We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great staff, service and amenities , could be closer to Lami beach

Room Tip: Lami beach for food and shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    158
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
166
313
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

THe beach republic is a bit far way from the main attractions and restaurants in koh samui. The only thing near by is a 7 eleven. everything else is a 15minute taxi ride away.
We had a two storey unit with a private pool. Very beautiful house.
The brakfast selection was a bit poor.

Room Tip: make sure you get a pool double storey villa, friends of ours were disappointed with the "hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here on a voucher for 5 nights. If you are not up to walking, it is only 200baht to get a cab to Lamai, 400 baht to Chaweng, and about 500 baht to Bahpout. We walked the beach from headland to headland, about 2 hrs duration. Beach at the resort is not for swimming, but only 20mins down the beach is fine. Clear water and warm. All staff very friendly and helpful. Had to remind reception staff to follow up on arrival fruit platter, and vouchers for complimentary meal and spa, but worth the wait. Not a place for young children, no facilities other than the pools. They would get bored. Room was lovely with kitchen facilities if you wanted to cook and eat in the room. Food at breakfast, dinner and the Sunday brunch was always of a high standard. Sunday brunch may seem a little expensive, but you can stay for 4 hours and keep eating seafood, amongst the other food on offer. Reception staff arranged tours for us with pick up and return, and paid the tour operators on pick up. I would stay again, and probably arrange a scooter or car hire.

Room Tip: A couple we met at the resort, upgraded to a villa and said it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hi we stayed here for 5 nights and it was too much for a place like this... breakfast table was small, the food variety was small and worse, same things everyday so you can, not only close your eyes to choose the food , you can sleepwalk to the restaurant to get the food cos they are the SAAAAAAAAAAME!! I couldnt eat by the 3rd morning and i usually look forward to great hotel breakfasts!!

the complimentary massage was a joke cos it was obvious to us the girls were untrained, so it wasnt a massage, just an oil rub, pretty pointless if you ask me... best of all when we came out of the room after putting on our clothes, the girls disappeared so we werent sure if that was it as we were told we were getting a refreshing drink after the massage....

the cocktail ordered at the pool was yucky, by then i felt everytyhing here is substandard...

Complimentary/package dinner - the chicken smelled not fresh but i couldnt be bothered anymore as i think thts just the standard here so i just left it, and they billed us for the water they give in the room , what a rip off!! so beware!

all in all in was NOT a good experience , especially for the price ..one can get MUCH better, this place is more of a backpackers hostel with faded furniture ...absolutely no resort feel

We did have a clean room and it certainly has a well photographed, altho misleading website.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jmmford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. However, your review is unbalanced, inaccurate and defamatory.

With regards to the breakfast, I travel regularly throughout Asia and Europe and for a boutique resort hotel we offer fantastic variety and quality.

Our breakfast buffet includes such items as fine breads, croissants, pain-au-chocolat, and Danishes all of which are freshly home-baked every morning, fresh tropical fruits, imported meats and cold cuts, a selection of imported cheeses, fresh natural locally-sourced organic yoghurt, a selection of premium flavoured yoghurts, excellent Thai dishes, rosemary potatoes, Singapore noodles, a selection of omelettes made to order with organic eggs, other egg dishes made to order, Canadian bacon, streaky bacon, English sausages, mushrooms, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, pancakes made to order served with Canadian maple syrup, freshly squeezed tropical juices, coffee, selection of imported teas, and many other items.

In the kitchen we use only the freshest and only the best local and imported ingredients. I’m sorry that you were not satisfied with the chicken. Had you brought your dissatisfaction to the attention of one of our staff, they would have been happy to immediately replace it for you.

All of our therapists are highly skilled and well trained. They do sometimes err on the side of caution and refrain from massaging too deeply unless requested.

We were pleased to be able to provide you with complimentary Beach Republic branded water during your stay. We were also pleased to make available imported mineral water for a small fee.

As anyone who lives in the tropics can attest, the sun can cause furniture to fade. All of the covers and the beach loungers themselves are replaced as needed. Actually, we have just replaced nearly all of the covers resort wide.

Your assertion that our website is misleading is false. One need only to refer to the hundreds of images that have been posted by our guests on TripAdvisor and on our Facebook Page, to see that your comments are unfounded.

Beach Republic offers a beautiful resort in a stunning setting with excellent cuisine and service. We’re proud to be able to offer extra perks like complimentary use of iPads, private and chemical free swimming pools, personal espresso machines in every room, Presidential Pillow Top mattresses, full kitchens, an extensive pillow menu, satellite TV, complimentary Wifi access resort wide, and more. You call this back-packing!

We note that the other three reviews you have posted to TripAdvisor to date are all strongly negative, and for one of those hotels our management team have actually stayed there and can confirm that your review of that hotel is also entirely inaccurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Beach Republic on Lamai Beach. We wanted to get two rooms close to each other, however the rooms we booked were in two separate buildings. The staff graciously upgraded us to a penthouse suite with 2 bedrooms, and a private pool for 2000baht extra, which is less than $100.00 CAD. The room was modern, spacious, and extremely clean. I was a bit worried when we arrived in the taxi, as the driveway was a bit broken up, and it looked like it may be a bit run down. Just the opposite, it is a great place. The staff were good, the breakfast was hot, and had lots of selection. The pools were cool, not like some of the other resorts, where it was like a warm bath. This is not the place for those who like to swim in the ocean though. It is very rocky and shallow. The loungers are way above average for a resort, and have thick cushions. It is away from other amenities, shopping etc, so you need a scooter, car, or take a taxi if you want to venture out. The resort has more than adequate services though, so it isnt necessary if you dont wish to. A good place for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomark403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
0.7 km away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
351 reviews
7.7 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,933 reviews
9.1 km away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,035 reviews
17.8 km away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Property: Beach Republic The Residences
Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,563 - ₹ 21,186
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing