many lovely places, everywhere had a view and gasp effect.

We were very sad to leave ‘our house’ and move to the apartments up the road (due to availability), but these were good recommendations by John. Kastelli Blu most definitely exceeded our expectations. A return visit is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling like it was my own place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra64
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A Little Jewel”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed there late March early April and we loved every minute. It is very close to some climbing sectors and close enough to town to get all the groceries you need yet far enough away to feel secluded and private.
The house is a charming well equipped space and the views from the balcony are superb.
John was a great host and we can't wait to get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing