We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort with Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This resort is away from the busy beaches and town and provides a tranquil getaway. As you would expect for the Meridien it is very well maintained. The pool is nice and big enough and looks onto the beach which works well as the beach is not really for swimming in, in fact, the beach is horrible. However the main swimming beaches are only about 10 minute drive away.
The main entrance area is very nice with a pond from which guests can light lanterns each evening.
We stayed in a Terrace Suite that was well maintained and quite large and the amenities are what you would expect for a 5 star resort, i.e. very good. There is only one restaurant, located near the pool. Breakfasts are excellent with good selection of food as well as eggs made to order.
What made the stay with us was the friendliness and support of the staff. My wife injured herself on a snorkeling trip during our stay, when we returned to the resort the assistance staff gave us was exceptional. They drove us to the local pharmacy and later in the evening a fruit basket was delivered to our room with a card wishing my wife well from the management. While some would say that such level of service is expected from the Meridien, the fact of the matter is that they delivered on that service which was great!
Overall an excellent resort made even better by the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pies1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear pies1311,

First of all, we hope that your wife has by now recovered fully from her snorkling trip injury!

It is good to know that the team looked after your needs while here. Getting hurt while on holiday is bad enough but having this experience away from home in a foreign country can be even more discomforting so it is good to know that the team delivered in providing assistance and care as mentioned.

When you both have a chance, please do return to take full advantage of any experiences that may have been missed this time around. And most importantly, please take care!

Best regards,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 759 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

What an amazing hotel - true 5 star experience! We travelled with our 8 month old son and stayed in a Pool Access Suite. The Le Meridien is a private resort with everything need to relax in style. The hotel facilities were great, the pool by the ocean was great, the staff were very friendly. Our room was amazing, the bathroom was as big as the room itself. it had a big balcony with private access to the pool. The pool was shared with 4 other suites but when we stayed we had all the pool to ourselves. We requested a cot, and when we arrived the hotel when one step more and left us a basket of baby amenities (Baby wash, shampoo, wipes, powder ect) this was a great extra we were not expecting. the bed was the best part of the stay, it was sleeping on a cloud - usually i prefer a Westin Heavenly Bed but i am going to change, these beds were AMAZING. the nightly ritual at 7:19 each night was a nice touch, with the traditional lighting of the lanterns. The restaurants had great food and was reasonable priced. we did go out a few nights but the food at the hotel was worth staying in. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. All-in-all an amazing experience at a very reasonable price. the best example of a Le Meridien resort i have stayed in (and i have stayed at many) worth the experience.

Room Tip: the Pool Access Suites were great. there are rooms with plunge pools in the room, but the bigger poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew_Fairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Andrew_Fairbairn,

We are thrilled to learn that you and your family enjoyed the Pool Access Suite and the convenience that it offered with the terrace right over a semi-private pool. As babies require plenty of napping time, hopefully this was also a good way to stay close and still be able to enjoy the resort environment as well.

With all the vacation basics covered with good sleep and good eating as described, hopefully the Celebration of the Day ritual left some special memories and pictures to bring home!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As we entered into the Zen-like sanctum of Le Meridien Koh Samui we were greeted with a big smile by the courteous host who showed us to a table in the somber bar area and took our bona fides. Before we had even finished the complimentary welcome drink we were checked in - without so much as entering the reception.

Moments later we were escorted to our Pavilion Pool villa and shown the amenities. The luxuriously equipped villa was an oasis of calm and privacy - completely shielded off from the rest of the resort by cleverly designed walls and wooden panels. The private pool is large enough for a few swim strokes, and I actually perceived it as bigger in reality than in the pictures I’d seen before booking.
The bedroom like the rest of the villa was elegant and very “Feng Shui” with bed and linens of top quality and fresh orchids on the table. Air conditioner was quiet, efficient and could be precisely adjusted to ensure comfortable sleeping temperature.

My girlfriend and I spent a lot of time “at home”, only leaving the villa for breakfast, spa, or an occasional meal outside the resort.

The Breakfast buffet had a good selection and varied slightly from day to day - as should be expected from hotels in this range. The restaurant is situated by the main pool with stunning ocean views.

Room service was always fast and efficient with food of excellent quality. After coming home late one evening we selected a bottle of Champagne from the central wine cellar. Two staff members brought the bottle, cooler and glasses to our Villa and arranged it nicely in the outdoor living room. I was impressed to see that the opening and pouring champagne was done in the correct way which excerpts respect for the precious beverage.

On our last day we were kindly allowed to check out at 13:30 but since our flight was not until the evening, the receptionists recommended us a to take a tour of the island and come back later in the afternoon to freshen up at the spa before leaving. On return to the hotel we were given a spa treatment room where we could shower and change -Very good service.

Despite being avid and spoiled world travelers, Le Meridien Koh Samui exceeded all our expectations – It is an extremely well managed resort with attentive, well trained and service minded staff that possess an attention to detail which gave us as guests that coveted feeling of receiving special treatment.

The only recommendation I’d give to management would be to include complimentary minibar with free refills to further enhance the feeling of preferential treatment as is standard in some other 5-star hotels in Thailand.

Room Tip: Pavilion Pool Villa if you want ultimate privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear ARaaf,

We are glad to learn that you thoroughly took advantage your stay in our Pavilion Pool Villa spending little time elsewhere . It most certainly does feel like a home and gives very little reason to leave particularly with the pool in room as mentioned.

However, doing so to enjoy Le Spa or a meal here and there are certainly good reasons but it is good to kow that room service took good care of you too!

Thank you for your recommendation about the minibar and we will certainly consider this feedback. Please do return and consider trying our Oceanfront Villa next time. You might then want to skip even a few more meals out of the room and stay in!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

First stop on our honeymoon was Le Meridien, Koh Samui. Very nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a pool access room - pool was great, loved the outdoor sitting area, room was adequate, open air bathroom fantastic and BIG! Huge bath, 2 mirrors and basins, huge shower. Only complaint would be the amount of mozzies - don't leave the bathroom door open for longer than a few seconds or your room is full of them. Got eaten alive in the bathroom just doing my teeth! We were therefore covered in mozzie spray for the rest of our trip (not very romantic!). The main pool is great, as is the restaurant. Egg chef lady at breakfast needs to do a course in customer service - she is my only other complaint. As most people have mentioned, to get to shops/restaurants etc you need to catch cabs so keep that in mind.
Overall we had a lovely stay at the Le Meridien, would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahla_selena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear shahla_selena,

Firstly, congratulations once again on your honeymoon and thank you for choosing Le Meridien Koh Samui to accommodate this very special occasion! We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your room and would return. Perhaps for one of your anniversaries?

We do apologize however, for some of the inconveniences caused as mentioned and they have been addressed with the team. As for the mosquitoes, the design of bathroom is intended to allow for some integration with nature but we can certainly provide netting in the open sections if needed and regret any discomfort caused.

Please let us know the next time you return and we will ensure your visit is a more comfortable one.

Regards,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Small hotel on a small plot of land; lots of rooms and several pool villas.
Small pool area (only one pool with place for some 50 people)
No sun loungers on beach (terrible beach, extremely shallow, muddy ground).
Pool villas are nice and spacious, with Nespresso machine and ipod station; DVD player.
Beach front villas even provide ipod touch: however, neighbours may play loud music.
Pool villas offer sufficient privacy.
Plenty of other pool villas available on Samui (well, Thailand); but privacy is often an issue.
Part of the stone floors around plunge pools are extremely slippery when wet.
Tropics - one needs a lot of water. 6 bottles per villa. very good.
Beds are soft, I'd say too soft. imagine a soft version of Westin heavenly bed.
Baby cots (standard Starwood issue) do not have bedding or pillows for safety reasons. take your own stuff.
Lots of different lights in villas. new hotels starting labelling lights to avoid confusion.

Breakfast is average. A la carte options have to be paid.
No french cheese (danish varities of brie and blue cheese), terrible croissants (meridien is of french origin).
Few healthy options.
Food is average as well. Burger was terrible (tiny piece of beef, beyond well done although we ordered medium)
Thai food is ok. Expensive, in particular drinks; we always order ice water in the tropics; they several times tried to give us bottled water instead (distilled water at 2 euro per bottle - no way).
Service is mediocre. One evening you get bread basket, other night you don't; no salt/pepper on table, etc.
Once guy cleared our table from other customers dishes with promise to be back right away. We had to wait 15 minutes and ask again someone else to bring us menus.
Rate had 25% F&B discount. Was supposed to be "automatic"; well, we had to remind them several times. Some alcoholic beverages apparently not included. very confusing.
Platinum benefit: one free drink per day - staying in a 5 star international hotel and having to beg for free drink (by the way, I am Platinum. pls make sure this drink is free....) - very bad.
Wines very expensive. They would have corkage fee though. Offer 5 different white wines by glass - well only one wine is actually available. bad chardonnay.
Did I mention that beach is terrible? Plastic pier is pointless. Impossible to swim anywhere.
Other part of Lamai beach is ok.
Walk to Silver beach - simply turn right from hotel, walk max 10 minutes.
We took taxi. 200 baht for 1 minute drive? ripoff. hotel staff seem to prefer certain taxi drivers.
we also went to the Cliff restaurant - see separate review - 200 baht to get there. but only 100 baht return trip.
There is a restaurant on beach, left of hotel. food is alright.
We also went to Renaissance hotel for dinner - terrible - see separate review.
Anyway, after several times staying on Samui, I cannot recommend it. Best to take ferry to Ko Tao or go to the Philippines if you want great beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear RolandShanghai,

We regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our property nor the island in general.

To further clarify some of your observations, Le Meridien Koh Samui is situated on 9 rai (over 3.5 acres) of land. Our main swimming pool is 320 sq meters overlooking the ocean but we have another 3 semi-private pools available to guests who book our Pool Access Suites. Several of our double sunbeds by the pool are right on top of the beach border with fantastic views while bean bags on the 224-meter Ocean Pier allow for lounging and sunbathing on the water. The hotel also offers daily roundtrip shuttles to 2 nearby coves for guests enjoyment and discovery, particularly if here for a lengthy stay. To give a little more information about the Ocean Pier however, it is also used for what we call "experience dining" and special occasions as it is a unique and memorable venue for dinners and weddings.

In the rooms, unfortuantely you felt that the beds were a bit too soft and for this we apologize. We certainly could have added in a bedboard to improve firmness and do hope that you were not too uncomfortable during stay.

As for the restaurant offering and service, we are just releasing 2 new menus for lunch and dinner, separately the 1 menu currently available. The breakfast buffet is rotated on a daily basis, including French cheeses, so we apologize if some of your favorite items were not available each day. We are very happy to learn about guest preferences and will do what we can to accommodate when possible. Your other comments pertaining to service inconsistencies will certainly be reviewed in full detail by the team and we thank you for giving us your comprehensive feedback. I do hope that we were able to rectify some of the issues while here but naturally, we prefer to be able to get them right the first time. Again, our apologies for any inconveniences caused.

If you do decide to continue your returns to Koh Samui in the future, please do let me know. I will be more than delighted to personally assist with your reservation and ensure that the stay is a very smooth and comfortable one. Hopefully, you will also find that most of the issues highlighted are improved or gone.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.9 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,433 reviews
10.8 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.6 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,558 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,425 - ₹ 44,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing