We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
430
155
43
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
155
43
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fjord view breakfast and dinner beautiful hotel indoor tennis court two nights swimming pool public rooms dining room a la carte restaurant seafood wonderful experience tour group fruit trees wide selection the hotel offers family run cakes
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Ullensvang as part of a tour of Norway. Staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and welcoming, especially the reception staff who provided excellent information on transport and hikes. Fjord view rooms have spectacular views and the hotel is reasonably well served by boat and bus transport for accessing Ulvik, Eidfjord and Kinsarvik. On the minus side, the bathrooms are very dated and tired and desperately in need of renovation. Both the pressure and flow rate of the shower were very poor indeed during the late afternoon and early evening. Surprisingly, for a hotel of this standard, neither bath robes nor slippers were provided and toiletries consisted solely of soap and hair/body wash. Equally surprising, no drinking glasses were provided in the room and the only drinking vessels were two plastic tooth mugs. However, an empty fridge was provided in the room and available for guest use. The heating/cooling system is controlled centrally and allows virtually no individual control. Meals in the restaurant were a bit of a bun fight due to the many large coach tour groups. The meats served at breakfast were generally of poor quality. Food management in the restaurant was generally poor and the lack of suitable food containers and utensils for serving poses a risk of contamination. We witnessed many instances of food, especially bread, biscuits, fruit and deserts, being handled by guests. Overall, this was a disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Globetraveller1
Thank you for having stayed with us as well as your experience shared on TA.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the location as well as the service and information given by our staff.
At the same time, we are sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations.
You find bathrobes, slippers and different amenities in our upgraded room categories. For security reasons, we have exchanged the glasses in the rooms with a safe version.
Hotel Ullensvang is environmentally certified and we use a fan-coil system to cool/ heat up the rooms. In the colder months, we utilise the heat from our fjord, “Sørfjorden”, to heat the hotel. In the summer season, the fjord is used for the opposite, which in turn gives us a cooling effect. The system is controlled from a central unit and unfortunately cannot be adjusted individually per room. This might also explain that the water pressure in the bathrooms are reduced to an environmental friendly level.
Like yourself, many guests visit us with a group which certainly makes dinner at times very busy, even though we try to allocate times so that all runs as smooth as possible. We are thankful for the inputs given regarding the food - but be assured that the Norwegian Food inspections have checked everything and approved according to standards.
Sincerely yours,
Barbara Zanoni Utne
5th Generation Mg. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My group of 33 stayed at this hotel June 5th and had a good stay. The rooms are spacious, classy, and clean. The free Wi-Fi was great. My group had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. Keep in mind that this is a large multi-story hotel so it is not quaint although it is perfectly situated on the fjord. Also, if you plan to leave before 7 a.m., the restaurant does not open until then and will not make accommodations for an earlier opening without cost -- even for a large group like mine. They did offer box breakfasts but the cost was about $10 pp for "4 pieces of bread, a slice of ham and a slice of cheese", which I didn't think was worth it for my group. Orange juice was supposed to be included in each box lunch but was told that they were out. They did offer a reduction of just 5 NOK per box breakfast which again I didn't think it was worth it. When I asked the front desk staff why couldn't they offer the box breakfasts at no additional costs since we had to forego the buffet breakfast, I was told that the buffet breakfast was included in the price of the room and therefore it was "free". (I'm not sure where their logic was on this one.). Anyway, it is a beautiful hotel but a little short on the customer service side. I did provide feedback to our Norwegian incoming tour operator on this experience who had booked this hotel for my group.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ptadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear ptadin
Thank you for your feed-back on TA. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our facilities. Hotel Ullensvang is very keen on excellent customer service, however, we trust you understand that extra services comes at a cost. All our incoming operators are very well aware of the conditions, including the surcharge for opening the restaurant earlier or preparing breakfast boxes. You were given a clear answer from our duty manager on the possibilities due to your early departure - which we only just learnt about upon check-in. We understood that you didn't like the answer since you involved other staff as well. We look forward to welcoming you back, but certainly appreciate a closer dialogue between you and the incoming tour operator, so that the hotel doesn't get blamed for following agreed conditions.
Kindest regards
Barbara Zanoni Utne
5th Generation Mg. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I enjoyed my two day stay at the hotel. It would be nice though if they had handicapped accessible rooms with a view. The room was fine, the bathroom was fine, the aquatic area is lovely and the sitting rooms downstairs are beautiful. I thought that the buffet meals were pretty good. There was a great variety at every meal to choose from. I did not like the fact we always had to sit at the same table with the name of the tour group on it. This hotel is a very touristy hotel with many, many tour buses lined up with customers. We did attend a concert in the amphitheater that was quite nice. I mostly enjoyed sitting on my balcony staring at the scenery at 11:30 at night with the silvery bluish white sky. It is a nice place to go to relax and do absolutely nothing, but just be in the moment.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michelelasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel makes no pretence about being anything other than a mass tourism hotel batching through bus loads of people from every nation on earth. However, despite this, it retains a friendly and personal atmosphere where you do not feel drowned out by the masses. The manager and the staff went out their way to chat and tend to our needs.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Our stay in this hotel was the highlight of our Norway trip. We had a room with a fjord view and could fault nothing about the hotel. Breakfast was great, the swimming pool was awesome, beautiful grounds and great service. Great for friends, couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms with fjord views definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ineseho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews