We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boundary Yala(Kataragama)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mandara Rosen(Kataragama)
US$ 108
US$ 75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 77
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Amadi Rest(Kataragama)
US$ 15
Booking.com
View Deal
Ambalangoda Rest(Kataragama)
US$ 11
US$ 10
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jack's Place(Kataragama)(Great Value!)
US$ 20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanda Newahan(Kataragama)
US$ 28
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
4
10
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
10
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelyala safariattackpeacocksbungalowtemple
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We were a group of 15 including the children. In the heart of Kataragama. Once you get inside is quite calm and quite. The Manager and staff was wonderful and help us greatly. The food was all Sri Lankan and tasty. The room were large and beds were comfortable.Yala was quite close too. As the festival was on there was large crowds in town, We were in the hotel most of the time .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suresh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We travelled from Australia for a vacation in Sri Lanka and stayed at the hotel with our family. We are utterly dissapointed with the service provided. We have stayed in FB basis and did not receive the basic requirements such as the welcome drink, no tea coffee making facility in the rooms, unclean and unhygienic toilets, poorly maintained swimming pool, poor food spread and no food variation for the buffet (4pcs). The funniest thing is we have to order the dessert which is one dessert type and 1 serve only.
The Manager (Shriani) is so unprofessional, rude and uncourteous. We would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. Please do not ever stay at this hotel!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Chenuka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Is a very quiet hotel and the environment is very calm. Very near to Yala national park.
We booked 2 room and we are the only occupant there. The service is good. There is welcome drink and cold tower upon our arrival. The service is excellent and our room is great too.

I noted many commented about insect attack but we have no problem with it maybe due to the fact we didnt open the window. The aircond is cold enough to cold us after a hot day in yala safari. Pool is also clean.

Food and room may not the cheapest you can get in Sri Lanka. However this is the most generous and biggest portion of food we ever have. Our dinner come with generous portion of rice and curry, soup, starter and even dessert!!!! The only set back is there is no wifi in room and we spent whole night at the restaurant to access to wifi. Service is good but slow.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Chenra is a little hideout very close to the ruhunu maha katharagama temple. Located down the old wadihiti kanda roda, the property houses a number of cottage type rooms.

Their rates are quite cheap. We stayed at their one bedroom cottage. The place was not excellent but there was nothing to complain also. Their buffet is not elaborate but is sufficient and cost effective. Although the hotel is small, they had quite a large pool and a big garden. They have peacocks who occasionally visit the premises in search of food.

All in all, found the experience to be a pleasant one. Will definitely return to the hotel if we decide to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ranushij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The decorations to our room came alive at night and tried to eat us ... see photo. Showering with the light off is a real treat and ensures the local fauna doesn't see you. We had a good workout at dinner batting the flies and mosquitos off. Despite all of this the lady in charge was cheerful and attentive!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews