We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
559
279
96
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
279
96
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardsea viewall inclusive dealindoor poolceiling fanmain buildinglovely hotelsmall villagestaff on receptionsaladshower roomsister hotelmeal timesfree sunbedsfree of chargebuffet stylefresh orange juice
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited last August and I’ve been meaning to leave a review as it was an incredible experience! The staff at reception, the bar staff and the chefs were amazing. The food, the entertainment during the day and quality of alcohol - tip top. Beach and pool loungers available, comfortable and modern CLEAN rooms. Amazing value for money and a beautiful traditional village. I compare it to a holiday I went on in December which cost much more....such great value for money, the staff made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks for an amazing holiday and precious memories! We’ll be coming back!!!

Stayed: January 2018
10  Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank-you for your lovely review and all your positive comments on how you enjoyed your stay with us including your comments on the cleanliness of our rooms, staff, and value for money. We thank-you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in 2018!

The Team at Kalyves Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Very nice service, especially of the reception team. Variety of tasty food being served over all days. Very clean rooms. We rate our 10 days stay to be of an excellent quality. Greetings for very nice and helpful waitress, Ms Józefa. We would love to visit you again. Stanisława i Ryszard Frączkowie, Poland

PS. Great gin & tonic drinks at beach bar. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank ryszardfraczek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank-you for your lovely review and all your positive comments on how you enjoyed your stay with us including your comments on our reception team and waitresses. We thank-you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in 2018!

The Team at Kalyves Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Lovely location right on the beach. Nice town to walk around. Room very clean comfortable bed. However shower did not drain away properly so we were paddling a lot of the time in the bathroom. Balconies very close best ones for sun hotel reception side .Staff all very nice especially the entertainment lady who was excellent wth the children and worked a long day always smiling.Ditto the bar staff.
Meals were a bit samey and lukewarm also there wasn't a big selection of free drinks. Entertainment most nights. Plenty of sun loungers. Would stay again but probably on a bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Main hotel sea view
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank-you for your lovely review and all your positive comments on how you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank-you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

The Team at Kalyves Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I have recently returned with my husband from a sunny warm and relaxing week at the Kayves Beach Hotel.
On arrival quite late in the evening we were initially concerned at the sizeof the room and with the very small shower facilities in the bathroom . My husband has mobility problems and it would have been very uncomfortable for the weeks stay. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable however , THe following morning we asked Penelope at Reception whether we could change rooms . Within the hour we were given a splendid room with a sea view and a spacious bathroom. It was very quiet and restful. The pleasant and efficient service from Penelope was exemplary and during the week all the staff we encountered were helpful and kind. Special mentions here for Angela and Kiki (who serves a great gin and tonic), their cheerful humour being much enjoyed! The ever hard working Penelope keeps the hotel ticking over 24/7 !
There is a lovely safe beach for children and as a relatively small hotel it offers some entertainment .
One area that could be improved however would be the hot food not being hot enough and only one toaster! The salads were pretty good.
All together we had a good week in warm weather. We were able to relax in the knowledge that guests were indeed the priority for Kalyves Beach Hotel. Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MandM266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank-you for your lovely review and all your positive comments on how you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to read you found our rooms to small and have also taken your suggestions into consideration. We thank-you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

The Team at Kalyves Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

The location, the breakfast, the beds and the wi-fi is the good parts. The food is so bad that I can't describe it! Cold, absolutly nothing cooked fresh and the meatballs and the likes was RAW inside! Don't bother about their so called VIP Inclusive, it's a scam! We payed for it but got almost nothing of the extra, the same as everybody, no extra in the roomnand when I asked for a bottle of wine instead of the tap is was so difficult!

Room Tip: Avoid the so called river with the ducks, theyvcan awake the dead!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalyvesBeach, General Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank-you for your review and your positive comments regarding our location, breakfast and beds. However we are very sorry to hear that you found your experience regarding our buffet be overall disappointing. We sincerely wished that upon your stay you would have voiced some of your concerns to us so that we could have improved your stay. We have taken all your comments into consideration about our buffet and would like to inform you that we will be changing chefs next season.

We thank-you for staying with us and sincerely hope to meet all your expectations perhaps on a future visit to Chania. We wish you well on your travels.

The Team at Kalyves Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews