We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just 3 miles outside of Whitby in a lovely green location, The host was very nice and she drove us into Whitby to save us parking as she was on her way there to do some shopping. The hosts are two lovely people and the all our needs were catered for. Beautiful house and grounds. The room was quirky and comfortable, we had a lovely sleep, nice and quiet. The breakfast was good. A very warm welcome and I would recommend this to anyone, we had a fab time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review.We always try and make our guests feel at home.Pleased you were able to have breakfast in the garden, as it is looking lovely this time of year.Tell your friends how wonderful we are, as personal recommendations are always the best! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay with lovely, genuine and warm hosts”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We shared drinks on arrival with Numi and family and had a lovely welcome with the cats too! Then we were shown to our fabulous room in their amazing home (they used to own an antique shop - you can tell). There are so many interesting and sometimes quirky things to look in the house!
The room is super and the beds were very comfy so you are guaranteed a good night's sleep. The bathroom is Art Deco style and we loved it. I also loved perusing the book shelf before bed too! We had plans to eat in Whitby and Numi booked us a taxi both ways, which was so helpful. The couple checked on us when we arrived back earlier than planned having rescheduled our taxi. This was kind as I was with my mother who had a few health issues.
Breakfast the next day was fabulous and served out in the garden. Numi had previously asked what we wanted and we couldn't have asked for more. It was all delicious and served in stunning crockery. So unusual.
We would recommend this place and the really genuinely lovely hosts to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thanks so much..we are still blushing!It was lovely to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed staying with us.Charlie was looking for you the next day, as you made a big hit with her!Hope you have a fabulous cruise and that the weather isn't quite so hot as it is at the moment.You are welcome any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never stayed in a place with such a warm welcome”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Have stayed in many places but have never quite felt as though we were staying with friends as we did at Groves Hall. Had drinks with Numi and Charles on arrival, we're going to head for Whitby straight away but passed very pleasant time chatting, taking in the stunning views across the valley. £8 by taxi into Whitby we went for drinks, on arriving back at 11.30 I was offered a cup of tea and again, we chatted, plenty to talk about a very interesting couple who have led very full lives. I can only confirm all previous reviewers have said, a beautiful house. However liking my food I save the highest praise for the breakfast which was devine. Can't praise this place highly enough will definitely be the first place I look for when staying in Whitby again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Hi John
Thanks for the fab review!
It was lovely to meet you both, and Mummy cat was looking around for you after you left..you made a big impression on her!!
Hope you had an enjoyable trip back, and looking forward to seeing you again,(so are the cats!)
Regards Numi and Charles and cats xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suehotboo...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Find”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you for such a friendly welcome. Wonderful accommodation with so many interesting artefacts and treasures, absolutely delightful, all in an amazing setting. Wonderful views, beautiful gardens and the sight and sound of the steam train regularly passing by. We felt very lucky to have found such a 'hidden' treasure. Breakfast outside in the sunshine put the 'icing' on the cake.
Thank you once again to Numi and Charles, kind and lovely people.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for a fab review :)
When the weather is this good, we are very pleased to share the garden with our guests.
Eating breakfast on the terrace is a great way to start the day too.
Our guests have been very lucky recently, with most having breakfast outside.
We are continuing the the landscaping and planting, and every day new plants spring up to surprise us.
Hope to see you again.
Lots of love Numi Charles and cats :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruskin201...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A gloriously relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a find. Overlooking the River Esk, this magical Grade 11 listed house is beautifully decorated with vintage curios. Ideal as a base for exploring Whitby, it's set in a maze of restful gardens. Hospitality was first rate and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in! (I subsequently discovered the mattress had been made to order by a local specialist.) We enjoyed a gorgeous stress-buster break. We'll definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
It was lovely having you both to stay.It is great when guests appreciate Groves Hall and the gardens, - you were very lucky with the weather, and it wasn't too muddy to get down to the River Esk.
Now that you know where we are, hope that you come to stay the next time you are in the UK.
You are now V.I.P guests!
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing