We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
465
161
47
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
161
47
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal pools spa facilities sao miguel steam room outdoor pool turkish bath brownie local produce hot springs coffee maker relaxing stay beautiful hotel beautiful island every evening terra restaurant mini fridge breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This hotel is gorgeous well presented modern hotel. Easy to access and a good location for the small town of Furnas. The room was clean and modern however the air-con would make random noises throughout the day, whether it was just our room i'm not sure.

The spa facilities was excellent and indulgent! Going into the natural hot pools at night were amazing with strong jets to relax your back.

The outdoor thermal pool was fantastic especially to look at the stars. The Sauna and steam room were very good too.

Breakfast was lovely selection of foods with a big strive on locally produced products, however there were a lot of flies around which you would have to keep moving. I think this could be improved with either having tops for the plates or fans to try and keep them off.

Dinner in the restaurant was good, our first night was excellent however the second wasn't as good. I think they try to make it sound excellent but too many flavors together that didn't work for a couple of the puddings. (So venture out into one of the local restaurants! "Restaurante Bar Caldeiras e Vulcões" HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!)

Would definitely stay in this hotel again have left feeling wonderfully relaxed!!!!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amypond111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear amypond111

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stopped in Sao Miguel on our way to and from Barcelona. Our first stop we wanted to explore the Western side of the island so we stayed in Ponta Delgada (Hotel Talisman). On the way back, we wanted to be in Furnas and we were extremely happy with Furnas Boutique. A hotel like this in the states would have been $500-$600 a night, so it was a fabulous bargain. Everything was great; nice room (I think they only have one suite in the hotel and that was booked, otherwise we would have booked it), fantastic breakfast (homemade Portuguese muffins!), the pool area was amazing, staff was helpful, it was nice to be able to walk into town and we had two dinners which were also excellent. They even have turn down service with cookies!

The only thing that could be faulted was the little black flies that kept landing on the breakfast buffet, but they explain in a handout in the room that we are in the rain forest, so bugs are part of it. Ah well. It wouldn't keep us from going back.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear plasma40

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay;
I truly appreciate your thoughtful and considerate review which I have shared with all our colleagues, who are delighted you took away such positive impressions of your sojourn.
We are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful team who are passionate about extending warm, courteous and professional service to all our guests and who clearly made the difference to your enjoyment of the hotel. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home on many more occasions.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We had a great stay at this boutique hotel. The room was comfy and we slept well every night. The bed was really comfortable and the staff that did the housekeeping were very attentive. The free daily cookies and soft drinks were a bonus. Breakfast was amazing - so many different choices and delicious things to try. The only issue was the coffee that was not great. The spa facilities were top notch - different thermal pools and various steam and sauna type rooms. Would recommend this hotel for an indulgent relaxing stay.

Room tip: Ground floor room was nice and quiet
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zippit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear zippit85

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I were looking for a destination that was a bit different and I came across the Azores in my research - the more we read, the more interested we became. So once we'd decide on the destination we started looking at hotels and kept being drawn back to the Furnas Boutique Hotel, so we eventually booked it - and are so glad we did!

We arrived in Furnas (about a 45 minute drive from Ponta Delgada) in the early hours of the morning and the place was shrouded in steam. Caused I think by the climate and the many steaming fumeroles and hot springs, which is interesting by day, but quite eerie and magical by night!

The hotel was easy to find and we were greeted by a very friendly night receptionist and directed to our room. We were pretty tired after travelling all day and collapsed into a huge and very comfy bed.

Breakfast is served until 1030 or whenever beyond that if you want to get up late and is delicious, served in a modern restaurant within and a large outside covered space. All the waiting staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

After a fab breakfast we went off to explore the spa facilities - there is a large indoor hot thermal pool with 2 adjacent smaller pools - one much hotter and one cooler. There is a slightly smaller one outside, and both surrounded by comfy loungers. There is also a steam room, sauna, gym and spa offering treatments - so combined with plenty towels, robes and slippers we were set for lots of relaxation!

We based ourselves in Furnas and spent 10 days at the hotel, we explored the whole island during our stay and were very glad to be able to come back to the boutique hotel after a day of exploring.

The restaurant was great and we ended up eating there many times, sampling everything from the fantastic pizzas to the ribeye steak for 2 (which was enormous & very tasty!)

The Azores was a truly fantastic destination, offering many many different experiences and the Furnas Boutique Hotel was the perfect place to stay - we both loved it!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynners67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Lynne M

Thank you for your charming review, I have shared your thoughtful comments with the entire team who are delighted you enjoyed your recent sojourn and look forward to welcoming you back to Furnas Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Stayed 10 nights at Furnas Boutique Hotel early September and were delighted by both hotel and restaurant - the latter is so popular with residents and non-residents alike that it was necessary to book every night. All staff are kind, flexible as regards menu items and totally committed and professional. So different to many four or five star establishments where, unlike the hotels themselves only offer bland, over-priced cosmopolitan food in their own restaurants. Indeed, Furnas village does have several excellent restaurants notwithstanding that the Boutique Hotel's own one is up there with the rest of them. Indeed, this hotel is delightfully low-key and aesthetically furnished and an excellent spa in its own right, whilst in the restaurant the fare offered is locally sourced, true Azores cooking and completely imaginative.
Every member of the team across all departments were extremely kind and helpful, particularly Elizabeth and her front-of-house team and Rafaela and every member of dining room staff. Furnas is a beautifully appointed small inland spa town with many attractive springs, waterfalls and traditional street lighting and charming buildings.
Top Marks !!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cattermole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseTomazMBreyner, Gerente geral at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear cattermole



Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay;
I truly appreciate your thoughtful and considerate review which I have shared with all our colleagues, who are delighted you took away such positive impressions of your sojourn.
We are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful team who are passionate about extending warm, courteous and professional service to all our guests and who clearly made the difference to your enjoyment of the hotel. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home on many more occasions.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews