We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST TAVERNA IN THE AREA”

Taverna Kastro Mesi
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Mesi
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 30
Description: The menu of Tavern «KASTRO» is based on the traditional Cretan cuisine and quality. We use local products and always fresh. With years of experience and our knowledge we create a combination of flavors for your satisfaction. Relax drinking our local wine, raki or other. Enjoy too hospitality of Tavern «KASTRO».
Restaurant details
Description: The menu of Tavern «KASTRO» is based on the traditional Cretan cuisine and quality. We use local products and always fresh. With years of experience and our knowledge we create a combination of flavors for your satisfaction. Relax drinking our local wine, raki or other. Enjoy too hospitality of Tavern «KASTRO».
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gorgeous view, really good food and a very friendly Ukrainean lady who help us navigate thru menu and provide more information about place history. I recommend local wine. Price are very affordable, Overall it was a perfect service.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiSolti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be one of the best Taverna’s in the area. If you are looking for high quality, fresh & delicious food then head here. It’s a far cry from the dismal array of restaurants adjacent to the beach. Here you can sample the local dishes. I recommend the sharing plates, “mezze” as you can order a few and share. The portions are very big. The host is warm and friendly and happy to make suggestions.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank DrM14317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2020

Had dinner there with our local friends who also recommended this taverna - not surprisingly. The view is magnificent, and the hosts are very welcoming and hospitable. There is a wide range of food, but it is always best to ask for daily recommendations as these will get you the best of the best. Combine it with typical local wine, and there is nothing left to be desired. Da capo in September '20.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

We had dinner at this Taverna two nights ago. When we arrived, we thought we were the only patrons until we espied another couple in a corner. We were completely charmed by the austere al fresco dining room overlooking the nearby hills and, in the distance, the Sea of Crete and Réthymno. The Greek music was playing and we were hungry!

Our server told us what was, and what was not, available so we ordered from the availables. The pork steak, Loukaniko, fried potatoes and fava. The fava was the very best we had ever had. The pork chop was delicious and the fried potatoes, well, it's Crete, so you always expect them to be delicious.

We greatly enjoyed our dinner and especially the serenity of the courtyard, low lighting and Greek music. All these components truly made our dinner quite magical and memorable.

I would highly recommend Kastro Mesi as a place to be savored and remembered!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2019 via mobile

Great food, nice setting, good service, good value (especially as the euro/pound exchange is very bad at the moment). Wide variety of food to suit all tastes. There is a children’s menu as well. Great raki which they make themselves, the lemon is particularly nice (yes really!)
We went two nights on the trot it was so nice and even though they were booked up on the second night, they squeezed us in.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sparklyunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna Kastro Mesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.