We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suehotboo...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Find”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you for such a friendly welcome. Wonderful accommodation with so many interesting artefacts and treasures, absolutely delightful, all in an amazing setting. Wonderful views, beautiful gardens and the sight and sound of the steam train regularly passing by. We felt very lucky to have found such a 'hidden' treasure. Breakfast outside in the sunshine put the 'icing' on the cake.
Thank you once again to Numi and Charles, kind and lovely people.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for a fab review :)
When the weather is this good, we are very pleased to share the garden with our guests.
Eating breakfast on the terrace is a great way to start the day too.
Our guests have been very lucky recently, with most having breakfast outside.
We are continuing the the landscaping and planting, and every day new plants spring up to surprise us.
Hope to see you again.
Lots of love Numi Charles and cats :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruskin201...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A gloriously relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a find. Overlooking the River Esk, this magical Grade 11 listed house is beautifully decorated with vintage curios. Ideal as a base for exploring Whitby, it's set in a maze of restful gardens. Hospitality was first rate and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in! (I subsequently discovered the mattress had been made to order by a local specialist.) We enjoyed a gorgeous stress-buster break. We'll definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
It was lovely having you both to stay.It is great when guests appreciate Groves Hall and the gardens, - you were very lucky with the weather, and it wasn't too muddy to get down to the River Esk.
Now that you know where we are, hope that you come to stay the next time you are in the UK.
You are now V.I.P guests!
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture68...
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Our hosts Numi and Charles were very welcoming and could'nt do enough to cater for our every need. Groves Hall is one of our best ever finds , our room was tastefully decorated and very much in keeping with such a beautiful old building. Numi made us a lovely full english breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. Graham and i have promised ourselves we will go back in summer so we can enjoy the well tendered gardens and explore the surounding countyside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
It was lovely to meet you both and hope that you enjoyed the beach at Sandsend. There is so much to explore in this area, and when you decide to come back, we can make you a list of "must see" places.
Keep checking our Facebook page for photos of the gardens, and our new plantings next year.
Happy Christmas :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRo2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An extremely unique, comfortable and relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the warm welcome to the all too soon farewell this holiday was made all the more special through the hospitality of the owners. If you enjoy beautiful, untamed surroundings, steam trains and a flowing river close by, you will love this location.
Each day began by being served a delicious homemade breakfast that fulfilled all our requirements, the table was adorned with antique linen and served on vintage crockery. The accommodation was spacious and had many antique features. Which added to the general ambience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
It was lovely to have you and Robin stay with us.
You were very lucky that it was possible to have breakfast on the terrace nearly every day.
When you return, we will try and organize the horse riding for you.
Have a lovely year xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedKelly
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Numi & Charles were perfect hosts - warm, chatty, and really helpful. The house is gorgeous and quirkily decorated, and the room itself is large and comfortable with a lovely view over the valley. The gardens are particularly spacious, and if the weather co-operates you can borrow a book from the eclectic collection and lounge in the garden with it. The house is in a handy location 3 miles from Whitby, with easy access to coastal villages and the moors. Definitely a place we'll return to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed staying with us.
We have been so lucky with the weather this year, and lots of our guests have managed to take advantage of the gardens, and when the weather has been warm enough in the morning, to have breakfast in them.
We would love to welcome you back any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing