We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
53
77
22
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
77
22
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three nights per night balcony martinique island
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

A basic, clean, and friendly place. This is a good hotel to use as a base for exploring Martinique at a reasonable price. The layout of the hotel is a little quirky and some of the rooms and facilities need a little work. However it is under new management in 2016 and the new young manager is hoping to address improvements soon. The location is relatuvely remote so a having rental car beforehand is recommended. But the remoteness also gives great views, the sound of surf, clear starry skies, and a cacophony of peepers and birds and night. The staff has very limited English, so knowing a little French goes a long way. Highly recommend Le Ferme Orchid as a nearby restaurant.

Room tip: View of the water is recommended
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Responsable réception at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

We are glad you've appreciated your stay in our hotel Frégate Bleue ***. Thank you very much for your comment. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Room was for three people and it felt like a huge NYC studio apt. Very impressive decor and imposing bed and book cases. The entire ambience is very quiet, relaxing and peaceful. They need to update their location in the Garmin GPS as it took us to the wrong location but close.

Restaurant is not exactly "haute cuisine" but it will do. Food was pricy for the quality and breakfast was basic croissant and coffee. They need to improve their food. Great bar and pool area!
I highly recommend this hotel as its not as expensive as the others and service was great. Cool owner too. Very helpful guy.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FreeStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

We are glad you've appreciated your stay in our hotel Frégate Bleue ***. Thank you very much for your comment.
The hotel , in constant renovation and improvement will have dice next week , a new chef who will offer quality catering for both hotel guests and for external customers.
Best regards.

THE DIRECTION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I can not understand how this place received five stars. It's terrible and the price has nothing in common with reality! In a European country, a such hotel would had been closed for sure by authorities.

As somebody perviously mentioned (and I regret that I did not read his review before booking this hotel) it's a dilapidated structure!

The kitchenette was rusty and simply could not be used, the furniture was old and rotten and the bathroom facilities were poor. A lot of mosquitos hiding between the walls and the rotten wood.

Wifi did not work most of the time.

The only good thing about the place is the sea view.

Room tip: Do not book rooms at the ground floor (I think 103-106)
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mec_qp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel, and we inform you that we have several types of rooms.
lofts are rooms that are not renovated. the room that you have reserved at the last minute was a loft with a first prize category .
Suite rooms that are a little more expensive have a higher quality equipment as well as the beautiful view that you mentioned .
We advise you to book Suite rooms the next time because lofts are more suitable for young Traveller economy class.
The hotel , in constant renovation and improvement will have dice next week , a new chef who will offer quality catering for both hotel guests and for external customers.

Regards ,

THE DIRECTION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

There seems to be a formula for Martinique hotels which combines the concept of a self-catering holiday with that of a normal hotel providing room service and meals at extra cost. I myself have run such establishments of my own during the last ten years. Prior to coming to Frégate Bleue my partner and I had experienced two different places, the second one of which had been very satisfactory. We were expecting Frégate Bleue to be superior in comfort and amenities as the cost was going to be far more.

But we were horribly disappointed. The managers of this hotel are a young French couple who have only just taken it on. Together with their staff you could not meet a nicer set of people who are friendly and helpful but they have inherited a poisoned chalice which requires an enormous investment of work and money to bring it up to an acceptable standard of repair, decoration and cleanliness, as well as an awareness on their part of what is wrong. We stayed in two of the units and both were tragically inadequate. I noted 19 shortcomings in the first room (No. 104) and 10 in the second (No. 103). Some of these were discussed with Damien, the manager, but few could be righted on the spot with the exception of simple matters such as the ill prepared equipment for the kitchenette for which we had to request many basic items such as glasses, plates and dishcloths. Rm 104 has a four-ring hob but had only one saucepan; Rm 103, by contrast, has a one-ring cooker with four saucepans!

The far more important issues are the very old, damaged floor tiles; the very crudely built wooden terrace structures, some of which are rotten or collapsing, even with weeds growing out of the woodwork; the kitchenette in Rm, 103 which is a primitive wooden box with a door which will not stay open (whereas Rm 104 has a wardrobe with a door which won't stay shut); the bathroom with no power points, no shower light and almost no shelves (I had to shave in the kitchenette where there was a power point but no mirror); the other bathroom with no shower curtain and a WC which rocks on its base; the sink with no overflow pipe connection (so the overflow goes on the floor); several bare bulbs on the end of a flex; a strip of unpainted cement on one wall where a new cable had been chased in; and so on. We also got a brief visit by a rat on the terrace one night. One other thing: all the partitions are extremely thin and you can listen to your neighbours' conversations in the morning when they get up before you do when you are still trying to sleep. Doors slammed at this time feel like an earthquake.

We could have put up with this and pretended to be Boy Scouts and enjoyed the good features of the establishment if the price had justified it. But in fact the cost was double - yes, DOUBLE - what we had paid during the previous week for a vastly superior place with a magnificent pool, immaculate grounds and equivalent or better outlook. I felt cheated on the price and told Damien that I expected a rebate. This has not been offered.

Room tip: There are upstairs rooms without kitchenettes which seemed to be in better condition.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Dilemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel,
The hotel dates back 95 years , under new management , is constantly improving .
Half of the rooms have been completely repainted and refurbished (furniture , electricity , bedding .. ).
we inform you that your comments about the rooms 104 and 103 have been taken into account and noted in our technical book and we are sorry for not being able to meet all your expectations during this day.
I understand during our conversation that you prefer the big hotels all included 300 rooms with a large picine and children who cry 80€ rate in B & B, unlike our hotel has 126 € the night or even you where discontent, stayed a week at the edge of the pool as if it were your own, and it is precisely the feeling that we want to give to our customers.

Regards,

THE DIRECTION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

We stated two nights in this cozy hotel, and since the first moment, the owner was very helpful in everything from making drinks to suggesting trips. The hotel has a clean pool and is close to the sea, although there is no beach. It is a very family-atmosphere place.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ciciak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

We thank you for your comment and are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

THE DIRECTION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews