We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
22
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cowslip cottage bread maker attention to detail luxury accommodation thought of everything fabulous cottage pub grub stunning views esk valley on arrival geoff pets furniture hamper sofa dog essentials
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

From the minute we walked into this fabulous cottage we knew we were going to have a wonderful stay. The smell of freshly cooked bread greeted us along with a welcome hamper of wine ,cake, coffee and chocolate rabbit ! Even our 2 dogs had a lovely hamper with treats toys and towels. Geoff was there to greet us and showed us around the place giving us useful information on nearby walks etc.
The cottage is full of quality fixtures and fittings and there is everything you could need for a comfortable stay. We were blessed with fabulous weather and sat out on the balcony overlooking the Esk valley on a couple of evenings. We made full use of the bbq .The cottage is really close to Whitby and we used the park and ride on the Saturday. We loved our time here and would highly recommend it .

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We cannot praise Cowslip Cottage enough! We were welcomed with freshly made bread, cake, coffee, wine and doggy treats etc. The place was always warm and cosy and had everything imaginable you would ever need. The decor and quality of everything in the cottage was beautiful. We were also impressed with the cleanliness of the place and the views from the balcony were stunning. It would be wonderful to sit out in nice weather which we didn`t have unfortunately. We would have loved to stay here for a lot longer than 3 days. There are so many beautiful walks and places to visit in the surrounding area you need more than 3 days to fit it all in. We had a meal at the lovely old local pub up the road (can`t remember the name) and it was gorgeous. We will definitely be returning for a week next time.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daisybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed in The Piggery for a long weekend in March 2017. Haven't got 1 negative thing to say, this place is amazing. Warm, cosy, comfortable and the view is stunning.
The owners have every detail covered, from blankets to keep you warm when sitting outside to the fresh bread on arrival - this place is made for relaxation.
We ate twice at the local pub The Plough and were not disappointed, fab pub grub and a Sunday dinner that left us all stuffed! The atmosphere was great too, very welcoming staff.
Loads of local walks and easy access into Whitby.

Room tip: Upstairs back bedroom has stunning views, downstairs bedroom more spacious
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allfunfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

amazing location,owner very accommodating,as we arrived recieved a hamper for both us and our dog and fresh bread in bread maker,the view was fantastic,accommodation imaculate,all extras included,even a patio area with table,chairs and barbecue (we had a brilliant winter barbecue) and beautiful bath in my bedroom,close to Whitby and Scarborough,local pub with great atmosphere and food 2 mins walk and DOG is aloud in x

Room tip: there is a choice of 5 properties to suit all group sizes and budget
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

we ve just stayed here for the weekend, and most of what is said here is spot on. the cottage is lovely, very well appointed, expensive appliances, beautiful views at the back, and very good attention to detail. and we too were greeted with fresh bread.....
the lounge is very cosy and ideal for 6 adults, as is the dining table.
its very well located a few miles out of whitby itself.
everything was very clean, and well presented
and there is a complimentary ipad linked to a very good speaker system, and spotify. all 4 tvs are smart tvs with netflicks etc.
But.... the upstairs rooms are so small..... we had the room at the back - great view, but... there isnt a mirror, and the chest of drawers was in a vestibule area with a very low sloping ceiling, and a tiny mirror. my partner had to do her make up kneeling down !! you cannot stand in the area, and there isnt room for a stool
there is literally nowhere in this room to actually get dressed.... the en suite is far too small, you cant stand in the vestibule, the bed is far too close to the walls, so the only are is tight up against the door - that is literally the only place in the room where you can spread your arms to towle yourself down.
the en suite is a joke - i couldnt bend over the basin - if i leant forward to do my teeth, my forehead hit the mirror before my mouth was over the basin. to sit on the loo involves either tucking your left knee very tightly against the vanity unit, or sitting at an angle, ... and trying to avoid catching the toilet roll holder as you reverse in to sit down. there is about 10 inches between the right side of the bed, and the sliding bathroom door... so you are inevitably awoken when your partner goes to the loo in the night you cant walk down the right side of the bed, but you have to slide sideways... its not wide enough to get in!
which is a shame because it is a lovely house, good location, well appointed, with a very friendly caring owner, but the upstairs rooms are 2star, and i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. sorry - should have made it into a 2 bedroomed cottage with a reasonable sized room and en suite upstairs - making it into a 3 roomed property is just being greedy and unrealistic.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews