We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish retreat with a great restaurant”
Review of Hotel Plein Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plein Soleil
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish retreat with a great restaurant”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights after having a flight cancelled, another flight delayed, and fleeing from a terrible hotel.....when we arrived we were very much in need of some relaxation and some luxury, and this hotel provided both in spades. It's a lovely, stylish boutique hotel set in the hills outside of Le Francois. It is a remote location so you absolutely need a car, and the road to get there is very bumpy. The staff were efficient, helpful when asked, and very patient with our non-existent French. We ate several meals at the restaurant, which has a limited menu but is excellent. On our last evening the staff even printed out a menu that had been translated into English, which was a very nice touch. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and would definitely recommend it to others.

Our standard room was large and comfortable and had a nice view, although it did not have a balcony, which was a bit of a disappointment. Next time we would definitely splurge on one of the larger rooms with a private plunge pool. The only negative comment I would make is that the bathroom was tiny, and the entire bathroom would get soaked during a shower. I would also recommend that they develop a better website with more information about the types and prices of rooms, to help travelers understand their options.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennclinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.
It is really important for us. Let me inform you that we note all your reviews and we will forward to our team.
Hope to see you again here and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    79
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
150
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
demie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This was the 2nd hotel of our trip. It was not on the beach but had a great pool. The hotel is really cute & chic. Definitely a romantic spot not made for young children but they were extremely accommodating for our son.

When we arrived we got there 1 hr before check in but the staff made great efforts to get our room ready early so that we could put our son down for a nap. The pack & play was already in there with a mosquito net. (CAUTION: USE THE NET!! Its there for a reason, our son got so many bites when we didn't use it!)

The food is absolutely wonderful! Amazing food. There is a reason why the travel magazines say you have to go for dinner. Be prepared for European style service (i.e. not the rush that people in the U.S. are used to)

The rooms are very spacious. The internet in the rooms was a little shaky. Better to go to the front area where one could get better connection. The staff was extremely friendly. There is babysitting service if you want but its pricey. It's easy to rent a car from the hotel. Big veranda sitting area with the master rooms that is very nice.

Once you leave the hotel, there are beaches 20 miles north & 20 miles south. So definitely rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your comment and we will pass on your positive comments to our staff.
Let me inform you that we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Spent a week travelling around Martinique and stumbled upon this wonderful place seemingly in the middle of nowhere.

Quite the best of the French Caribbean. Exquisite food (breakfasts especially), service and rooms. Petals strewn on empty tables is one of many lovely touches.

Do hire a car if you stay here, and it becomes the perfect base to explore from.

The Pool is fine but its really the beaches in Martinique you want to see.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adrianbunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Great hotel located on the eastern part of Martinique (Le François). We didn't clearly knew what to expect before arriving at the property and we were very impressed. It is located 10 minutes away from Le François and 5 minutes away from the main road going along the coast. As we wanted to go around the island and visit, the location was perfect.

The hotel is very nice (old colonial house), newly renovated, and sits on top of a small hill. The room (master) was quite big, with its own private (large) terrace. It is very well decorated with great taste. The terrace, which has a small table, an outside "bed" and a small kitchen. Being with an 18 months old child he was able to go around the room and terrace which was very useful.

The food is very great. Breakfast and dinner was impressive.

The only drawbacks were the absence of bath (only a very small shower) and the distance to the nearest beach (~25 minutes).

  • Liked — Rooms, terrace, food
  • Disliked — No bath in the room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank julo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2008

- Hotel is beautifully located on a hill in a quite residential area of Martinique (you definetly need a rental car to move around the island)
- The restaurant and our room (which was a master room with terrace) had an amazing view on the ocean
- Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished
- Food was delicious and surely the best we had on Martinique
- Nice hotel service (free shower on the departure day after check-out, etc.)
- Restaurant service sometimes could have been more attentive (for the standard three course dinner you should reserve at least two hours)

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Global67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your comment and we will work on it.
Let me inform you that we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
13.4 km away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
71 reviews
19.6 km away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
332 reviews
19.2 km away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel Fregate Bleue
Hotel Fregate Bleue
#3 of 5 in Le Francois
156 reviews
18.8 km away
Carayou Hotel & Spa
Carayou Hotel & Spa
#4 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
692 reviews
20.5 km away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plein Soleil? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plein Soleil

Property: Hotel Plein Soleil
Address: Pointe Thalemont | Mansarde Rance, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,471 - ₹ 18,580
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plein Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plein Soleil is situated in the hills above of << Le francois>>, and is just 25 minutes from Martinique's Lamentin International Airport. You traverse a banana plantation to reach this chic hideaway that is equi-distance from the beaches of the south and the mountains and rain forests of the north. Far from the congested tourist zones, set amid a tropical garden and surrounded by lush vegetation, the hotel's 16 Creole and Caribbean style rooms are housed in five colourful villas. They enjoy a wonderful view of the Bay of Francois. Plein Soleil is a haven of beauty, peace and quiet. Three of these lovely villas host the Guest, the Master pool bedrooms. The Guest rooms are on the first floor with a nice sea view, and although naturally well ventilated, are equipped with air conditioning too. The Master pool are on the ground floor, they have a large bedroom with a lovely large veranda and a fully-equiped kitchen. The Master pool room has also a private swimming pool. All the rooms have a bathroom, and a king-sized bed. In both styles of accomodations, there is rustic wooden furniture and objets d'nature and a canopy of netting surrounding each bed. Two others villas house the suites. The Jardin Suites are in a single-story house and have a spacious bedroom with a large bathroom and separate commode. There is also a spacious deck with its own private pool. The Duplex suites are in the second villa. A large living room awaits you at the entrance on the first floor. It has a delightful sun-deck. On the ground floor, an inviting room welcomes you; its deleuxe bathroom opens to the terrace and its private pool. Guests can lounge around the hotel's main swimming pool with its enchanting sea view below or relax in the inn's stylish greathouse, listening to calming music or speaking with the affable owner of Plein Soleil, Jean-Christophe. Bilingual in French and English, he is always pleased to share the secrets of a sucessful stay in Martinique. Welcoming you graciously, he will make you feel that his home is your home in Martinique. The hotel restaurant awaits you in the main house and its enlarged terrace is adorned with a nice, fresh basin. Guests will be able to enjoy the thousand-and-one flavors created by our chef. He will have returned from a several months of training with Alain Ducasse, one of France's most famous chefs. The table d'hote restaurant offers a different menu each day, with a choice of two entrees (appetizers), two main courses and two desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Plein Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing