We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Time in A Lovingly Restored Totally...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tinajo, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
banyantre...
denver
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Magical Time in A Lovingly Restored Totally Updated 300 year old House in Tinajo”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Sun starved visitors to Lanzarote heading out to the sand and ocean resorts will truly miss out on this incredible gem. Located in Tinajo, almost in the center of the Island, makes for easy daily excursions to any part of this small island. Tinajo is close to the Volcano National Park and has several supermarkets, restaurants and other shops right in the village. A short jog away from the house, you will find a pretty well equipped gym - use for a small daily charge. My husband and I loved interacting with the local people of Tinajo, even though we don't speak Spanish. They were warm and welcoming, including Jonay, a quiet spoken, gentle, kind, welcoming host - nothing was too much trouble for him and he is truly delighted to host people from all over the world. Jonay was very responsive - pre, during and post stay.

When I found this 3 bedroom house online, I couldn't believe my luck - it looked sooo amazing! And here's the thing, as amazing as it looks online, it's even more amazing in real life...Jonay is justifiably proud of the restoration he has performed and is even prouder to explain that he is a direct descendant of the original owner from 300 years ago. This house is beautiful and photos can't do it justice.

Jonay greeted us at the house and took us on a tour of the house, it has many wonderful, inviting seating areas and places to hang out, a large group of 10-12 people or even more could disperse and not even get in each other's way! High ceilings on the first floor add to the charm. The house is decorated throughout with charming antiques.The walls are over a foot thick and insulates the house from extreme temperatures - they knew how to build solid structures back in the day!

Jonay had provided a huge fruit bowl filled with fruit picked from his garden as well as locally purchased fruit, a bottle of very excellent wine plus as an assortment of breads and crackers, bottled water, a locally produced cheese to die for, etc - just to start us of!!...

The house is super clean - and I mean it SUPER CLEAN - my husband and I are 'clean freaks' and we know clean! Everything felt brand new.

The house has a 'secret garden' - with orange, passion fruit and mango trees and herbal plants with a barbecue area; a lovingly preserved wine making room with some antique wine making equipment. The house used to have stables for camels - with little windows for the camels to stick their heads out - those stables have been converted to enlarge the house, but the little windows are still there!

The kitchen is fully equipped, it has all the modern gadgets you will need for your stay and all the pots and pans, silverware and china was squeaky clean and in excellent shape. The bathrooms are modern, large and spacious - bath linens are clean and fluffy...The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.

Rest assured - if we come back to Lanzarote, this is the house we'll want to return to!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelfan...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house and host”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I are very impressed with this beautiful historical house, it's almost like staying in a well kept museum but at the same time very homely. The garden was our favourite part of the house, it always had a nice breeze there despite the very hot weather outside. The house was very well kept, clean and had hi tech equipment to suit our needs. The owner Jonay was absolutely wonderful, very friendly, warm and helpful, always replied to messages promptly. During our stay there was a strike action in all of the sights unfortunately, but Jonay made excellent suggestions for what else we could do and his restaurant recommendations were all fantastic. We had a wonderful time thanks to Jonay and this beautiful house and I highly recommend anyone to stay here!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NURIA R
Tinajo, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“MAGICAL, HISTORICAL & SO INVITING”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS HOUSE!

I grew up in a country surrounded by 100's of years of history, something I love, and whilst where I currently live, there is some history, until last week, I did not know just how much...and literally on my doorstep!

Many years ago, around 1846, (the date can be found in the original bodega!) a great, great grandfather built this house...it was passed on through different generations and was even sold to another family by the wife of one of the descendants! The great grandson of the original owner, was able to buy back the house and upon his demise left it to his grandchildren. One of them, over 15 years alongside her husband, lovingly, restored the property with impeccable taste, turning it into a home once again.

The care & attention to detail is incredible. I stood in the kitchen, marvelling how cleverly some modern appliances had been 'hidden' and was told by the owner, who met me at the door, (there is secure off road parking with an electronic gate) that I was standing in what used to be the camel house!!!

The 3 bedrooms are large and well kitted out, plenty of storage space (one king bed, one double & two twins), especially the upstairs master with an ensuite, where from the traditional Canarian balcony you can watch the sunrise.

Traditional Canarian houses were made, as is this, with large stones to create thick walls and I swear, though this is located by the roadside, I heard no cars. These walls make summers cool and winters warm.

There are two outside areas, both charming and one is ideal for BBQ's (there is a large built in one), sunbathing or just chilling whilst smelling the scent of jasmine from the plants planted in different areas. The upper level, accessed through a side door takes you into a small orchard where I saw my very first mini apple tree laden with fruit, there were also oranges, avocados & papayas!

Although the sea is nearby, a pool or jacuzzi would make this a perfect family holiday oasis which I have been informed will soon to be installed...meaning, I will naturally have to return!

Lastly, this bespoke historical place is a home from home..the owners truly will help you with anything. The welcome pack was generous as was the huge bowl of fruit and even I, a lactose intolerant vegetarian was looked after! Also, literally across the road is the great 'Bodega Guiguan'..so no worries about running out of good wine!

P.S. I have already warned the owners I want this place in 3 years time for a special celebration!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your comment, you know this is your home, see you in January, a hug, see you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalF...
Gorgier, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maucre
Brunico, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing