We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Difficult to tear yourself away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Angeliki's House

Terace views in March
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terace views in March
Arriving at Angeliki's house. Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Terace views in March
Arriving at Angeliki's house.
Double bedroom
Sunbathing
Seating
Cooking
VillageTaverna TaAptera, Listed in 'The Rough Guide',traditional homemade Greek food fresh
Village Taverna Cretan Corner with stunning terrace views.
Kalives beach
Chania Harbour
Chania Old Town
Aptera ruins
Almyrida beach
Walking
Wildlife
Chania market hall
Angeliki's House.
Crete Map
Chania habour cafe.
Quaint villages with picturesque views.
Angeliki - views from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
miatheo
Horncastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Difficult to tear yourself away”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I have not left a review on trip advisor before, but having read the one left last year I felt it was necessary to put a few things straight.
We have stayed at Angeliki’s on several occasions the last time being at the end of September which must have been immediately following the previous reviewer. We are also already booked to go back again this Sept/Oct.
Angeliki’s is an old village house which has been renovated extremely well whilst keeping a lot of its original charm. It is in a very beautiful and peaceful location and has everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable holiday. Yes the living room is small, but we have never spent much time in there, because we spend all our waking hours outside on the most amazing terrace. It has lovely shade from a huge Carob tree, but also plenty of space to lounge in the sun if you want. The views are incredible, overlooking acres of farmland and olive groves towards the majestic White Mountains, with very few buildings in sight. In the evening you can star gaze whilst listening to the wildlife. It is absolutely magical and we find it very difficult to tear ourselves away day or night.
Angeliki’s is set down a small dead-end track just outside the village with only one house a bit further along. When in the house, or sitting on the terrace you are not even aware it is there. The very friendly neighbours only pass by a couple of times a day (a friendly greeting will get you some lovely fresh eggs) and yes the lady of the house comes home late as she owns a bar on the far side of the village. The only other vehicles, which turn off before the house’s entrance, belong to a handful of farmers who go and feed their livestock or water their crops nearby.
Maria always keeps the place extremely clean and bravo to her for recycling the carrier bags!
The local kafenion is great for a drink, and the village tavernas serve incredible food. We also like the tavernas in Stylos the next village inland. The local village shop has all your daily needs and there is a huge supermarket in Kalyves.
Although we always travel independently we have friends who regularly travel with Pure Crete and cannot recommend them highly enough. The very friendly ladies in the office were also extremely helpful to us when we had an emergency at home last year.
We have always had a lovely holiday at Angeliki’s and judging by the visitors’ book we are not alone.
Roll on September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the amazing terrace and friendly locals
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frank_kir...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Distinctly average house; tired furnishings; indifferent location”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a fortnight in September 2014, travelling with Pure Crete. This is a very small house, really suitable only for two people, the windows of whose main bedroom fronts onto a lane which carries a surprising amount of traffic. The house is overlooked by a two-storey farmhouse whose owners have many callers who arrive, depart and park below the same windows, frequently in the small hours of the night. The 'sitting area' is a corridor between the kitchen, the bedroom and the bathroom, whose only natural light comes from a tiny window. The cooker in the kitchen is on a raised plinth set into the old hearth making even boiling a egg challenging. The mattress in the main bedroom turned out to be disgustingly stained when we stripped the bed on departure. There is a weekly cleaner but she is not provided with any bags for either domestic or toilet waste and so reuses the client's old shopping bags. The outdoor furniture consists of four plastic chairs, two of which were cracked, a table, and two very tired sun-loungers. Though most of the windows have anti-mosquito netting the house is almost impossible to cool down because of the noise of folk coming and going - and a request for a broken fan to be replaced was met with 'do you really need two fans?'. The lane to the village of Aptera is the usual Greek scene of building rubble, broken fences and unfinished/derelict houses. Definitely not unspoilt Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decent tavernas in Aptera, the nearby village
Liked least: This is not a property in which to spend quality time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
“Thank you for your comments. We’re so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your holiday. The property is marketed as suitable for 2 Adults and 2 Children with a large master bedroom with king sized bed (we were unaware that the mattress was soiled, it has now been industrially cleaned April 2015), an interconnecting door leads to a generous twin bedded room. The living accommodation is compact, however, with the extensive terrace with dining table and chairs (new for 2015 and not plastic) together with sun loungers I believe there is more than ample inside and outside space.
With respect to the ‘surprising amount of traffic’ and noise, this can be attributed to the owner next door having his Name Day party during the week that you were visiting, so it was noisy until late on the day, as he was celebrating in traditional Cretan style. It was family and friends attending the Name Day Celebration and is a once a year occurrence. The house is in a very quiet location.
I would dispute the suggestion that the property was dirty, our maid is conscientious, and does an excellent job.
The cooker has been relocated to a more suitable position for 2015.
The house is of traditional stone (18” thick walls) and is kept cool by keeping the shutters closed during the heat of the day, there is a large ceiling fan in the master bedroom plus two additional floor standing fans. I understand the request for a replacement for a broken fan was dealt with extremely quickly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing