We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Girithale Tank”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The best location near girithale tank where you can see the elephants who are reaching to the tank in the evening. Sun set is stunning at the horizons of the tank. Good staff and food. Rooms are very good in facilities. Elevated location gives the best view.

Room Tip: Tank view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

This place is one my favourites every time I go SL . This time I took my family and friends and they all were amazed specially the view we get from this hotel
Amazing spa and decent food
Staff excellent and always helpful
With a bit of update this hotel can do much better and worth the price

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Satheesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I didn't appreciate being falsely accused of not paying my bill in front of fellow travellers just as we were about to leave. This was done in an extremely rude, arrogant and unseemly manner. So much for the custom of 'saving face', though maybe it was a scam. So nil points for customer care and service. Also, the 'resort style' entertainment of some completely off-key caterwauling voices was appalling. The buffet food was bland and indifferent.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stayed during mid March in a standard room. Views from the room were amazing. Staff were nice and friendly. The room was old and not soundproofed. Was able to listen to most of the conversations from next door and from the corridor. Also it didn't help that the hotel was quite busy during the time we visited. But the rooms were clean and tidy. Meals were served as a buffet and they were okay. We ended up having lunch and dinner from Polonnaruwa which was way cheaper and nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our travel agent in Colombo quickly changed our hotel booking to this hotel after we refused the booking at JC Village Dambulla.
This is a fairly remote hotel with wonderful views over the lake.
The staff are very warm and friendly.
The rooms are fairly basic but clean and adequate for a few days stay.

Room Tip: ask for either room 12 or 13 as they have best views and access to a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank McInnesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.2 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
563 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
372 reviews
10.6 km away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
138 reviews
6.7 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
207 reviews
6.2 km away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range: ₹ 4,212 - ₹ 13,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing