We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virginia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Stavros Melathron Studios(Koskinou)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Romantza Mare(Kallithea)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 457
US$ 398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 446/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 116
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 249
US$ 243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kresten Palace(Koskinou)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
House Marigo(Koskinou)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
77
136
136
131
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
136
136
131
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheap hotelfresh towelsholiday makersboat trip to lindoshotel is lovelycleaned dailya lovely holidayalekoschristoskaraoke
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Perhaps I should start with the awful location?
Maybe the miserable rude member of staff at reception?(10 minute wait to even be acknowledged she was on the phone)
Maybe the sweat stained cushions in the room?
Possibly the 2 "abandoned" beds (I think) that were dumped in our room?
The fact that the cleaners transport their "cleaning" products around the hotel in an old shopping trolley (they really do)
The bathroom makes Fawlty Towers look like The Savoy.
BUT.....the single most noticeable element of this place is that NOBODY EVER LOOKS HAPPY!
Not the staff or the guests.....it's a dreadful place that even the most easily pleased budget traveller would be disgusted with.
We left after 2 hours.....could not stand the appalling atmosphere that surrounded this awful awful hotel.
Forget it and kalithea....head down the coast to Kolymbia, everything you need is there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TimmyToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvirginia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
First of all, it has to be mentioned that all staff has been trained to offer a high level of services and all are professionals with a high motivation to offer, especially the reception staff which consists of experts with a very big experience.
Moreover, it is remarkable that you did not like the Hotel’s location when all of our guests consider the location as one of the best Hotel’s advantage. Virginia Hotel is placed just 8 min by car far away from the Rhode’s Town and Old City, 4 min from Kallithea, 8 min from Faliraki and 40min from Lindos. In addition, Virginia Hotel has a close collaboration with one of the top beach bar of Rhodes island, named Kalami, which is located just 150m from the Hotel. So, we are impressed you claimed that Virginia’s Hotel location is a negative aspect.
Overall, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better and we do hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you and be able to satisfy you in all aspects.

With respect,
Virginia Hotel
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

arrived late sunday night to be told room double booked ( not just us but 6 other couples) carted off to another hotel, too late for any food, told would be picked up at 1000 in morning after numerous calls turned up at 1.20 sent off to dinner as room still not ready ! the food was mostly terrible ( and i will normally eat anything!) pork 1 night was not even cooked ! food mostly cold. nothing much around but found lovely restuarant 20 mins down road called family taverna lovely food and staff. beach nice 8 mins walk but steep hill on way back ! pools freezing cold, not enough sunbeds most staff friendly but some leave a lot to be desired, Bar staff amazing and worked non stop, 1 on during day and 1 at night so cuing for drinks. love rhodes been 5 times to pefcos but will NEVER go here again

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvirginia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear valued guest Steve,
We are very sorry to read that your stay in our hotel was not as enjoyable as expected and we do apologise for the problem related with hotel’s overbooking and your transfer to another hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience that was caused because of the general problem in Rhodes this period, the overbooking problem. But on the other hand, the Hotel’s management team follows a specific policy for the overbooking-guests, offering many extra services for free to them.
Moreover, the taste of the food is very subjective and we are really sorry that we did not meet your requirements, beside all of our big effort to offer a high level of food.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments posted and can only apologize for haven’t success to satisfy you in all aspects.

Respectfully,
Virginia Hotel
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Well its hard to know where to start with this one but here goes, after a delayed flight all you want is when you arrive at your hotel at nearly midnight is to get to your room and relax not so at this hotel we were told that there was no room for us as they were overbooked. They did provide a taxi to take us to a supposedly 4 star hotel in Rhodes town, yes it was a hotel but far from 4star. After 1 night we were then picked up in the morning and taken back to the Virginia where we were allocated a room,after an initial look round we spoke to a few other people who had the same experience with overbooking of rooms,which seems to be a regular occurrence here.The room we were given was quite spacious and on looking round the pool area it looked fairly pleasant and clean,however our disappointment in this hotel did not end there. In our stay of 1 week our bathroom was never cleaned, towels not changed regular and bed was sort of made in fact I would go as far as to say that the biggest job the cleaner done was to empty the bin. Bed linen had stains and holes, sockets hanging off the wall so really not impressive. Then we had the experience of their all inclusive restaurant, luke warm tea & coffee, stale bread, cardboard cereals and an array of various unusual breakfast concoctions in fact the best thing was the freshly squeezed orange juice that you had to pay 1 euro for,lunch times were no better needless to say that after the first day we ate out in various restaurants for the rest of our stay. Wine was disgusting, beer not much better and the all day tea & coffee was disgusting and that is if you could actually get a cup to put it in. This may all seem to be nit picking and ok it was not the most expensive holiday we have had, but as seasoned travellers all over Europe we have stayed in everything from budget hotels to 5 star so we do have the ability to make comparisons and this hotel does not even come close to a basic B&B or a motorway hotel throughout France. Location wise it is a fairly steep downhill walk to what is a nice beach with a great beach bar/restaurant and good sunbeds, but there is not really to much else nearby, a few restaurants & shops on the main road.I could go on but I will finish by saying do not be fooled into thinking that this is anything more than a 2 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: would not say that any of the rooms have a great view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvirginia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear valued guest Giannini,
It was our pleasure to have you staying with us in Virginia Hotel and we are truly sorry that we did not meet all your expectations.
This year have been made many changes in order to improve the hotel's food/drinks quality, variety and the relative service and we are pretty sorry that you did not find the food/drinks as good as other quests.
In addition, it is true that there is a general problem to all hotels of Rhodes with the overbooking issue and we are really sorry for any inconvenience. We offered many extra services for free to all guests that have to be moved to a different hotel for one or two nights.
We would also like to mention that we are truly sorry for the aspects of our hotel that did not satisfy you like housekeeping service; we always pay attention to our guests' remarks in our continuous effort to offer the best service there is. However, we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and offer a better holiday experience to you.

Very sincerely,
Virginia Hotel
Customer Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Where do we start? On arrival to the Virginia Hotel after a long flight we was so looking forward to booking in and relaxing in our room. Only to be told that they had overbooked and that we would have to go to another hotel for two nights!! We was told we would have free Wi-Fi and free aircon neither worked! We were not the only ones sent away it seemed to us that everyone with a British passport were treated the same way. The staff didn't make you feel welcome and the entertainment in the evening was beyond poor. We were all inclusive and was better treated at the hotel we was sent to than the hotel we paid for. We booked through teletext but would not do that again as you have no one to complain too or advice you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chalky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvirginia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
First of all, we are sorry for any inconvenience related with your room, but this was caused because of the general overbooking problem that did exist for some days in Rhodes.
But, on the other hand, it has to be clear that the Hotel's management could not do any discramination between our guests. So your comment about the British guests and the others is not true at all.
Moreover, you mentioned that the entertainment was very poor, but this is not true because every Tuesday there is Karaoke night, on Wednesday takes place a Latin Night with a Latin singer a Latin Ballet …on Friday there is a music show by the well-known Greek singer/showman Missikos George and on Sunday takes place the Greek night, where you can listen for free Live Greek Music, dancing with the professional Greek Ballet and tasting the Greek traditional cuisine.

Overall, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better and we do hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you and be able to satisfy you in all aspects.

With respect,
Virginia Hotel
Customer Services Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

What can I say that hasn't already been said in the other reviews about this hotel? I just got home 3 days ago after a fortnight in the Virginia Hotel. Here are my observations:-
1) My room was awful but at least I got one. Coach loads of people were sent to other hotels as there was no room for them. My room had ants in the bed, a very hard mattress, a phone with wires hanging out of it in the BATHROOM! Also the smallest shower cubicle EVER. Also the place is in need of many repairs. I had patio doors in my apartment which kept sliding off the runners and were locked with a hook and not an actual proper lock.
2) The food. It was edible but it was the same every single day.
3) The restaurant manager was quite abrasive and I noticed he was like this to a lot of other people too. This was because I sat at a table without realising that I had to queue to be seated.
4) The drinks. Very, very limited and very watered down.
5) One of the guys behind the bar just blanked me when I was waiting to be served and came out to wipe down the tables like I was invisible.
6) This is an all inclusive hotel believe it or not. You have to pay for air con when the heat was 30 degrees at a cost of €48 per week. You have to pay for wifi. If you want fresh orange juice at breakfast that is €1 per glass. Cocktails also chargeable at around
€4-€6.
7) Every English person I spoke to said they would never return to this hotel and I really can't imagine many people would.
8) Incidentally, hardly any English people there during my first week. Mostly Russian and German. During my second week however, more English people arrived.
9) I put up with it as choices were not an option but I would never stay at the Virginia Hotel again. The reception was continually dealing with complaints and no one cares. You can see this from the standard replies from the hotel on this site. My advice would be to find another hotel.

Room Tip: There aren't any that I am aware of
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suem5552017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvirginia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment as we could be better but we do not really agree with your comments. You did complain for everything and this is impressive. You did complain about the fact that there were not many English guests (comment 8). We could even put a ''standard reply'' to that comment, we cannot even reply to this. Moreover, you did complain for the reception (comment 9) claiming that 'they don't care' when in the same comment you did mention that they were continually dealing with complaints. So, you did already reply on your comment. In addition, the majority of our repeaters guests are English, as the ones you did state at your comment 7. Beside these, you claimed that you were not informed about the extra cost for Wi-Fi and A/C (comment 6), but this was well written to the contract between the Hotel and your Tour Operator, and he had to inform you about. You did refer that the barman ignored you (comment 5). Any bad behavior of our staff is not acceptable, but he did not ignore you at all, he came out of the Bar in order to collect some glasses which are the basic materials/tools to serve you and the guests after you. We do not believe that he had any problem with any guest he just did his job and we do agree that his manner could be better by telling you that he will be back in 1 min.
On the other hand, we are informed about the problems with a few rooms and we have planned a massive renovation during the winter 2017-2018. Moreover, there is variety in our food buffet according to the majority of guests’ comments. Finally, we do apologise if there was any misunderstanding between you and our restaurant manager.
Overall, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and offer a better holiday experience to you and then to reply to you only with a standard comment only for thanking your nice comment.

Very sincerely,
Virginia Hotel
Customer Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews