We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
45
117
34
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
117
34
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice balcony family holiday low season hotel is great bars and restaurants pools towels beach lamai thailand renovation laundry
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My wife and I booked three nights at the Marina Villa, Koh Samui, via internet. What a disaster.
On entering the room, we were immediately overcome by the stench of sewerage hanging in the air. This is typically caused by open drains or non-functioning water traps for basins and/or showers, which are supposed to prevent odours from backdraught. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that there were no rooms available. Their solution to the problem was to spray a couple of squirts of air freshener. We were forced to keep the hand wash basin filled with water and place a beer can on the outlet of the shower.
The room overall was extremely dirty. It was obvious from dirt stains on the curtains and night frill that these have not been washed for years. Likewise, the marks and stains on the walls, ceiling, bed lamp etc. are testimony of a complete lack of maintenance and to top it all smelling pillows.
The furnishing of the room was completely inadequate and old. There is no header board for the bed and with only one bedside table. That meant that I had to stretch over my wife to place something on the bedside table or leave it on the floor on my side of the bed. The surface area of the dressing table was made from wood slates with dirt in between the slates and numerous bottle/glass stains on the surface. The TV in the room was slightly bigger than a standard computer screen, in fact, my computer screen at home is bigger than the TV in the room.
Needless to say, we checked out first thing the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstellePetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Clean, affordable, family hotel. We were a party of 10 family members in 4 double bedrooms.

Hotel has two swimming pools and is right next to the beach which is very clean.

Very affordable restaurants just outside hotel, but Marina Villa also served decent breakfasts and lunches. Friendly staff, rooms clean. Stayed her three times now, and would still go back.

This is not a luxury hotel, nor a backpackers shack. You get what you pay for, a mid range family run hotel which is clean and inexpensive.

Hotel will arrange for owners cars to take you to Nathone/Airport/Day trip. We hired a van and driver for the day, to take 9 of us on a day trip round the island, visiting various attractions.

Local bus service available (in a sort of covered pick up truck with seats) right outside hotel - every few minutes. Negotiate price with driver before starting journey, and ring bell when you want him to stop.

Walk along the beach at night to find hotel restaurants and bars serving evening meals.

Vendors selling ice creams, grilled chicken, inflatables, sarongs etc walk along the beach during the day, but they don't bother you.

This hotel is excellent for families and/or couples.

Small night market in Lamai every night, and a larger one just down the road on Sundays. They like to haggle! But if you go back too often, remember what you offered last time, cos they will remember you.

Great holiday destination, will go back one day.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This property is ideally located with actual beach frontage to Lamai Beach.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff cannot do enough to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is restaurant (just average) and two lovely pools.

There is a convenient Laundry and major convenience store right across the road and all the best bars and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk.

Small but relaxing. A good choice for couples or families.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us by friend and I need to say it wasn't very good. The room was basic and I wouldn't mind that much as it's just a place to go to sleep but... the shower wasn't separated from bathroom - there was just shower head on the wall, so the tiles were wet and slippery after every shower and it was uncomfortable/dangerous to go to use toilet then. We would clean the water from the floor using a towel but we got only one towel per person - no hand towels, no beach towels. The water pressure was nonexistent. Cleaning service was poor. Within 15 days nobody did dusting and they were sweeping only visible parts of the room (I didn't find the courage to look under bed). There were cobwebs everywhere, ants... Furnishings were worn down a lot. But they changed bedsheets and towels every day, air conditioning and fridge was working and we had nice view from the balcony (room 331). And we got two bottles of water every day which was nice and in the hot weather really appreciated. We were also never low on shower gel, soap, shampoo, instant coffee, sugar and dried milk.

Pool was fine and water clean. But cleaning around pool poor again - nobody cleaned sunbeds and mats. They were dirty and worn down really bad. The same for beach equipment.

Hotel restaurant was simple and prices reasonable. Unfortunately nobody spoke English and it was impossible to communicate anything beyond pointing the menu and asking for beer/water.

Wi-fi was free but I was disconnected so often it frustrated me beyond belief.

This place needs repairs and furniture/equipment replacement BADLY.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GabrielShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful holiday , loved the hotel ! Fabulous room with a great view of the sea . Hotel has 2 lovely pools and a nice little restaurant. Can't fualt this place great location, and we found it very peaceful at night , now we have found it we will use this hotel every year we come back to Thailand..... very highly recommended xx

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fandabbydosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews