We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clube Maria Luisa(Olhos de Agua)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falesia Garden by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$ 185
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel(Olhos de Agua)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$ 261
US$ 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$ 201
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agua Marinha(Olhos de Agua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas d'Agua(Olhos de Agua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,380)
Filter reviews
2,380 results
Traveller rating
1,203
861
249
49
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,203
861
249
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantswim up barentertainment teammain restaurantthe grillself serviceasian nightwelcome meetingbar staffevening entertainmentbehind the scenesgreat holidayquiet poolfree safeplenty of choicewelcome drinksoft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 2,380 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Spent a week here in October, our second visit. The rooms have been updated, our room had a pool view, was large and airy and kept impeccably clean throughout our stay. Food was as expected in an All Inclusive resort, somewhat samey, but always something to eat. Drinks were perfectly acceptable, never had to wait too long to be served. The evening entertainment was not our cup of lea, so spent most evenings in one of the bars in town, about a 5 minute walk away, which had live music, lovely to just sit and watch the world go by. Never saw an unwelcoming, unsmiling or unhappy face in the hotel all week, the staff are a credit to the Hotel. Would probably return, but earlier in the season.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Chaz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Sold as being an exclusive resort, this 4* was terrible and been in better 3* resorts.

If you paid £300 for a week, yes great value for money, you get what you bought. Anymore more than that and its robbery.

Food- all cooked from frozen (confirmed this with staff)
Alcohol-. Besides the super-bock the concoction of cheap alcohol provided was terrible
Sunbeds- Some issues never go away (couldnt get any)

The problem with this place is that it goes for the mass produced product, try to fill up all rooms at the expense of the customer experience, if you dont mind waiting for dinner, or eating poor quality food, drinks thats ok, and if I paid a low enough amount, I dont mind. But for the image that you are sold, and for the cost. It is definitely not worth it.

oh and quote unquote " we dont vaccum the floors of the rooms because there is no carpet in them"

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We are sorry to learn that you left our resort thinking otherwise. We have sent your comments to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days on the 5th October. Reading negative comments on here really put me off !! Wish I hadn’t bothered reading them . This hotel and all it’s staff and surroundings is beautiful. Absolutely spotless in every corner . Food and drink was plentiful and great . Frozen cocktails are very strong but taste great . Local beer on tap 24 / 7 I think . The entertainment are amazing they work so hard and entertaining everyone every night can’t be east . The little nightclub ( late bar ) is nothing but when you want a drink it’s good enough . My room was amazing and beautiful and great sea views . The walk down to the little beach is a incline and walking back up can be gruelling in the heat but manageable . Local bus right outside the hotel and local supermarket about 10 minute walk away . We walked to villamoura took about 3 hours along the beach 26 klm there and back . Husband got a tattoo at Popeyes . He loves it and there owner was great worth a visit if you like tattoos . Loads of trips to do and loads of car park spaces if you get a car hire . No cats or dogs in the area nothing to spoil your stay . Just a great place to go and 100% will go back .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Second time at this hotel the rooms have been refurbished to a good standard warrants 4 stars for this , the entertainment room has a nice new floor better than previous multi coloured carpet which after a few drinks made you feel a bit giddy. As for the entertainment well the Grease show was with the original soundtrack but was mimed to by the entertainment staff what is the point !!! and it was the same show two and a half years ago no originality there was also a one hour belly dancing show what a bellyful of tosh come on Riu get some decent tribute acts like the Atlantica in Kolymbia Rhodes . The food in the restaurent was very basic the same thing every lunch and dinner grilled pork , chicken and fish , pizzas were doughy and tasteless when we came to this hotel before you was greeted by the management in the restaurent who summoned the head waiter to you this didn't happen once in the week we were there not good in my opinion. The hotel is very clean the staff work very hard in everywhere department but there is no interaction from the staff they are very robotic , the weather while we was there was superb the reason we came to this hotel for the week we did was my wife's 50th birthday we mentioned it to the Thomson shop we booked with two weeks before we travelled but there wasn't a mention of it in our week in the hotel very dissappointed. Overall great location not far from Albuferia and Vilamoura but we will not be returning not until this hotel updates its entertainment and menu choices from the dark ages.

Room Tip: Room 312 was good slight sea view
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 929melvinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Riu Guarana a second time for your vacations and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the changes the hotel went through due to the refurbishment during winter 2016/17.

On the other hand, we are disappointed to hear that our nightly entertainment failed to live up to your expectations. Our team works hard to provide shows and activities that cater to a wide range of ages and nationalities. However, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments.

Regarding your wife's birthday, at RIU we seek to provide our guests with personalized service on such important dates. In these cases, we ask our guests to let our staff know and, if the situation allows it, they'll be delighted to prepare everything to make sure everyone enjoys a very special moment.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Visited this hotel from 12th to 19th October. Overall a very good hotel great pools good service in all areas.Food was of a reasonable standard but served in a very noisy enviroment just like canteen.Entertainment was a bit hit and miss,performed by the hotel animation team.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews