We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Was very very disappointed with our stay. We reviewed the hotel by going through the their site and there were incredible photos of their rooms. It had a lovely view of the lake, a balcony and looked very spacious. We called directly to the hotel and made a reservation for 2 nights.

It was not until we checked in that we were given a tiny, congested, outdated room, with no view of the lake and no balcony. The room had a terrible smell, as if it was being opened after a long time.

We immediately complained to the manager and then only they decided to mention that the room we were provided was a standard room and that the one with the balcony was a deluxe room. Later on we suggested to be transferred to a deluxe room but the management didn't bother and refused.

Unfortunately we had to cut short our trip to just one night as it was impossible to stay after expecting high standards.

Room Tip: Good green environment, with lots of trees and good view of the Giritale Tank
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rashmi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Rashmi, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused . Your room was the last room and all other rooms were given. it was a full house day. We will give you a Deluxe room in your next visit.Please come again and spend your vacation with fantastic service in our hotel...

Thanking you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

We booked a room to stay on 19th august through agoda.com by viewing their room conditions and photos. We booked a room with a balcony. When we checked-in to the we realized that it was not with a balcony and just a narrow windowpane. So we complained to the front office and their answer was, if we need a balcony room then we have to mention it as a special remark when booking. Then I asked, why do we need to mention it specifically when it is already there as a room feature and display in photos in the site? Since we were not satisfied with their answer they have directed us to their manager, and even he was not polite enough to accept their fault, instead he put blame on #agoda and completely ignored our complain. So without further wasting our time we decided to bear the situation without spoiling our weekend.
And the best part happened NEXT…. next day Sunday morning, I was at the bathroom having a shower and heard a sound from back and clearly saw someone peeping through window mesh. I quickly came out and there was a staff member outside the room. I scolded him but he rejected my complain and also said there were no any other person in that area. But I’m 100% sure someone was there and I clearly saw him. Anyway, immediately I informed the manager but as before he just listened and no any action taken on that. Even no apologies…So this is the pathetic situation how our Sri Lankan hotels treat locals. This might happened the foreigners also.
Mind you we were very disappointed with the experience and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sampath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Sampath, with reference to your comment we apologise during your stay what you have experienced. We gave a good room with the view since all the balcony rooms were sold out. We had a full house on that day. Further we normally screen staff before recruiting and in the inquiry it reveals he was innocent and the bath room window is more than 10 feet from the floor. This type of complain is the first time we have experienced.
However we invite you to visit our hotel and experience our service.
Thanking you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Great spot with amazing views, rooms a little dated. But typical of standard in Sri Lanka. Pool has great views of elephants. Food was good, and staff attentive. Great for visiting national park and seeing elephants and buffalo. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks for your comment dear Jonathan. Please visit us again enjoy the natural beauty of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel with spectacular views across the lake and valley, great place to enjoy a drink and unwind on the balcony.
Rooms clean and spacious.
Good restuarant serving buffet and a la carte.
Swimming pool and free wifi.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment of our hotel and i like to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Has an amazing view from the restaurant area and some of the rooms. An old hotel but still is good to spend some time and tour the surroundings. Food was generally good and staff was pleasant and helpful as well. Some rooms lack the space but some were pretty good.

Room Tip: Top rooms have an amazing view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uthz_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.2 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
564 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
372 reviews
10.6 km away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
140 reviews
6.7 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
207 reviews
6.2 km away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#9 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range: ₹ 4,204 - ₹ 13,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing