We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, needs a few improvements to be great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice resort, needs a few improvements to be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

The resort is lovely, the grounds are excellent, in particular the gardens. It's the service that really saves the resort from a bad review. The staff are excellent and a credit.
We booked a terrace room. Save yourselves the money or spend some more. The room overlooks the pool access rooms (about 6 rooms that access the pool). Unfortunately not all the occupants are considerate about noise. We were woken at 2am one morning by a group of drunks in the pool. On our last two days several families checked in and again we had no peace and quiet. On our last evening (we had to get up early the go to the airport) we ended up having to get the manager down. The manager seemed reluctant to speak with the other guests about the noise and instead suggested we move rooms for the night and return in the morning to pack. The problem with this room type is the sound travels. I didn't mind so much the outside bathroom, however, ours was more like a sauna thanks to the exhaust from the neighboring rooms aircon blowing straight into it. Aside from this the rooms are very clean, housekeeping is lovely.
The pool area is great, a few things need to happen to make this a real experience. There were all of 7 umbrellas, so if you came late, you had no shade, perhaps they need to get some more. The service by the pool is lacking, plates and glasses rarely collected. I had to go looking for someone to order food and drinks several times.
Whilst on food and drinks,this resort is extremely expensive for both. We were paying 220 baht for a beer. They also charge for water. I did tell the hotel this on checking out. I was told they charge these prices as they are 5 star? Due to the expensive food and drinks we went out most nights and ate another 5 star hotels, 110 baht for a beer. As a reslt of going elsewhere we have found some great resorts for future stays.
Taxis are available outside the resort, be warned, they charge ridiculous prices and won't negotiate. We spent a small fortune getting to places on the island. Unless you can ride a bike or rent a car be prepared to pay top $ to travel. The resort has a shuttle service which is great, but daily services to chaweng with a return service would be helpful.
The spa is awesome, but again, it took 3 attempts to even get a booking. You need to book in advance (sometimes on holiday this isn't how your mind works). If you stay here, definitely go to the spa.
We had a private dinner on the pier which was awesome, well recommended, the food was great and the service excellent. It would be nice if the resort prevented non-guests from using the pier or atleast monitored behavior of visitors. We were forced to endure three young teenagers carrying on while they used the end of the pier to smoke (so their parents couldn't see).
Overall we had 9 relaxing days at the resort. It truly is the service that makes the place worth visiting. A few tweaks may make it a better experience, in particular, lowering the price of the food and drinks.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear adrianwalker2,

We are happy to learn at you enjoyed your stay, the grounds and particularly our associates.

Unfortunately, you were disturbed by noise disturbances from other guests during your stay and for this we apologize. Our associates have been reminded that they should without hesitation assist in seeking cooperation from others in ensuring a peaceful environment, particuarly at night. The offer to move is only an option made as this is sometimes the guest preference. With a 9-day stay, we regret that we did not find a better solution for you from the beginning so that you could be more relaxed throughout.

In your review, you also made other valid comments and suggestions so kindly allow me to address them. In regards to the pool umbrellas, we had some that were being fixed and at present the whole pool area is pretty much covered with over a dozen lining the chairs. We agree that beer price is indeed quite high and our beverage menu is in the midst of being re-worked with intention to bring these down. Simultaneously, the food menus have also been looked at and we have actually found that they were much lower than other luxury resorts including stand alone restaurants of comparable quality. Please rest assured that regular reviews are done to ensure that restaurant and bar pricing is competitive. As for service, we will certainly look in to improving this as the pool area is obvisouly a critical part of the resort experience.

Unfortunately for taxi's, the local ones here in Koh Samui all around do not use meters and do charge premium prices. As such, our hotel cars are very simiarly priced and on certain months, we even match the taxi prices when possible.

Last but not least, it is nice to know that you were able to enjoy unique experiences in Le Spa and the Ocean Pier Dinner. In Le Spa, we have 4 treatment rooms, a foot massage room and a manicure/pedicuare room. During peak hours and particuarly in July and August, getting a reservation may prove more challenging due to demand and we do apologize if it was diffcult to get a booking during stay. Hopefully, the team worked to secure some treatments for you under the circumstances as nothing would please us more than to be able to accommodate all our guests. Again, our apologies that this was not more seemless during your vacation time. As for the Ocean Pier, we do not allow non-hotel guests to use the pier during the day hours but once dinner and drink service begins in the evening at 5:30pm, the venue is open to the public for bookings. As suggested, we will be more alert to better monitor the behavior of other guests so that everyone can enjoy the special surroundings.

While you summarized your review in confirming that the stay was overall relaxing and that the service in general impressed you, let us assure you as well that the tweaks as suggested will be worked on and we hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate this to you on a future visit. Please do contact me directly, the team and I will do our best to make your stay a great one!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    215
    84
    26
    16
See reviews for
131
497
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel over Christmas 2011… It had only recently coverted to the LM brand and I was quite surprised by such a great experience. The hotel is not huge, and has a small and intimate feel. The aesthetic is more classic, and less modern feeling like some other LMs I have visited.

Rooms are nicely appointed – not huge, but certainly big enough. The bathrooms are all located outside (but covered), including the shower and toilets. It’s a bit odd, but kind of fun too.

PROs: Intimate feel; Nice service; Clean / modern rooms; Nice pool area located adjacent to the restaurant

CONs: Limited beach (the beach is very narrow and small…waves were also rough when I was there); Some of the common areas are a tad “worn;” Cabs are not cheap ($20+ each way) to travel to the more populated areas; Limited on-site dinning

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Blakery,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, particularly since your stay seems to have been around yearend of 2011 as mentioned. Hopefully, that means that we are positively in your thoughts!

The hotel is spread over 9 rai (3.5 acres) of land and consists of 77 suites and villas. We are indeed a boutique resort and anyone looking for a very intimate environment, close enough to tourist conveniences but situated in calm surroundings, is sure to enjoy their stay.

We are glad that you found our rooms, partly enclosed- partly ingtregated with nature, to be fun and a welcomed experience for a tropical resort.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in July in a Plunge Pool Suite. The hotel grounds were very unique and sanctuary-like. On entering the hotel, it is like entering a new world of relaxation! Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. I was particularly impressed by housekeeping, who do a fantastic job and also leave a document for guests to suggests any changes/improvements they would like to how the room is cleaned/maintained.

The hotel's pool/restaurant area (which connects to the private beach) is superb. I never had any trouble getting a sunbed or prompt service.

I loved the room, which features a small plunge pool between the outdoor bathroom and toilet area. All the room appointments were luxurious and of a high standard. I also really liked the sitting area at the entrance of the room (before the bedroom) where I could relax and read the newspaper while having a cup of tea or coffee.

I actually found the beach quite nice, which is in opposition to quite a number of reviewers. I don't usually swim at the beach and prefer to wade in the shallows/walk along the sand, for which this beach was perfect as it is quite shallow but picturesque.

Food at the hotel is quite expensive, but is very nice indeed, so I would recommend it if you are prepared to pay the premium.

Overall, I thought this hotel was absolutely wonderful and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Liam T,

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Le Meridien Koh Samui!

It is so nice that you noticed our request for guest feedback during stay in regards to service of room. We feel that it if there is anything we can do better, the time to improve is while the guest is still with us as the issues should be addressed and rectified immediately. Feedback is always welcomed throughout and no one should have to spend a night in discomfort. By the time of departure, we endeavour to ensure that our guests are happy and relaxed. Therefore, it is good to know that you had a "wonderful" stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
Generaly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Overall a nice stay. We had some of the nicest and most courteous staff of any Starwood property we have ever visited. There are really only 7 rooms on the property that are worth staying at. The Ocean View Suites are fabulous. When we first arrived, we were in one of the plunge pool rooms. It sounded nice and looked nice from the pictures, but really offered nothing that we wanted to enjoy about staying on a beautiful island - no sun deck, all shaded, little privacy. We inquired about upgrading the room and fortunately the resort was able to accommodate upgrading us to one of their 7 ocean view rooms with private pool for a reasonable fee per day. These rooms are worth every bit of the cost! The lantern shows every night were spectacular. If you are a Platinum guest like we are, they take very good care of you and provide a free drink every night at happy hour, as well as free breakfast.
We also recommend contacting the hotel prior to arrival and arranging transportation from the airport. It's a nice experience with cold water and cold face towels in a nice vehicle versus a standard taxi. Taxi is ok too, but there was not much difference in the cost to use the hotel limo and enjoy a much nicer ride.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to an ocean view suite. There are only 7 of them but in our opinion, they are the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Jeremy K,

As a valued Starwood Platinum Guest, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly, found the staff to be the nicest and most courteous staff of any Starwood property you have ever visited.

Our 6 room types all offer different features to satisfy guest needs and we are glad that you found the Oceanfront Pool Villa to be the most suitable for your stay. These villas are amongst the best on the island but unfortunately for the associates, once guests get in to one, we hardly see them for remainder of stay.

Your insights about the local taxi's are spot on. Local taxi prices here not metered so hotel prices are extremely competitive. Often times, we actually match the local taxi prices but with better vehicles and service.

It seems as though your rating of our location might have affected your overall rating of stay with 3-stars despite a positive review but if you return and get to know the island better, I am very confident that you will appreciate the proximity to local hotspots with the privacy and calm of a luxury resort.

Therefore, we hope to welcome you back soon and will do our best to make your stays even more enjoyable from the start!

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was very nervous about this place before we got here as some of the reviews were pretty negative complaining about the beach and other aspects. I must say that after only 1 night here I am sold on this place and could not imagine taking a star away. once we arrived we were immediately greeted by the hotel staff and taken to a lounge seat in the lobby where they checked us in. At some properties you feel like a number at checkin but Le Meridien makes you feel special. The property is very chic and there are only 78 rooms which makes it a very warm feeling and quaint. It is not overcrowded with tourists and coming from Bangkok and Chang Mai we finally feel like we are at a resort.

Upon arrival we laid out for a bit but the rain came down pretty hard around 4 pm so we chilled in the beautiful restaurant and had some green tea. When we went back to our room we found a puddle in the bathroom from flooding. We called the front and within 3 minutes the engineer and cleaning service was here to help us. They moved us next door and in this room there was a leak so because of all this hassle we got upgraded to a pool access suite. I probably shouldn't of said the leaks in the room but things happen and they were not rude or disrespectful about it. They were overly attentive to this. All they wanted to do was make our stay feel unique and give us an extraordinary experience.

Make sure to eat dinner here as it feels good to get away from the Thai food that we are pretty sick of I had a burger and my wife had prawns. We met an employee who recommended we go to Nikki Beach for Sunday brunch and hang out and this is highly recommended. Only 950 baht ($32) for all you can eat buffet with over 50 items from 11 am - 4 pm. I think we went up 5 times between those 5 hours and you get sunbed.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate about booking this place again as the staff and location are top notch. Iknow some people would have taken stars away based on our experience but things happen and the way they handled it made all the difference. I will recommend you to all my friends who visit Samui.

Special shout out to Luke for the recommendations at lunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Austin C,

As a manager in the hospitality industry, there can be no better title than the one you have awarded Le Meridien Koh Samui in your review of our resort. It only encourages our people to take customer service to another level and we will certianly do our best to deliver.

While I regret that you experienced some leaks opon arrival and apologize for the inconveniences caused by this, we appreciate your understanding and are glad to hear that our associates assisted to make the recovery seamless and sincere.

We are also glad that you will recommend the resort to all your friends and hope that you too will personally return to stay with us as well.

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
5.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
10.8 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
9.3 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
5.0 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
4.7 km away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,821 - ₹ 23,308
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing