We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
70
178
103
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
178
103
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiritale tanksri lankaswimming poolhotel is locatedcomfortable staylovely hotelexcellent viewbuffet dinnerroom was clean and comfortableone night staywild elephantstwo nightskaudulla national parka la carteshort stayricelake
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our eight visit to Giritale Hotel and the service of the staff is excellent!! Spectacular view across the lake and valley, rooms clean and spacious, best place to relax with amazing food and value for money..

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tnizamudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and we wish to see you again for nine time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The hotel is ideally located over looking the Girithale reservoir built over 600 years ago and the lush greeny and invariably misty Knuckles range of mountains, Minneriya and Kaudulla sanctuaries

Large verandah of the hotel is located at a height from where you can conveniently catch a stunning birds eye view of the Girithale tank and the misty range of mountains. All rooms too are facing the reservoir and the mountains.

View is unique, because you sit in a large verandah of a hotel built on top of a small hillock , located in dry zone of the country but blessed with fresh cool breeze passing through over 3500 ft high Knuckles range of mountains and the Girithale reservoir.

Apart from the stunning view I must also mention that staff is very friendly and the hospitality extended during our stay was remarkable.

Food was good in relation the pricing and standard expected from the class of hotels.

We are definitely looking forward to come back next year to stay longer. Upul Hettiarachchi

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _hettiarachchi_upul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for you best comment.We are happy to spend your relaxing time with us.
We will arrange unforgettable service for your next visit..

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

It was a very pleasant experience at Giritale Hotel. Our family members all enjoyed the stay there. There were varities of food.very delicious.... The Manager , the front office staff , housekeeping and all other hotel staff were very cooperative and very helpful and friendly too. The manager and the whole staff should be highly commended for their dedication and service. May I mention something very special, that is the warm welcome and hospitality. Once visit that would become a lifetime very positive experience. Good wishes to Giritale hotel......

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kamal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are much appreciated your comments about my staff and our location.We will hope to give you a best service for your next visit.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

It's just over £40 for a room, the buffet is £8 and you have a view from every room. It's fantastic value. Some of the criticism is ridiculous. It is written from a standpoint that would be justified if the author had paid five times the price.
The rooms are great. Fabulous little bathrooms, comfy bed and a minibar at normal bar prices.
The staff are great, the location is amazing. Elephants obligingly on view both days we were there. We sat and looked at the view for hours.
The pool is great. A bit murky to look at but clean and refreshing.
A real highlight of our trip but give it two nights.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 3,10,396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. I will share your comments with my staff and they will be happy for your remarks.

I will give you a better service than the previous one to delight for your next stay in our hotel. please come again with your family.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Was very very disappointed with our stay. We reviewed the hotel by going through the their site and there were incredible photos of their rooms. It had a lovely view of the lake, a balcony and looked very spacious. We called directly to the hotel and made a reservation for 2 nights.

It was not until we checked in that we were given a tiny, congested, outdated room, with no view of the lake and no balcony. The room had a terrible smell, as if it was being opened after a long time.

We immediately complained to the manager and then only they decided to mention that the room we were provided was a standard room and that the one with the balcony was a deluxe room. Later on we suggested to be transferred to a deluxe room but the management didn't bother and refused.

Unfortunately we had to cut short our trip to just one night as it was impossible to stay after expecting high standards.

Room Tip: Good green environment, with lots of trees and good view of the Giritale Tank
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rashmi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Rashmi, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused . Your room was the last room and all other rooms were given. it was a full house day. We will give you a Deluxe room in your next visit.Please come again and spend your vacation with fantastic service in our hotel...

Thanking you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews