We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, brilliant views, fascinating...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Petalutha

Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
Southerly view from villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Villa and pool
Southerly view from villa
Pool and terraces
View from kitchen terrace
Roof terrace lounge and dining table
Roof terrace lounge
Roof terrace dining at night
Roof terrace lounge at night
Table laid for formal dining
BBQ terrace with table and bench seats
Bedroom balcony
Upper shaded decking area
Olive grove leading to viewing platform
Contemporary kitchen
Solid oak dining table
Large folding doors leading to roof terrace
Lounge
Double bedroom
Twin bedded room
View from villa
View from Villa
West coast sunset from roof terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Spartilas, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ARWJ
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful villa, brilliant views, fascinating island.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Views from the poolside and garden are stunning and it was lovely to watch the colours and moods change throughout the day. Villa Petalutha is cleverly designed, built into a hillside and brilliantly 'kitted out' with good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, as well as a spacious kitchen and lounge area leading out onto the surrounding terraces. It would be easy to just stay at the villa to relax and enjoy all the facilities. However, Corfu town is only a short drive away & there are nearby hillside villages, tavernas and beaches to explore, offering unspoiled vistas, short walks and delicious Greek cuisine. We were lucky enough to visit Villa Petalutha in Spring and enjoyed seeing many colourful wildflowers and butterflies as well as hearing some new bird songs too. Overall, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing is such beautiful surroundings and soaking up the Springtime sights and sounds all around and lots of laughter with a group of friends.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best place I have stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in May 2013

This villa was quite simply the best place I have ever stayed in. It was very clean and had everything you needed for a fantastic holiday. The layout is well thought out making the most of the breathtaking views and to hear the cuckoo each morning made my day! The early morning swim each day in the infinity pool was absolutely brilliant and again the view was amazing. It is truly a tranquil place to be. In my opinion it is a perfect place to go for peace and quiet, yet you are not far from beaches, lovely restaurants and interesting places to visit . However, I can honestly say that I would be happy just to be in this beautiful villa for the duration of the holiday.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanropet
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views from a very remote location but an unpleasant aftertaste”
Reviewed 20 November 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We visited Villa Petalutha in a group that comprised 2 family's of 4 with kids aged 8-10. The villa is new and incredible location. The views from the pool and the balcony area are stunning and the altitude it's set at means that whilst the rest of the island swelters you can remain relatively cool in Corfus equivalent of a crows nest.... But there are issues.

Firstly the villa is very, very remote. The nearest town, Spartilas, wouldn't even qualify as a one horse town, more like one donkey, which isn't necessarily a problem but the road through it, through which you must pass to get to and from the villa, is a nightmare, wide enough really only for donkeys. The road up to the town itself is a road so windy and dangerous it is littered with those little shrines to those that have dies en route. Civilisation is 45 minutes in every direction.

Secondly the wasps, a feature of life on Corfu but taken to a different level at Villa Petalutha on account of the pool offering the only reliable source of water for the islands insect life for miles around. If you are of botanistic leaning it's very interesting but if you don't like mosquito bites and wasp stings beware.

Finally, the owners, after charging us the top wack high season rate due, elected to keep part of our deposit, claiming their cleaners had to do extra laundry and cleaning, ironic as we had thoroughly cleaned the kitchen and tipped their cleaners before leaving the place as we would have wished to find it. Who was taking who for a ride, the owners taking us or the villa staff taking the owners? We don't know but for a matter of £125 it has led me to write this "warts and all" review of the place.

In conclusion, it's a beautiful location, small inside, difficult to get to and you need to be a confident driver to negotiate the roads. It's too remote for kids as they will get bored. But ideal if the location doesn't put you off for a get away from it all break. Beware the deposit issues

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2011
The end of the penultimate paragraph gives away the motivation for writing a review of this nature.
We have never had to withhold any security deposit before, but sadly after this rental, our lovely villa was certainly not left as anyone would hope to find it. We were saddened by the lack of respect shown. We incurred costs in excess of the £125 withheld to replace spoiled or broken items, restore the travertine floor after un-wiped spillages, fund double our normal laundry bill and pay the staff an extra two hours cleaning.

Spartilas has a population of 658 and is a thriving community. It is a traditional Greek village and is on the main route for visitors to the monastery at Mount Pantocrator. The road from the coast to Spartilas does have many bends but it is wide and visibility of oncoming traffic is clear. In fact, it is far safer than the faster coastal roads that often encourage overtaking. It is a popular and well- travelled route because of the exceptional views. The resorts of Ipsos and Barbati, on the east coast or Acharavi in the north, are only a 20 minute drive.

Whilst wasps do come and drink from the pool at certain times of the day, they are certainly no worse than anywhere else on the island and we have had no reports of anyone being stung. There are very few mosquitoes as they prefer the lower and more humid coastal areas.

Our guest book is full of appreciative comments about the villa and its spectacular location. The peace, tranquillity and privacy are a huge part of its attraction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Wells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class villa in a breath taking location”
Reviewed 31 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most brilliant holiday in this beautiful villa. The location is truely magical, with both sea and mountain views. We photographed several beautiful sunsets from the roof terrace and it was heaven to swim in the floodlit pool at night, surrounded by stars and looking at the twinkling lights of the bays below. The villa is thoughtfully laid out and very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is kept beautifully clean and well presented by a lovely local greek family. We spent several days enjoying the peace and quiet and watching the beautiful swallow tail butterflies amongst the flowers.
We also found some great beaches and enjoyed the watersports at Barbati beach and the beauty of Kerasia Beach near Agios Stephanos. There are excellent tavernas only a short drive away.
We would recommend this villa without reservation and will be returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: The steep drive up to the villa
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benlegg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 22 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at Villa Petalutha in July, with two adults and 6 kids aged 8-16. Being in the villa itself was absolutely wonderful - the location, views, pool and facilities all made for an idyllic and relaxing holiday. The wifi enabled a little work too, but it didn't feel like work, because it was so chilled.

The one downside was the distance from nightlife (Ipsos and Kassiopi) which, combined with the taxi strike, meant that my wife and I had to play taxi driver to the teenagers in the small hours a few times. I would definitely recommend Villa Petalutha for an adult only holiday, or for a family with young kids. With teenagers, check for taxi strikes first ....

Apolstolis, the house manager, was also incredibly helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Distance from nightlife for the teenagers
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing