We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What A Fab Way To Spend A Fortnight !!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kivotos Villa

Pool area  with... a  view !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda Night view from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda
Night view from veranda
Relaxing near the pool  and  the gazebo
Villa garden and pool area
Romantic relaxing
lavanders in the garden...
living room
Fish ...in the living room area .
Kitchen
Bedroom with double bed
Twin beds
Main bathroom for the disables
Master bedroom with en- suite bathroom
Sofa bed in the Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
bathroom en-suite with jacuzzi
children painting....
children playing...
Master bedroom
Sofa bed in the master bedroom
Master bedromm
Vegetables from your organic garden
sun set by the pool
pool area
pool area
relaxing by the pool
sea view from the living room
night views from the living room
pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jim989
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Fab Way To Spend A Fortnight !!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Most of this has already been said by the other guests who have been lucky enough also to have stayed here. I am pretty meticulous when it comes to choosing holiday homes for my family and I which is why I choose this one. There are usually one or two things that aren't quite as described when you stay in holiday homes however that was not the case on this occasion. Everything was just as described on the tin (and more).

Right from the experience of meeting Eva and her family, who met us a few miles away from the villa to guide us in for the last few miles, right up to the end of the holiday their hospitality was excellent. Fresh produce was regularly brought to our door from their vegetable plot which made our "al fresco" dining experiences all the more fabulous. The Greek Salad's we made were exquisite when Eva's home produced olive oil was drizzled over them (and thanks once again for the bottle you gave us to take home).

The Villa had everything we needed with fantastic views down the hillside to the sea (bring your binoculars to see all the passing boats & cruiseliners!!!!). The pool was excellent and cleaned every day by Eva's husband. The kids were hardly ever out of the pool - and as most parents know if your kids are happy then you are happy. In fact so much so that I actually read 3 books as it was so peaceful & quiet and the kids were happy swimming around and snorkelling in the pool (whereas usually I struggle to read 1 book on holiday).

We hired a car and went out on a few excursions as the Villa is situated closeby to some great locations - Rethymnon (nice to stroll around and eat by the harbour), Chania (definately worth a visit), Georgioupolis (a great beach where the sea is shallow for a long way which is ideal for young kids) and Kournas Lake (where you can hire a pedalo for $10 euro's for 4 for an hour to look for the turtles and it has some lovely restauarants around it's edge) to name but a few.

If you are looking for a relaxing break with great amenities ? then this is the place to stay !

It's location on a hillside is also fabulous for watching the shooting stars each evening. The kids and I were having competitions to see who could see the most - an amazing experience !!!!

Thanks Eva and family for such a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and amenities of the villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie C
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“one of our best holidays ever”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

this is a marvelous, splendid villa, very new build and very comfortable, also a quiet and goodworking airco in all rooms! the place is excellent because it is very quiet and peacefull and yet nearby the village Platanias and some kilometers from Rethymnon where you find really everything you need (a lot of shops, supermarkets and restaurants). The view is breathtaking and you can enjoy beautiful sunsets. we spend a lot of time in the pool, the water was really warm!
Thanks also to Eva who brought us vegetables from her own garden and a very nice pie. she even came out of bed at 4 in the morning to ring a taxi when the taxi that my daughter and her friend ordered didn't show up! price/quality, surely the best we ever rented!

Marc and Lucie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the pool and the airco
Liked least: i wouldn't know!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami1098
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday of a life time”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had the most wonderful holiday with our family. Glorious weather, marvellous accommodation - spotless, comfortable and so well-designed and loved our 'landlady' who was so kind with delicious vegetables and help and villa cleaned twice a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and our landlady
Liked least: driving in Crete
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elly L
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay with an amazing view over the sea”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Kivotos Villa is a beautiful, well equipped villa with an amazing view, a nice garden and a refreshing swimming pool. The only thing we had to do was to relax and enjoy the sunset from the terrace! The house was cleaned twice a week.
Ideal for a relaxing holiday in a quiet place, not far from shops, supermarket. Beaches and Rethymnon are nearby. Thank you so much Eva for your warm hospitality, your help and advice, the welcome pack, the delicious "feuilleté aux courgettes" etc. This was one of the nicest places we ever stayed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location, the wonderfull view, the swimming pool
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristiana...
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Excellent choice!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Great place, amazing people! We spent a great time there, the villa is excellent, the owners are wonderful people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing