We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Wildlife!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Campo Cano Negro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cano Negro
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The hotel is really a number of small duplex villas with air conditioning and a clean bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The hotel restaurant provided very good food at typical Costa Rican prices. The facility is planted with a large variety of fruiting trees and there were numerous bird species on the property. Nice shaded benches made for a nice birding opportunity out of the sun. Behind the hotel is a laguna (lake) that was low during the dry season. It was loaded with birds, turtles and caimans. All seemed to co-habitate pretty well. The caimans were well fed on fish and not aggressive towards people. If you got close, they ran away.

We teamed our stay with a Rio Frio tour set up through the hotel. After looking for caiman in the Osa area and seeing one or two a trip, it was amazing to see thousands of them in Rio Frio. I'm really not kidding about there being thousands. Hundreds of turtles, lizards, birds and some monkeys were there, too.


All in all, this was a great stop in the north of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The only internet was at the main office and the coverage area was very small. I didn't even bo...
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hello Jeff,

Is really nice to know that you enjoyed your trip to Caño Negro, as you mentioned these is place full of wildlife. Fortunately after looking hard you found a place with a huge quantity of caimans.

We hope to have more people doing a stop at Caño Negro.

Regards
Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Campo Cano Negro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2016

A bird watcher's paradise! Sitting on the patio & the pages of my bird book came to life! Simply spectacular!! The float down the river; arranged by the hotel was unbelievable; the caymans were right next to the boat....birds, birds, birds!
Breakfast great, supper tasty, staff friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hello Betty,

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed our little paradise, hope to have you back.

Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and loved it. Do the boat tour! We saw all kinds of birds, monkeys, Iguanas, and mini allIgators. Not much else to do around there but the food and drinks were great and it's a truly unique property. One or two nights is good. Only complaint is wish the website had better directions. Took us a while to find it but was awesome once we got there. Mauro lives on the property and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. He even gave my sick wife some sort of homemade fire water to cure her cold. Thanks Mauro!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kmay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Propietario at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hello,

Thank you so much for your comment, it´s great to know that you love it. We will keep in mind the directions advise to make it easier. And it´s always a pleasure to attend our customers.

Regards
Mauro & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

This good quality hotel caters, it seems, for birders and more mature holiday makers. Rooms are a decent size, all of which are surrounded by gardens and birds. There is a lounging pool and a very nicely designed dining area. The Swiss owner is friendly and accommodating. As prices are a little higher, we expected more from the breakfast, which was fine with a little fruit and Gallo pinto. The restaurant was relatively expensive (12-16$ per main meal with more expensive offerings too) and we felt the spaghetti bolognese was poor with a small amount of meat sauce already mixed in but the local rice was a bit better.
Boat tours can be arranged for 40-50$ per couple depending on numbers along with fishing tours. Wifi works around the reception area and they respond quickly to email.

Other restaurants are a 10 minute walk into "town" and there is a local convenience store for water. There are three buses to and from Los Chiles and the journey is a bumpy 1hr 15 mins ish.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Hello Richard,

We hope you have enjoyed your time over a place full of nature and as you said most likely for birders lovers. We are really that you like our sorrounded on regards to the food the prices might be high for a normal Costa Rican place but we served food prepare at the moment with a high quality ingredients, we also produce part of what we sell on the Hotel.

Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

My husband and I stayed her at the beginning of January, it was lovely, relaxing and peaceful. We are not birdwatchers by any means, but the local guide and boat trips from the hotel were amazing and we saw up to 60 species and lots of animals and reptiles. Loved the experience. Room clean and spacious, pool nice and refreshing, food lovely. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_cleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hello,

Ohh well we are exited that we made your day even if you were not a birdwatcher, hope to have you back and so happy of giving you a little of our bird paradise.

Fabiola Cárdena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cano Negro
29.7 km away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
808 reviews
32.7 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
37.2 km away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
125 reviews
34.4 km away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Natural Lodge Cano Negro
Natural Lodge Cano Negro
#1 of 2 in Cano Negro
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Campo Cano Negro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Campo Cano Negro

Address: Cano Negro 21402, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Cano Negro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cano Negro
Price Range: ₹ 5,846 - ₹ 7,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel de Campo Cano Negro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Campo is situated in a beautiful property of 50.000 Sq mtrs completely dedicated to conservation with 80 species of tropical fruit trees, decorative plants, medical trees and plants, forest and trails surrounded by the unique Costa Rican nature. The property is facing 300 mtrs of Cano Negro lagoon and refuge. The Outdoors center hotel offers comfortable rooms with private baths, fans, A/C, hot water. The rooms are large, with top quality finishing, including fine woods and terracotta floors, to make you feel at home. The bar and restaurant are in a beautiful rustic structure. ​The rooms and swimming pool are located in a spacious green area in the shade of tropical fruit trees and flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Campo Cano Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing