We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The biggest hotel I have ever stayed at.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Medena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Medena
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The biggest hotel I have ever stayed at.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The place is huge - it has 650 rooms. The location is good, just next to the sea. They have tennis courts, shops, even a hairdresser. Breakfast and dinner buffets are awesome, great selection. The only negative is that the hotel is old and needs some renovation. It is also really busy - it's popular for big organized groups so people are everywhere. Free Wi-Fi is only on the lobby level.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Morning_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    63
    45
    85
See reviews for
68
71
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is an old, ugly, Communistic building. Maybe it was once a nice place- 50 years ago. Entering the so called hotel feels like you have travelled back in time.

In the room the air conditioner was set to the temperature of 17 degrees Celsius. We had it on all night set at that temperature, and in the morning the temperature in the room was 27 degrees Celsius! Air that felt cold did blow out of the air conditioner, but the temperature of the room never went down. Plus, the air conditioner automatically turned off when you opened the balcony door.

We payed $4 for half an hour of Internet access, but it didn't even work. My iPad kept disconnecting every two minutes, and it was unbelievably slow. I was only able to send one quick email, and the half hour was already over.

The hotel had a swimming pool, but there was no water in it, and there hasn't been any water in it for the past 20 years!

This is a very bad place. It's not even a one star, much less a three star.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Donji Seget hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I read the previous reviews so to a degree knew some of the problems. I will deal with the positives first. The staff at all times were excellent and very helpful with places to go and how to get there. The towels were changed every 3/4 days and sheets as well if you wanted and the room completely hovered out before arrival and every week. The site shop was quite expensive compared to others we found, but being the only one for about 2km, not having a car, busses unreliable, didn't have a lot of choice, but it was open 7am to 8pm. The bar was very reasonable and the view from it excellent (we didn't try the resturant).
Thw apartments location was very good only minutes from the beach, bars and resturants.
The apartment was sadly in need of serious renovation and certainly doesn't warrent its star rating, we have stayed in better quality 2 star than this. There was no kettle (and none available) so we had to use a lipped saucepan to boil water for tea and coffee. The inclusive air ventilation was a boon as it was very warm at night. The rubber non slip coating was partially worn and I wouldn't have taken a bath if I had wanted to, but the shower was very good, lots of power to it and the immersion control for the hot water was in your control, excellent. With renovated apartments it could be a real gem and worth reccomending, but in its present form not.
The only contact with the hotel was to hire a cycle, don't bother they are in an horrendous state, could have got away without paying as they don't control the access.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else in its present state
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LincolnPete55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

It is the worst hotel I have ever been to.
All the terrible reviews are true!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Costanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We had tourist class room and it was clean, and comfortable.
Nothing was broken or dirty, like in the pictures here.
The breakfast was okay and we're satisfyed and expected worse for the price and 2 stars. The hotel staff was nice and friendly but did speak none or little english. They were service minded tough and eaven drove us in their car instead of calling a taxi ( for free).

it's a pretty long walk in to centrum and in april it's not very much open in the hotel area but most busses stop by the hotel if you just wave your hand.

we enjoyed our trip and the hotel was good.

Room Tip: we lived in room 424
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donji Seget
1.1 km away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 3 in Donji Seget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
21.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
26.6 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 km away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.2 km away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 9 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Trogir Palace
Hotel Trogir Palace
#5 of 9 in Trogir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medena

Property: Hotel Medena
Address: Hrvatskih zrtava 185, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,947 - ₹ 10,229
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medena 2*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medena is located in Seget Donji near to Trogir and Split in the centre of the former Trogir Riviera (Trogir - Seget - Marina - Okrug)Mild Adriatic climate, lush subtropical and Mediterranean vegetation, the archipelago of picturesque islands and islets hiding quiet fishing and farming villages in their coves, hidden rocky and pebble beaches, the beauty and diversity of folklore, picturesque rural architecture, modern tourism facilities perfect for your vacation, entertainment and recreation both summer and winter, traditional hospitality, Dalmatian delicacies, fishing and joyous fishermen's nights, classical music in the medieval city ambient…The hotel is divided into two main buildings, and two pavilions which are located on the hotel beach, only 150 metres from the hotel.Hotel Medena has a total of 630 rooms: superior***/+, standard*** and tourist class**.We also offer 8 modernly equipped and air-conditioned hotel suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Medena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medena Hotel Seget Donji Vranjic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing