We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 228
US$ 214
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 563
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 550
US$ 198
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 689
US$ 126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 559
US$ 129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Utopia Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
US$ 48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 297
US$ 219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
US$ 925
US$ 777
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
158
23
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
23
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machineoutdoor showerpool villadesktop computersea viewtuc tucsmall templeeye openingthai templehuge jacuzziblack pearlcentral streettrue paradiseresident managerbeach frontmin walking distancereal thailand
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms of ammatara are top class. Makes you feel like a king. Walk in wardrobes, private pool, big Jacuzzi in room , outdoor shower unit. Loved having a washing machine in room made life lot more easier. Ammatara is located in Lamai which is Alot more calm and less crowded compared to chwang beach which is over crowded. The breakfast is great with Alot of variety.
Avoid the spa. Not worth the price.
They also have a free shuttle service to the market until 10 PM came very handy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Akash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Ammatara Pura Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Akash G,
Greetings from Ammatara Pura.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us here.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. We would like to assure you an even better experience during your next visit.
We regret to hear that you were no satisfied with the pricing of our spa services. We offer an extensive menu that we have tried to price as competitively as possible. However, we are priced higher than the standard massage shops that can be found outside of the resort as we offer a higher level of treatment and service. We take all of customer feedback onboard and will continue to develop our spa menu and service in accordance to this feedback.
We are honoured to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ammatara Pura in the near future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Jason Buckley
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was incredible! The staff can't do enough for you and are so polite and friendly. Our room was the most impressive we have ever stayed in - gorgeous outdoor shower, massive bath tub, lovely open plan area, and what every girl needs - a walk-in robe! The kitchen isn't very well equipped, however you do get a coffee machine and the pods are replaced every day. We didn't want to cook in so it didn't bother us. The private pool is also lovely but beware of the mosquitos! The hotel is right on the beach and that area is fairly quiet so is very relaxing. The hotel pools are also lovely. We would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a romantic setting. It is only a short walk down the road to bars and restaurants if you want to venture out. We had a fantastic stay, thank you to the Ammatara Pura team!

Room Tip: Don't forget your mozzie spray
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cfoster2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Ammatara Pura Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Cfoster2307,
Greetings from Ammatara Pura.
Thank you for taking the time to write you encouraging review about us here and for choosing to stay at our resort during your recent vacation in Koh Samui, Thailand.
We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable honeymoon experience. We are honored to have the opportunity to be your hosts for such a special occasion.
We are sorry to hear that you felt that our kitchen wasn't very well equipped. We provide a hot plate and microwave as well as all the necessary utensils so that if families do want to cook whilst they are on holiday they have everything the need to do so. However, if you are looking for a better equipped kitchen during your next stay then you might want to consider our 2 Bed roomed Beachfront Pool Villa as it comes with a fully functioning oven as well as a hot plate.
We are delighted to have the opportunity to serve you during your honeymoon and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ammatara Pura in the near future.
Thank you once again.
Best regards,
Jason Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This hotel reminds us of a Thai temple, with an extraordinary decor. It's very big, you feel totally quiet. The hotel has (obviously) a nice pool, and is located on the beautiful beach of Lamai. But, the best is the room, huge, with luxurious decoration, sea view ... and a real private pool. The great luxury !!! They have shuttles to go to the center of Lamai. Breakfast is acceptable, but not spectacular. All staff are smiling, but with a too poor english level.But , it was really a magical stay !!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dorothyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Ammatara Pura Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Dorothyshannon,
Greetings from Ammatara Pura.
Thank you for your wonderful review about us here and for choosing to stay at our resort during your recent vacation in Koh Samui, Thailand.
We are glad you to here that you enjoyed our Thai temple atmosphere and luxurious private pool villa.
We would like to assure you that we are constantly working with our staff to improve their level of English on a daily basis and that myself and our Assistant Resident Manager Steve Jones are always on hand to assist you in any way possible.
We are also currently undergoing a revamp of the items served in our breakfast buffet to ensure that we constantly improve our menu and that all tastes are being cratered to during our breakfast service.
We are honored to have the opportunity to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ammatara Pura in the near future.
Thank you once again.
Best regards,
Jason Buckley
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

So typical architecture, every single detail which ever it is (pool villa, restaurant, garden) is astonishing.....and so quite! Having a marvelous rest and will certainly come back.
City center is 15 min walking distance, easy to reach with so many shopping to do.
Thank you Steve to manage my booking "old fashion" (on phone) as your web site was having some disturbances.

Room Tip: sea view pool villa are really big, with kitchen, washing machine, outdoor shower...and a private pool!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christophe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Ammatara Pura Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Christophe d,
Greetings from Ammatara Pura.
Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort during your recent vacation in Koh Samui, Thailand. We are delighted that you have taken the time to write your positive review about us here. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique architecture and that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. The entire team at Ammatara Pura would like to assure you an even better experience during your next stay as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations during every visit.
We are sorry to hear that you were experiencing technical difficulties with our website and please rest assured that we will have our website team looking into fixing any issues that have arisen.
It was an honor to have the opportunity to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ammatara Pura in the near future.
Thank you once again.
Best regards,
Jason Buckley
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our second visit to Ammatara Pura it just as much as our first. Stayed in an oceanview pool suite and had such a good time swimming in our private pool whenever the mood took is.
The pool is a good size and we liked siting on the side spa area with the bubbles giving you a nice massage.
The outdoor Sala is the perfect place to sit, relax and enjoy the view if there is that spot of rain. Or just to escape the sun when you have had enough
The view is good, although the trees are growing and have taken a bit of the Seaview with it,
Room is spacious. The kitchen area fantastic and happy to have a washing machine to get a few clothes clean. Spacious wardrobe area with plenty of room for all the suitcases etc.
Loved the outdoor shower with good water pressure. The large tub was great for a late night soak after a trip to the market
We also enjoyed good room service when it was raining one evening and we could not eat at the outdoor restaurant. The breakfast was ver good and we enjoyed great service from the staff. They could not do enough for you to ensure you did not go away hungry.
The grounds and main pool area are beautiful and a pleasure to walk around. There is also a bar and outdoor dining area
The hotel is on lamai beach and is an easy walk to the village along the beach
Loved our massage that was organised within a few hours of our request.
My only small niggles would be the hard bed. The only other restaurant to eat in the evening if it is raining is just too bright and for us does not have so much atmosphere for evening dining. But great for breakfast.
This is a quiet hotel and if you are looking for " action" it may not suit. In saying that, this is the exact reason we enjoy the property so much
Also a big shout out to the room cleaning team. And the fabulous front desk and reception staff. Thank you so much for everything

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Ammatara Pura Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Avb13,
Greetings from Ammatara Pura.
Thank you for choosing to return to our resort for a second time. We sincerely appreciate your continued patriotism to Ammatara Pura and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive review about us here. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our sea view room and that we were able to provide you with a memorable service. It will be my pleasure to pass on your encouraging comments to the entire team at Ammatara Pura.
We regret to hear that our mattress was too hard for you. As we want all of our guests to be as comfortable as possible during their stay with us this is an issue that we are currently looking to address and continue to improve.
It was an honor to have the opportunity to serve you for a second time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ammatara Pura again in the near future.
Thank you once again.
Best regards,
Jason Buckley
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews