We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Taverna Fantastiko

Taverna Fantastiko
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Maroulas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditonal Taverna with local food only.Homemade cheese and homemade bread as well as meat from our farm...Enjoy the best view and wonderfull sunsets of the island...
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

The view is spectacular. We had a menu of everything in small portions. We had like 4 apertisers and 3 main dishes. It was enough for 8 of us. Everything was delicious but the meat. I didn't really like it. The staff is very friendly, everything is homey. It's like you are at someone else's house and the family cooks for you. We only ate local foods(tzatziki, lamb etc.). The serving wasnt the fastest but we got everything(bread, water, oil..). I would recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BotondJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Whilst on holiday this restaurant was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Sitting and watching the sunset, it was stunning. The food was good, the menu small but plenty to choose from, it was reasonably priced. The staff are very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank tracey-cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This is a top-of-the-world restaurant. We've been there with two small kids, high chair was immediately available. Kids loved their special dishes and we had baked cheese - absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We lived closeby, but to get there you have to take a long steep drive, so we went there by car. The view, progressively unfolding when driving up is simply breath taking. The terrace of the restaurant lies perked on a mountain ridge, view stunning. Service super friendly and accomodating for us as vegetarians (kortophagos).
We ate a multitude of excellent veggie dishes, had a great chat to the friendly lady serving and just had a great evening.
Absolutely deserved the first time I gave 5 stars for a restaurant ever !
Everything about it was good.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

really nice location to dine at and the staff really friendly, but the menu was limited and certain items were not available. Meals were OK but we certainly locally had better but the view at sunset...............................

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Fantastiko also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Maroulas, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Fantastiko? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing