We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October visit - just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Furnas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Our visit to Sao Miguel and the Funas Boutique Hotel was amazing. The island itself is so incredibly beautiful. I was hesitant to be so far from Ponta Delgada, but when we arrived at Funas I knew we had made the perfect choice! The staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating! They even took my trekking poles to their maintenance folks to fix them for me when they wouldn't collapse to fit in my bag when we were leaving!

The beds are very comfortable (a memory foam topper would complete them, tho - I'm just spoiled at home ;). The room and the amenities were great - bottled water (as much as you want) and a couple of local beverages were always in the little mini refrigerator and restocked each day or when requested. The shower is awesome, too! Loved our room. We had a room on the first floor just off the lobby. The beauty of this room was that you could open the door to the courtyard behind the hotel, which was surrounded by a big white wall, allowing fresh air in and absolutely no one was ever in the courtyard, so very private even with the door open (room 103).

The spa was amazing - the pools, the steam room and sauna were so welcome after a day of sightseeing and hiking. Can't say enough good about this area!

Breakfast! What can I say? It was simply amazing each and every morning. Everything and anything you could want. My favorite thing was the HOT cream they brought for the excellent coffee. I want to go there right now and eat!! ;)

Dinners were also exceptional. We ate 4 of the 6 nights we were there and the one and only disappointment was the sweet potato soup (absolutely flavorless). Everything else we ordered was truly exceptional, including the wonderful local wines.

I would go back here in a heartbeat and highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear SueC3

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay;
I truly appreciate your thoughtful and considerate review which I have shared with all our colleagues, who are delighted you took away such positive impressions of your sojourn.
We are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful team who are passionate about extending warm, courteous and professional service to all our guests and who clearly made the difference to your enjoyment of the hotel. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home on many more occasions.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

This hotel is gorgeous well presented modern hotel. Easy to access and a good location for the small town of Furnas. The room was clean and modern however the air-con would make random noises throughout the day, whether it was just our room i'm not sure.

The spa facilities was excellent and indulgent! Going into the natural hot pools at night were amazing with strong jets to relax your back.

The outdoor thermal pool was fantastic especially to look at the stars. The Sauna and steam room were very good too.

Breakfast was lovely selection of foods with a big strive on locally produced products, however there were a lot of flies around which you would have to keep moving. I think this could be improved with either having tops for the plates or fans to try and keep them off.

Dinner in the restaurant was good, our first night was excellent however the second wasn't as good. I think they try to make it sound excellent but too many flavors together that didn't work for a couple of the puddings. (So venture out into one of the local restaurants! "Restaurante Bar Caldeiras e Vulcões" HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!)

Would definitely stay in this hotel again have left feeling wonderfully relaxed!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amypond111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear amypond111

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stopped in Sao Miguel on our way to and from Barcelona. Our first stop we wanted to explore the Western side of the island so we stayed in Ponta Delgada (Hotel Talisman). On the way back, we wanted to be in Furnas and we were extremely happy with Furnas Boutique. A hotel like this in the states would have been $500-$600 a night, so it was a fabulous bargain. Everything was great; nice room (I think they only have one suite in the hotel and that was booked, otherwise we would have booked it), fantastic breakfast (homemade Portuguese muffins!), the pool area was amazing, staff was helpful, it was nice to be able to walk into town and we had two dinners which were also excellent. They even have turn down service with cookies!

The only thing that could be faulted was the little black flies that kept landing on the breakfast buffet, but they explain in a handout in the room that we are in the rain forest, so bugs are part of it. Ah well. It wouldn't keep us from going back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear plasma40

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay;
I truly appreciate your thoughtful and considerate review which I have shared with all our colleagues, who are delighted you took away such positive impressions of your sojourn.
We are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful team who are passionate about extending warm, courteous and professional service to all our guests and who clearly made the difference to your enjoyment of the hotel. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home on many more occasions.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We had a great stay at this boutique hotel. The room was comfy and we slept well every night. The bed was really comfortable and the staff that did the housekeeping were very attentive. The free daily cookies and soft drinks were a bonus. Breakfast was amazing - so many different choices and delicious things to try. The only issue was the coffee that was not great. The spa facilities were top notch - different thermal pools and various steam and sauna type rooms. Would recommend this hotel for an indulgent relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zippit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear zippit85

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I were looking for a destination that was a bit different and I came across the Azores in my research - the more we read, the more interested we became. So once we'd decide on the destination we started looking at hotels and kept being drawn back to the Furnas Boutique Hotel, so we eventually booked it - and are so glad we did!

We arrived in Furnas (about a 45 minute drive from Ponta Delgada) in the early hours of the morning and the place was shrouded in steam. Caused I think by the climate and the many steaming fumeroles and hot springs, which is interesting by day, but quite eerie and magical by night!

The hotel was easy to find and we were greeted by a very friendly night receptionist and directed to our room. We were pretty tired after travelling all day and collapsed into a huge and very comfy bed.

Breakfast is served until 1030 or whenever beyond that if you want to get up late and is delicious, served in a modern restaurant within and a large outside covered space. All the waiting staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

After a fab breakfast we went off to explore the spa facilities - there is a large indoor hot thermal pool with 2 adjacent smaller pools - one much hotter and one cooler. There is a slightly smaller one outside, and both surrounded by comfy loungers. There is also a steam room, sauna, gym and spa offering treatments - so combined with plenty towels, robes and slippers we were set for lots of relaxation!

We based ourselves in Furnas and spent 10 days at the hotel, we explored the whole island during our stay and were very glad to be able to come back to the boutique hotel after a day of exploring.

The restaurant was great and we ended up eating there many times, sampling everything from the fantastic pizzas to the ribeye steak for 2 (which was enormous & very tasty!)

The Azores was a truly fantastic destination, offering many many different experiences and the Furnas Boutique Hotel was the perfect place to stay - we both loved it!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Lynne M

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furnas
0.9 km away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
31.3 km away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
379 reviews
28.3 km away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#7 of 41 in Sao Miguel
427 reviews
32.6 km away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
720 reviews
15.9 km away
Pestana Bahia Praia
Pestana Bahia Praia
#1 of 2 in Vila Franca do Campo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnas Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida Doutor Manuel de Arriaga s/n, Furnas, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9675-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao > Furnas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Furnas
Price Range: ₹ 7,280 - ₹ 15,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnas Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnas Boutique Hotel is located in Furnas, Sao Miguel Island, Azores, a place of breathtaking beauty where one finds the largest concentration of thermal waters in Europe. The perfect spot to unwind, leave the stress behind and connect to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Furnas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing