We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,648)
Filter reviews
2,648 results
Traveller rating
1,192
968
339
91
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,192
968
339
91
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf buggy the grill animation team block ab the main complex free bus thomas cook basic room smaller pool french guests kids club alternate days crisps bar staff portuguese restaurant great holiday superior room
Filter
Updating list...
1,083 - 1,088 of 2,648 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I booked a late minute holiday for my mum and I as joint birthday treats, it was our first package holiday and it was not bad at all!

This hotel is very clean, the staff were friendly especially the guys whizzing around on the little golf buggies. Our room was clean and spacious and the shower wasn't bad. However if you want a shower in the morning or just before dinner, the water is very low. I think it is justified as probably most people have a shower at those times. We showered late morning and late evening and the water pressure was not a problem.

There are 3 restaurants to choose from, our favourites was the Portugese restaurant and the main restaurant. The other Grill restaurant I did not think it was the food was that good. The grilled meats and fish were rather dry, especially the chicken pieces. We had this in the first evening and regretted it. So we kind of ate in the Portugese restaurant later instead. By the way, the Portugese tarts are really nice!

One thing really disappoint us was on the last day, our all inclusive deal did not include lunch. We checked out around 1pm and then asked about lunch and was told to pay 20 euros for it. We did not bother at the end. So be aware of this catch if you have all inclusive!

The hotel had a daily coach into Albuferia. We took it to go to the old town. The old town was very nice for shopping, seeing the architecture and the beach. Highly recommended!

Overall it was a nice resort to go to especially for a relaxing break but the place is great for families too. When we went, there were very few families there but it was nice to see families around enjoying themselves.

Room tip: Choose a room on higher floors.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

we spent a week at this hotel and although not too bad there are some points as others have mentioned that make it not a 4* all inclusive.
Towels are charged at 5 euros each for week plus deposit. 1 bottle of water left in room on first day only if more water is required you have to take the bottle which is left on dinner tables although there are water dispensers around which you can fill bottles. If you ask for a bottle of water at bar you will be charged also if you ask for coffee at the bar you will be charged.You have to go to the bar for own drinks as no waiters.
Food is plentiful and not too bad although never very hot. You can serve yourself beer, wine and soft drinks at mealtimes.
Rooms are large and basic but we feel should have tea/coffee making facilities.
Pool great but cool although ok once you have been in a while. Sunbeds plenty although we did go September so not many children. Hotel not near any shops so if you ike to look round you can get the free shuttle to the old town Albufeira which is very nice or Villamoura can be reached by walking along the beach which takes about 30 minutes walking at a good pace.
Bar stops at 11pm although this did not bother us, entertainment staff do a good job and put on a show which was quite funny. We found not problems with any of the staff although I read some people did. All in all this is not a bad hotel just not for us and I did hear someone say they thought it was good and they would go back. We have stayed in other all inclusive hotels better than this one but that is just our opinion. It is extremely clean but the beds certainly need replacing as thay are so hard and you can feel the springs.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank y0rkshirechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

nice hotel with spacious grounds very clean but at the same time quite basic. the rooms are spacious but again basic the main problem was the very hard mattress which meant that sleep was a problem. the main problem for us at this hotel was the food which was very limited in choice and very low in quality. you will not go hungry but you will not get very exited about it. reception staff very friendly and helpful other staff mainly ok in particular the female staff. this hotel is alright for a few days break but not good enough in our opinion for a two week break. we will return to this area but at a better hotel. we feel that this is a three star hotel not four star.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank johnandsuemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed for 7 nights and it was lovely. Very clean, amazing amount of land and right near the beach. Everyone was friendly and the food was good, not amazing but good and lots of choice. Just be aware of the steep steps down to the beach. The resort is in a good location to go to other local towns/ villages too. Good choice of pools (although a little cold for wimpy husbands) and activites for all. Would definately go back, kids had a really good time.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMW2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I read the reviews on this hotel first and thought it sounded nice, a few bad reviews but nothing to suggest any reason to worry. How wrong.

My husband our 4month old baby and I booked for a week in the 1st week of sept, we are not hard to please and have travelled through europe but we thought this hotel was one of the worst we have ever been to. We dont complain often and can understand problems etc but this hotel is horrible. I would think twice before booking.

Rooms: we got put in the aquamarina side outside of the complex which was a little far away and was accessed via steps and a locked gate only accesable with the room card, this made for dificulties with a baby. The rooms were quite small but 3 star standard. Fridge in rooms but not stocked as part of the all inclusive not even with water.

Food: This was the worse part, breakfast was the usually offering but they didnt offer fresh baked pasteries or buns. and the freshly made pancakes were not cooked.
Lunch was the same as dinner so you had to pick carefuly otherwise you ended up having the same meal twice. If you like fish and veal you will be fine but they didnt do other meats and the varriation on the fish and veal was poor. Salad was tastless, pasta was horrible and only consisted of cheap bolognase. The only ok food was the chips which most people had a full plate of. There was little to nothing for children. deserts we good with a choice of fruit, cakes and ice cream.
Service in the restraunts was none existant. i would expect a 4 start hotel to offer a drinks service at the evening meal but this was not the case. most of the time by the end of our meal the table had all of our plates staked up.

Complex: It was kept clean but we felt it catered more of the Portugues guests on the whole.

Location: this hotel is far out as described but make sure you are aware how far out, we didnt mind as we had a baby so weren't planning on going far but if you like a walk in the day to shops etc its basiclly on a farm, lovely views but nothing else.

on the whole we feel this hotel should be rated a 3 star at the most and needs to improve on the food quality and variation in the restaurant. Rooms require updating and modernisation and more thought given to the rooms in which guests are allocated.

There are better hotels to pick in our opinion and we will not be recommending or visiting again

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teves32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews