We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enchanted.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

You know those hotel surveys that ask insipid questions like: "were you enchanted by your stay", or "did the staff make you feel appreciated"?

Well, this time, we were and they did. This was possibly the best hotel experience we have had, and we thoroughly enjoyed both of our one-night stays. I was travelling with my wife in March 2012.

The good:

-the staff, from Tina Liu the manager right on down to the porters, are excellent, friendly, professional, and extremely well trained
-the complex is very well designed and beautiful
-the hotel treats platinum members very well (above and beyond the TOC)
-the pool access suites are a great balance of privacy and pool access
-the breakfast is very good but not quite as good as the St Regis Bangkok (for reference)
-the pool/beach/floating dock are great
-the lantern launching ceremony, although it sounds a bit cheesy, is actually a beautiful and moving experience. Highly recommended and an amazing touch
-lots of complimentary water (we got up to 12 bottles a day including the turn-down service)

The bad:

-the wifi internet access was weak and intermittent during both our stays
-the hotel is quite far from Lamai, about a 25 minute walk, so renting transport or taking taxis is necessary
-lots of staircases, so certainly not barrier-free (not a problem for us, but would be a deal-breaker for anyone with mobility issues)
-people seemed to be reserving sun loungers with towels and not using them while preventing other guests from enjoying them. I would recommend the hotel start preventing this behaviour (the St Regis in Bangkok has a good system: any items left unattended for more than 30 minutes are cleared away by staff)

Overall:

This is an excellent resort that takes very good care of its guests. I was originally a bit worried after reading some of the less favourable reviews here on tripadvisor, but our experience was fantastic.

I would recommend raising any issues you have immediately with the manager, as she is very visible (came and said hello both times at breakfast).

One possible caveat is that the resort seemed fairly empty when we were there, so we had a very quiet and peaceful experience. I can imagine this being different if the resort was full.

However, we loved Le Meridien Koh Samui, and will definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: Pool access suites are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Enchanted,

To be mentioned as one of the possibly best hotel experiences you've had just puts a smile on all our faces. Your thoughtful review of both highlights and suggestions for improvement are well received.

During your stay period, we did some work on upgarding our internet system which may have contributed to some unstable signals and for this we apologize. In recognition that internet access is a critical basic for todays guests, it is certainly a priority to keep improving this service as best we can. This includes providing the service to guests without additional charge and allowing for use of multiple devices.

As for the access to hotel, we do encourage use of the main lobby entrance for security purposes. However, there is a separate ground floor entrance without stairs as well for any guests who require this option.

I most appreciate you recommending that any issues if experienced, be brought to our attention during stay. While we endeavor to proactively provide our guests with a seamless stay experience, we would of course prefer to fix any glitches that might sometimes come about so as to minimize inconveniences as quickly as possible.

That said, we are happy to read that you will be back based on your positive experiences here!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    220
    84
    29
    18
See reviews for
136
510
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have recently returned from a short stay and could not fault Le Meridien Koh Samui. It is a beautiful boutique hotel with great service and facilities and wonderful spa. It is perfect for those that want a small and intimate experience rather than a large resort with a mass of bars and restaurants.Being only a few minutes from Lamai is was well located for shops and alternate dining. We had the pool access room with the best beds, a huge bathroom and large terrace with direct access to the private pool for these rooms......perfect. Can not wait to come back. Sharon - Perth

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Sharon c,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with a review.

The resort certainly offeres an intimate experience but as mentioned, we also offer great access to nearby nightlife and popular tourist attractions as well.

Most importantly though, it t is good to know that you were comfortable at the hotel and enjoyed our facilities. We will await your return visit as mentioned!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I and two teenage daughters stayed in two well appointed terrace suites in December 2011. I really enjoyed the outdoor shower and enormous bath. The breakfasts were excellent. The the lunch/dinner menu was limited but the food delicious and of high standard.

Unfortunately due to high seas there was no beach, but the pool deck more than made up for this. The pool /lounger area is rather small and you have to get there early to get pool bed.

There is an excellent gym, with the latest equipment. We found the overall service good and the staff are all extremely courteous and welcoming.

There are a number of restaurants in the area, but you do have to travel by taxi. Taxis are clean and easily available.

The 19h19 ceremony is a must. Guests and staff walk slowly around Le Meridien KS, a reflection of the calm and tranquility or the resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bramm_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear bramm_travel,

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and of course hope that you will return.

Perhaps next time, you might like to try our Pool Access Suites with direct access in to semi-private pools from the deck of your room. This is in addition to the main pool so all together, we have 4 pools at the hotel.

In regards to the lunch and dinner selection, we will soon be introducing a new menu which offers more choices. It is good to know however, that you found the food to be delicious! Also that you were able to participate in some of the hotel activities and all had a good time.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa is breathtakingly beautiful down to the last detail.

We originally moved into a Verandah Suite but were then upgraded to a Plunge Pool Suite. The Verandah Suite was gorgeous but the Plunge Pool Suite had a bit more space and of course a plunge pool in the indoor/outdoor area. We didn't get as much use out of the plunge pool as we would have liked because it wasn't heated but it was great to just pop in to cool down after coming back to the room after an outing in the heat.

The pool and restaurant/bar area is stunning and you get a great view of the beach and the jetty extending into the water. We ate at the restaurant for lunch a few times and dinner once. The food was expensive for Thailand but was lovely. Breakfast was a highlight and there is a huge variety of food to choose from.

The service at Le Meridien was a stand out. Absolutely everyone we dealt with was so helpful and genuine. Kao on the tour desk is such an asset to the resort. She went above and beyond for us and was so warm and friendly, just a pleasure to deal with.

The only real downside to this resort is the location. It's about a 20 minute walk to Lamai and a 25 minute drive to Chaweng. This wouldn't be an issue if the resort provided a regular shuttle, however they only have one shuttle per day and it only goes to one location (ie. Lamai one day, Chaweng the next etc). Because of this, you need to either rely on taxis (which regularly pass by the resort, expect to pay 200bt to Lamai and 500bt to Chaweng) or hire a bike or car. I thought this was a real let-down from Le Meridien, surely it's not too hard to provide an hourly shuttle to Lamai and a couple of trips to Chaweng per day?

Overall, I loved staying at Le Meridien and would not hesitate to return or recommend it to anyone looking for an opulent place to relax in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmorAmor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear AmorAmor85,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the overall services of the hotel. Your recognition of Kao our Spa Manager who also looks after Tours and Activities is much appreciated and I am sure she was delighted to be of service.

Please rest assured that our restaurant prices are regularly reviewed and benchmarked against other luxury hotels to ensure competitiveness. We would like also like to highlight that the listed menu prices are already inclusive of service charge and taxes whereas oftentimes, you might find other menus further subject to these fees and the final amount clarified only upon receipt of final bill.

Your suggestion for an increase in shuttle runs or at least locations is well noted and we will certainly look in to the possibility to do so while still maintaining availability of one-off services to guests.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to be welcoming you back to Le Meridien Koh Samui again soon!

Regards,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were very excited for this 4 day hotel stay based on online pics and reviews--Le Meridien Ko Samui did not disappoint. Hotel entry way and open-air lobby were very impressive and we immediately felt relaxed. B/c of SPG status, we were upgraded from standard Verandah Suite to our choice of Plunge Pool Suite or Terrace Suite, however, since we arrived early, neither room was ready which was fine as we were able to relax beach/poolside with welcome drinks.

We opted for Terrace Suite as it provided more light and space. Room was amazingly decorated--attention to detail was impressive. Bed was extremely comfortable providing restful night of sleep. Bathroom sink/vanity are was beautifully decorated and bath/soap amenities were nice. Although toilet, tub and shower is in outdoor area, it was fine as we didn't really have a problem with mosquitoes as other reviewers had mentioned and we rather liked this unique layout. NOTE: Our room (3202) overlooked the pool access suites--there were a few nights that guests utilized the pool late at night after some drinks it sounded, and were rather loud. We informed the front desk and they addressed problem right away, so wasn't a huge issue...but just be aware if you are a light sleeper like I am.

Pool is amazing--very clean, large, and provides a magnificent view of the beach and unique pier. Pool staff was attentive, serving us drinks and food poolside with no problem. Poolside lounge chairs and salas were plentiful, we never had a difficult time obtaining a spot. This area of Lamai beach has a shallow shoreline, but still nice for wading in the water when high-tide is in. You can walk to other beach areas along the shore in Lamai as well as Grandfather/grandmother rocks which are nice walk from Le Meridien. The hotel also has a very unique floating pier that is very peaceful especially in the morning when the water is calm and and sun is rising!

Overall, would highly recommend this hotel for relaxing stay for couples looking for quiet getaway! Staff is very friendly and attentive, grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean.

ps. Le Spa was great! We booked last minute couples treatment and did not regret it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bootowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear bootowork,

We are glad to learn that you were immediately impressed with the property upon arrival at the hotel and felt quickly at ease. Regretfully, the room was not available right away and we appreciate your patience in waiting by the poolside!

The Terrace Suites are indeed special but more importantly it is good to know that you were able to rest well although we apologize for the some of the external noise from other guests.

It sounds like you had the opportunity to explore the area around our hotel. Lamai beach is one of the more quiet and peaceful beaches on the island so great for walks as you had experienced upon low tides.

Thank you for your support in recommending Le Meridien Koh Samui and we hope to welcome you back to the island!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
10.9 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
10.8 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
5.3 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
7.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,050 - ₹ 22,689
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing