We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week in July and it was the best holiday I've been on yet! The hotel was fantastic with very spacious rooms and bathroom. There were 3 separate restaurants within the hotel, all of which provided lovely food with a great variety every night. The hotel also offered free bottles of water from reception which is good to know should you need it. The pool and outside areas were great and nothing negative could be said about it. There is a night club at the hotel which although was never overly busy on the nights we went, it was a good laugh nevertheless. Last of all, the animation team were out of this world!! Never come across such lovely and funny people and it is so obvious how much their hearts are in ensuring everyone there has the best holiday. In the evenings also they put on some fantastic shows and entertainment which had everyone laughing! I could 100% recommend this hotel to families and couples alike and would hope to return at some point.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a week here in October, our second visit. The rooms have been updated, our room had a pool view, was large and airy and kept impeccably clean throughout our stay. Food was as expected in an All Inclusive resort, somewhat samey, but always something to eat. Drinks were perfectly acceptable, never had to wait too long to be served. The evening entertainment was not our cup of lea, so spent most evenings in one of the bars in town, about a 5 minute walk away, which had live music, lovely to just sit and watch the world go by. Never saw an unwelcoming, unsmiling or unhappy face in the hotel all week, the staff are a credit to the Hotel. Would probably return, but earlier in the season.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chaz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sold as being an exclusive resort, this 4* was terrible and been in better 3* resorts.

If you paid £300 for a week, yes great value for money, you get what you bought. Anymore more than that and its robbery.

Food- all cooked from frozen (confirmed this with staff)
Alcohol-. Besides the super-bock the concoction of cheap alcohol provided was terrible
Sunbeds- Some issues never go away (couldnt get any)

The problem with this place is that it goes for the mass produced product, try to fill up all rooms at the expense of the customer experience, if you dont mind waiting for dinner, or eating poor quality food, drinks thats ok, and if I paid a low enough amount, I dont mind. But for the image that you are sold, and for the cost. It is definitely not worth it.

oh and quote unquote " we dont vaccum the floors of the rooms because there is no carpet in them"

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We are sorry to learn that you left our resort thinking otherwise. We have sent your comments to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days on the 5th October. Reading negative comments on here really put me off !! Wish I hadn’t bothered reading them . This hotel and all it’s staff and surroundings is beautiful. Absolutely spotless in every corner . Food and drink was plentiful and great . Frozen cocktails are very strong but taste great . Local beer on tap 24 / 7 I think . The entertainment are amazing they work so hard and entertaining everyone every night can’t be east . The little nightclub ( late bar ) is nothing but when you want a drink it’s good enough . My room was amazing and beautiful and great sea views . The walk down to the little beach is a incline and walking back up can be gruelling in the heat but manageable . Local bus right outside the hotel and local supermarket about 10 minute walk away . We walked to villamoura took about 3 hours along the beach 26 klm there and back . Husband got a tattoo at Popeyes . He loves it and there owner was great worth a visit if you like tattoos . Loads of trips to do and loads of car park spaces if you get a car hire . No cats or dogs in the area nothing to spoil your stay . Just a great place to go and 100% will go back .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Second time at this hotel the rooms have been refurbished to a good standard warrants 4 stars for this , the entertainment room has a nice new floor better than previous multi coloured carpet which after a few drinks made you feel a bit giddy. As for the entertainment well the Grease show was with the original soundtrack but was mimed to by the entertainment staff what is the point !!! and it was the same show two and a half years ago no originality there was also a one hour belly dancing show what a bellyful of tosh come on Riu get some decent tribute acts like the Atlantica in Kolymbia Rhodes . The food in the restaurent was very basic the same thing every lunch and dinner grilled pork , chicken and fish , pizzas were doughy and tasteless when we came to this hotel before you was greeted by the management in the restaurent who summoned the head waiter to you this didn't happen once in the week we were there not good in my opinion. The hotel is very clean the staff work very hard in everywhere department but there is no interaction from the staff they are very robotic , the weather while we was there was superb the reason we came to this hotel for the week we did was my wife's 50th birthday we mentioned it to the Thomson shop we booked with two weeks before we travelled but there wasn't a mention of it in our week in the hotel very dissappointed. Overall great location not far from Albuferia and Vilamoura but we will not be returning not until this hotel updates its entertainment and menu choices from the dark ages.

Room Tip: Room 312 was good slight sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 929melvinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Riu Guarana a second time for your vacations and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the changes the hotel went through due to the refurbishment during winter 2016/17.

On the other hand, we are disappointed to hear that our nightly entertainment failed to live up to your expectations. Our team works hard to provide shows and activities that cater to a wide range of ages and nationalities. However, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments.

Regarding your wife's birthday, at RIU we seek to provide our guests with personalized service on such important dates. In these cases, we ask our guests to let our staff know and, if the situation allows it, they'll be delighted to prepare everything to make sure everyone enjoys a very special moment.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.4 km away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
3.6 km away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
1.8 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#4 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
142 reviews
0.2 km away
TUI BLUE Falesia
TUI BLUE Falesia
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,775 reviews
0.1 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: ₹ 12,241 - ₹ 32,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing